We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need a block from the beach”
Review of Pelicans Albany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pelicans Albany
Ranked #7 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We stayed three nights at Pelicans in a standard unit which was spotless and comfortable, especially the armchairs! Everything you needed in the kitchen and a parking space right outside. Laundry and BBQ available for all guests to share, again spotless. Hosts were very helpful. Only a short walk from Ellen Cove which is one end of Middleton Beach and an even shorter walk to Bay Merchants, a lovely deli/specialty food outlet which is open for breakfast, lunch and tea. We could only find one restaurant (on the beach) which was pricey and the Squid Shack at Emu Point had been recommended but we were disappointed with the food. Lots of restaurants in Albany itself which is about 3km away. Beautiful area - Whale World is well worth a visit as is The Gap and the Natural Bridge which are both close by. Another lovely beach was Little Beach in Two Peoples Bay east of Middleton.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 162 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights while in Albany. Clean apartment, sunny clean kitchen.
Friendly owners who were seen planting flowers in the compound. The place shows that care has been given. Car can be parked right next to the unit.
Apartment with large living space and 2 bedrooms had good space for 4 of us.
5 minute walk to beach with good restaurant Calamari by the Sea. Good food. pleasant area to stay in.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSL96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights in Albany. Very clean apartment and beautiful bathroom. Friendly owners and good location for town/beach/sightseeing. Also has own designated car parking space.
Enjoyed Albany as a whole with friendly people and lots to see and do in surrounding area.
Must do's - Gap/natural bridge, golfing, beaches, views. Whale world is good but bit overpriced at $25 each.
Would visit albany again and def stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry_MScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

We were winging it on our recent WA vacation and arrived in Albany on a Friday night with no reservations. Tourist bureau only had availability at the hotels they represent so we drove down past Middleton Beach which looked like a good location on the map. Found Pelicans and we were lucky they had a room. We stayed two nights, the room was clean and the service good. Took advantage of the laundry service. And the it was only a short walk to Middleton Beach. Beautiful beach and great location for swimming, biking and running. And only a short drive to restaurants in the town. And there is a great little store open from 6 - 6 everyday for coffee, etc. We could have spent another two or three days.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marvistatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

We went down to Albany to escape the heat in Perth - it did not disappoint with temperatures in the low to mid 20s! This was essentially the only place in town that had a room available due to a last minute cancellation so we were extremely lucky to stay in one of their luxury 1 bed apartments for 3 nights.

The apartment was beautifully appointed though it lacked an oven, just having a cooktop and microwave so we were a little limited on what we could cook (seeing as I had planned to make pizzas!!). It was really quite spacious with plenty of storage and full sized fridge.

The bathroom did not have a bath, though it did have an extremely large shower with good water pressure so all OK.

LCD TVs in the the lounge and bedroom with reasonable selection of Foxtel channels.

It is very handy to Middleton beach - you can walk there in 5 mins and there is a nice scenic walk along the coast to the grain silos or another in the opposite direction up to Emu Point (about an hour). You are very close to a public golf course and handy to town by car also. There is a local fish and chip shop along with a cafe and a couple of restaurants closer to the beach.

The only real downfall was that at $180 per night you would expect the room to be serviced daily - but it wasn't. Though i have heard that often holiday chalets are only serviced once or twice per week, usually they do tell you if this is the case. We didn't bother to ask for the room to be serviced as like to keep to ourselves so not sure if they would have done it at no charge.

The owners seemed extremely friendly and looked like a lot of family groups stayed there. The complex is very clean and modern and does have a warm village-like feel to it.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BlueLag00n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sylb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank takumi277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments
1.6 mi away
Beach House at Bayside
Beach House at Bayside
#1 of 18 in Albany
407 reviews
2.4 mi away
Emu Point Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Country Comfort Amity Motel Albany
0.1 mi away
Albany Holiday Units
Albany Holiday Units
#12 of 39 in Albany
53 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Suites Banksia Gardens Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelicans Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelicans Albany

Address: 3 Golf Links Rd, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia (Formerly Pelicans Holiday Village)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Albany
Price Range: $86 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelicans Albany 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Middleton Beach Albany, in the Great Southern Region of Western Australia, where pristine beaches are lapped by warm, clear ocean, Pelicans Albany creates an inviting ambiance for an unforgettable stay.Set on magnificent grounds and tranquil surroundings that feature a spacious garden and barbecue area, each beautifully appointed air-conditioned unit has a host of features. A private courtyard or balcony, dining and lounge area, private bathroom and in some cases two. The modern kitchen includes large fridge, oven and microwave. In addition, each unit boasts a flat screen TV, DVD player and free Wi-Fi internet and Cable TV. Laundry facilities and free on-site car parking are also provided.All these luxuries ensure you have the independence and flexibility of your own self-catered home, together with the comfort and service of a hotel.While being just minutes away from the stunning Middleton Beach shoreline, Pelicans Albany is within close proximity to all the major tourist attractions, popular local activities, shops and restaurants that Albany is renowned for.Our exclusive units are also available for short and long term rental on a self-catered basis, making them an ideal accommodation solution for Corporate Consultants, Government Contractors, Diplomats, Renovators and Re-locators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Pelicans Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing