We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very very dissapointed”
Review of Pelicans Albany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pelicans Albany
Ranked #7 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We are VERY VERY disappointed , bad service and very not professional in handling customer complaints. We stayed in pelican for 2 nights and rent 3 bedroom and 2 bathroom deluxe apartment. I was shock when they overcharge me. I was making sure when we check out that there won’t be any extra charge and the lady in the receptionist confirm that. When I made a call to them, the owner said that is the charge for extra people stay in that apartment. I had 7 people including little kids in that apartment but the price she put on the website only for 2 people to accommodate 3 bedroom. Who would rent 3 bedroom apartment for only 2 people stay there? It does not make sense. A rip off accommodation and bad service I would say. The owner lady is very rude, she even hung up twice on me and my husband when we try to complaint by phone. Also BEWARE she said she put lots of camera everywhere to make sure she counts every single person stay in those place. NO MORE CUSTOMER PRIVACY. They only care about money and money but not customer service, even requesting late checkout is charge by the hour, cleaning the room is charge $50 PER room. Better think twice to stay there, other places are much nicer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 162 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed in an apartment for two nights and found it to be very relaxing. It was spotlessly clean, bright and roomy with a fully equipped kitchenette - it was a good change to prepare something simple after motel stays and eating out. The decks and fly screens meant fresh air and an extra place to lounge. Very private units well set out so you are not looking into another unit/balcony.
The bathroom was HUGE - the shower was devine and the size appreciated by my 6ft + partner.
Staff were very helpful, friendly and welcoming. Location was easy to find and a stroll to Middleton beach local cafe/restaurant.
Recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizandRick2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Possibly the best web site of any hotel in Albany was easily matched by the hotel and we enjoyed a superb 2 night stay. The whole experience was outstanding and the owners quite simply couldn't do enough for us. Even to the point of lending me an iphone charger as I'd forgotten mine. We were also lucky enought to be upgraded!
The cleanliness and attention to detail was awesome and the location within a 5 minute walk of the lovely Middleton Beach perfect.
We'll certainly be back

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LugubriousDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

A delightful apartment hotel. Clean, spacious and comfortable. Good bed and linen, nice bathroom. Large living area with good kitchenette. Welcoming reception, helpful with wifi and local advice. Within easy walking distance of the gorgeous Middleton beach, and of local cafe/restaurants. I thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An173dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We spent last night at pelicans Middleton beach albany and were totally delighted with all aspects of our stay. The reception we received was fantastic - so helpful and obliging and the cleanliness and design of the apartment were outstanding. It is in a great location - very close to the beach and several very good eating places. We will certainly return for a third visit.

Room Tip: Highly recommend apartments 8 and 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharro6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Trustworthy. Clean. Tidy environs. Serviced daily. Basic toiletries. Well stocked kitchenette. Walking distance to the beautiful Middleton Beach. Great place to stay for the whale watching season (winter months). Perfect for families. Parking available outside one's unit. Walking distance to an all day cafe and tapas bar.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

we had stayed at pelicans some years ago and actually got the same unit, but the change in the place was not an improvement -the furniture to the bedrooms kitchen dining was very poor- lamp didnt work in the bedroom not enough cutlery not enough towels- i can say that the photos for pelicans were misleading as our unit was not of that standard poor furniture poor presentation wouldnt stay again and overpriced as far as we were concerned for what we stayed in

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pdarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian K, General Manager at Pelicans Albany, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

As the Operations Manager of Pelicans Albany, I was both shocked and skeptical after reading your review. Feedback is a precious commodity that is always appreciated, but never expected from our guests, and serves as the catalyst for bettering our service offerings to those who choose to stay with us.

In short, reviews are something we encourage, good or bad, and after taking the time to read through each and every one of our reviews prior to your own, you’ll soon realize why. They accurately reflect the esteemed personal service that we strive to provide our guests with from check-in to checkout, the popular accommodation that accompanies that service, and our unwavering commitment to improvement. However in this instance, and after reading your review, allow me to inform you as to why your feedback was hard to be anything but skeptical about.

Firstly, no individual by the name associated with your Trip Advisor account has ever stayed with us, so forgive me for questioning the validity of your true identity, and your agenda in writing this review in the first instance. However, let’s assume that this is an oversight on our part, and due to technical and/or manual error, or both, our booking system did not make us aware of your stay, so I can proceed with addressing the concerns raised in your review.

Your comment about the furniture being sub-standard is hardly justified given that all our furniture, from bedding to lounges, are immaculately kept and routinely serviced by our maintenance staff.

If the lamp did not work or the light fitting blew, surely you would have notified reception so maintenance would have been able to address this issue for you on the spot. But for some reason, you chose not to bring this to our attention, making it impossible for us to address this.

Please understand that prior to, and following the arrival and departure of each and every one of our guests, our units are fastidiously cleaned, and all electrical appliances and furniture are looked over by our maintenance team. This is to to ensure that everything has been left in the condition it was presented in to the guest on arrival. This pro-active measure is to ensure that our lofty accommodation standards are always met, to ensure our guests are not at risk of being injured due to the improper functioning of any of the supplied furniture or appliances within their unit, and to safeguard us legally in the event that one of our guests may deliberately, or accidentally, cause damage to any of our units during their stay. This is clearly outlined in our Terms and Conditions on our website.

As for your remark regarding the shortage in cutlery and linen, not only are we renowned for supplying a surplus of both to guests, but had you needed more, then all you had to do was make the request at reception and they would of gladly supplied you with additional of both. This is standard procedure at any accommodation establishment, and Pelicans Albany is no exception. Your claims regarding your alleged stay with us do not align with that of the feedback in which we have proudly received, and continue to receive from our loyal guests. In short, you’re the odd one out.

In summary, I encourage the rogue author of this review to make their identity known to us by contacting us directly, and in a private setting, share any legitimate concerns you may have with our senior management, who would be glad to assist in any way possible to rectify any wrong doing on our part.

Should we not here from you, then we shall consider this review/feedback, exactly as it reads, a crude attempt at tarnishing our name in a public setting, littered with baseless and false accusations that won't be tolerated. Should we be subjected to more, then they will be met with the full force of the law and addressed in a legal setting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments
1.6 mi away
Beach House at Bayside
Beach House at Bayside
#1 of 18 in Albany
407 reviews
2.4 mi away
Emu Point Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Country Comfort Amity Motel Albany
0.1 mi away
Albany Holiday Units
Albany Holiday Units
#13 of 39 in Albany
53 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Suites Banksia Gardens Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelicans Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelicans Albany

Address: 3 Golf Links Rd, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia (Formerly Pelicans Holiday Village)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Albany
Price Range: $87 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelicans Albany 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Middleton Beach Albany, in the Great Southern Region of Western Australia, where pristine beaches are lapped by warm, clear ocean, Pelicans Albany creates an inviting ambiance for an unforgettable stay.Set on magnificent grounds and tranquil surroundings that feature a spacious garden and barbecue area, each beautifully appointed air-conditioned unit has a host of features. A private courtyard or balcony, dining and lounge area, private bathroom and in some cases two. The modern kitchen includes large fridge, oven and microwave. In addition, each unit boasts a flat screen TV, DVD player and free Wi-Fi internet and Cable TV. Laundry facilities and free on-site car parking are also provided.All these luxuries ensure you have the independence and flexibility of your own self-catered home, together with the comfort and service of a hotel.While being just minutes away from the stunning Middleton Beach shoreline, Pelicans Albany is within close proximity to all the major tourist attractions, popular local activities, shops and restaurants that Albany is renowned for.Our exclusive units are also available for short and long term rental on a self-catered basis, making them an ideal accommodation solution for Corporate Consultants, Government Contractors, Diplomats, Renovators and Re-locators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Pelicans Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing