We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice place”
Review of Ibis Styles Albany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Styles Albany
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Albany
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A really nice place”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

My partner and I visited on a scoopon voucher and after reading a few not so great reviews our expectations weren't very high. We stayed for 2 nights and couldn't fault a thing.
Check-in was friendly and efficient,. Our room was neat, clean and had a massive tv. Dinner and breakfast were good, lots of choices and the staff were freindly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beroccaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    174
    179
    74
    53
See reviews for
84
260
38
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

The place is a complete disaster! We also were there only because of a Scoopon Voucher and we would NEVER return. Even before we got there, we were made to feel like an inconvenience, I contacted them via email to change the booking date, no response, I phoned days later, I was told someone had to phone me back to do this, no phone call back. Finally another very direct email and we received a blunt confirmation.

From the moment we arrived we had the sense that the staff are miserable and the place is extremely badly managed. Even to the point where we saw/ heard 2 staff members in the car park complaining loudly about the place.

The older gentleman whom we presume is the owner or manager (& from henceforth in the review I shall refer to him as Basil) is so incompetent they would be better off training a gorilla to run the place.

With our Scoopon voucher we given a bottle of wine to then be told that we better not spill it in our room. Basil also seemed more concerned about thanking his staff & telling them what a great job they were doing (which seemed all to fake to us), to care about checking us in.

The room was quite nice and tidy, however this did not make up for the absolute absurdity that is this hotel.

We went to dinner (for my birthday) and ordered the reef and beef. We had made a booking with Basil, which he knew nothing about when we got there, it took half an hour to get given a menu. Once the food was 'delivered' or should I say thrown at us, I had to force myself not to heave in my plate. My steak, which I asked for medium rare, was sitting in a pool of blood. When I cut into it, it was so blue and full of blood, I couldn’t eat it, my boyfriends steak, which was meant to be Medium was charcoal. The “Garlic Sauce” had chunky bits of cornflour in it and tasted like stock, the cocktails were the worst I ever inhaled and the white wine was warm. On numerous occasions we saw Basil stacking plates on top of one other to serve the food, another time his finger divided the plates, sitting on someone’s chicken. HEAVE- HEAVE!!! I was waiting to be asked by staff why we hadn’t eaten our food, nothing.

All around us, patrons were very unhappy with the food. I have never eaten as badly as what I did at the restaurant. I would liken it to Sizzler, however I wouldn’t wish that upon the Sizzler restaurant chain. Once ‘finished’ our meal, we asked for the bill to go on our room tab. The next day we decided to leave a day early and head back to Perth, upon check out we were told by Basil, we owed no money, even after we reminded him about the dinner tab. Still he insisted- finally a win for us we thought.

The next day I received a flustered phone call from a lady from the hotel asking us when we were checking out? I explained we had the day before. She then asked us why we didn’t settle our bill?

This place is seriously a disgrace, I left feeling like it was the worst birthday I ever had & we were nothing but an inconvenience. At least Basil provided some comic relief as the joke he is, but if there is any chance he is not the owner, they need to get rid of him and hire someone else, maybe start looking at the Perth Zoo Animals as preferred option to the current staff.

MANUAL!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NeedAHoliday14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allseasonsalbany, Owner at Ibis Styles Albany, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Upon investigation the Manager referred to was a releiving Manager for 3 weeks, however from his reports the guests requested an early check in which unfortunately we were unable to oblige due to heavy occupancies from the day before . Sorry that this occured but it is out of our control. The guests were scoupon clients who recieved two nights accommodation,a $60 food voucher and a bottle of wine for $129 and so I cannot understand their claims about payment as it was inclusive . (This was a seasonal promotion by an independent supplier)The manager has since been replaced
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albany hotels

Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Arrived to a scene not unlike Faulty Towers. Very drunk patrons in the front bar/carpark/stairs/accommodation. Made booking several days before but apparently staff said there was not one. Staff appeared flustered, disorganised, and low morale. Squabbles amongst themselves.
Went to room, stank of smoke, room cleaned fastidiously each day. Upon checking out, staff informed us that we owed money for restaurant when we had not eaten in there. This was queried, staff admitted mistake and said "its fine dont worry about it". No apologies, no sorry 'I'm wrong' no have a nice a day or thanks for staying. More like dont get caught between the automatic doors.
There are plently of other places to stay in Albany that are cheaper, more comfortable, closer to town and staff that are friendly. This place needs to lift its game to be a competitor

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allseasonsalbany, Manager at Ibis Styles Albany, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
The scoopon client paid $129.00 for 2 nights accommodation including a $60 meal voucher and a bottle of wine on arrival. Great value and it was a genuine offer. It is unfortunate and apologies are given to the guest because they were asked incorrectly about a charge which was placed on their account by mistake. All rooms are non smoking and if guests find a room that has been smoked in we immediately deodorise that room and the previous guest is charged. We are the most competitively priced hotel in Albany both in accommodation and food and beverage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Considering i'm on a business trip, i really enjoyed my stay here. My room was spacious and spotlessly clean, and it has the best shower i've ever used! The food was good value, wholesome and tasty. The best feature were the staff, really helpful and happy. I had to stay for a week for work, and it was a nice place to come back to each day. Free internet too, how rare is that here?! Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SquiffySquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I am nearly seventy, frail and was looking for a quiet place with easy access to spend a week.
I selected Country Manor, explained my situation (like, no stairs) and was treated with the utmost courtesy and pleasantness.
Check-in could not be easier and departure even simpler still.
The room was immaculate, the in-house meals superior and the décor inviting and comfortable. Nothing like a Chesterfield to make one feel pampered.
I stayed in other motels for the next week, cheaper and more expensive, and NONE were of the quality of the Country Manor Inn.
My nature is to be critical of Tourism standards having spent 10 years plus in the industry and I write this without fear or favour. I was not known to the establishment yet I cannot criticise on point. (I must be getting old)
A wonderful time, if I am given time to go to Albany again, there will be no hesitation in staying here.
A copy of this has been sent to the management and staff

Room Tip: Be polite, explain your reason clearly
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller6002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Albany
Comfort Inn Albany
#9 of 13 in Albany
86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ace Motor Inn
Ace Motor Inn
#7 of 13 in Albany
212 reviews
0.8 mi away
Country Comfort Amity Motel Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Emu Point Motel & Apartments
2.2 mi away
Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments
1.8 mi away
Dog Rock Motel
Dog Rock Motel
#4 of 13 in Albany
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Albany

Property: Ibis Styles Albany
Address: 369 Albany Highway, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia (Formerly All Seasons)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ibis Styles Albany 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to ibis Styles Albany Hotel The ibis Styles Albany Hotel is centrally located and close to all the Great Southern region's tourist attractions and landmarks including Whale World, The Gap, the ANZAC Memorial and Bluff Knoll to name a few. Ibis Styles Albany is your ideal Albany accommodation choice whether travelling for business or leisure, or as individuals, couples or families. The ibis Bar & Grill is located in the hotel, a favorite with locals and visitors alike, offering a delicious and competitively priced menu, plus a wide variety of quality wines. Facilities, Services and Warm Hospitality On-site facilities and services provided by ibis Styles Albany include free outside parking, Wifi internet access throughout the hotel and rooms, air conditioning, tea and coffee facilities as well as room service dinner available from the ibis Bar & Grill. With room types to suit all needs and budgets, the resort offers 50 spacious accommodation rooms including Deluxe suites, Family rooms and Standard rooms. Quality and value Albany accommodation combined with warm and welcoming hospitality makes the ibis Styles Albany the perfect base for your Albany visit. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Seasons Albany Hotel Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing