We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old style, relaxing place”
Review of Norman House

Norman House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Albany
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Norman House
Ranked #13 of 18 Albany B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My friend and I visited in September 2013. The house is very old style, large and roomy. It is decorated old style too. I think it could be renovated a bit. It was immaculately clean and the beds were comfortable. The area was quiet.
Bert still runs the place. When you first meet him he seems cold but he quickly thaws and enjoys a good chat. He has interesting life stories that reflect the way life was in Australia in the 60s and 70s.
Breakfast was spot on. Well cooked and plentiful.
Location is great. Easy access to many places.
I would go here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dip69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 42 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

Sorry to say can't share the same enthusiasm with the other guests reviews,as I started to unpack the car my wife rang the bell several times before one of the other guests answered the door.Finally entered our room & straight away I thought of a Grandmothers house (even had an old smell) I met Burt, sorry to say bit of a cold fish, showed us around the house with no real passion (he had passion for his stupid Chinese fiddler doll).I could hear everything from the women across the hall & footsteps down the hall.
Breakfast was not the best just like the service, do you know what you want ! asked Burt, seriously lacks people skills.I poured milk into my coffee the milk went lumpy & strange in my cup,community radio blaring away (couldn't have a nice chat) over the radio, we asked where Shelia was & Burt said she stays upstairs, didn't receive any afternoon tea either on arrival as promised.
Guests coming in late talking loudly outside the bedroom window woke us up on the second night,so another broken sleep again to be woken up at 6:22 am by thumping footsteps down the hall & shutting doors. Didn't have breakfast second day went to Kate's place cafe instead.Not recommended for a good night sleep. Found someones Garlic sausages left in the freezer(that didn't work)and the seals on fridge need desperate replacement . Overall even though the history of the house is fascinating it needs some repairs and an attitude change towards the guests who are funding the people that run this place. Sorry Burt but maybe it is time you did retire. You need someone who is friendly and attentive to greet guests and to answer any questions you might have. Won't be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at Normans House in Jan 2009 we went into the tourist information centre and decided to stay at the bed and breakfast it was like walking back in time and we loved it the beds are so comfy, very clean bedding , clean rooms , perfect and the breakfast well what can I say spot on every thing you could wish for cooked to perfection and when we returned in the afternoon there were cakes if you wanted I was actually asked if I would like a glass of sherry and my hubby was offered a beer the hosts were lovely we mainly saw Bert he told us where to go for something to eat at night and ended up going to a pub called the earl on spencer what a meal !! so all in all our visit to Normans House was exceptional we are coming back to Aus in Jan 14 and we are so looking forward to visiting again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DENISE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is, without mincing words, what is left of a splendid residence. Our room was exceptionally spacious and very comfortable, while the furnishings gave some hint of yesteryear. The owners were absent, but the ‘custodian’ (Margaret, a delightful Scottish lady) went out of her way to be helpful, and provided the most excellent breakfasts. Conveniently located a short walk from York Street. Not ‘high class’, but very comfortable middle class.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myrgatroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We arrived after a long drive on a wet and chilly evening and found Norman House by chance. Bert welcomed us at the door and showed us our first floor room which was quaint and comfortable. He was also very helpful with local knowledge and restaurant recommendations within walking distance - the Mean Fiddler was very good and although expensive the seafood was delicious! We slept well - bed very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent - fresh strawberry fruit salad really good. Only met Sheila briefly but Bert took good care of us and we plan to re-visit next year.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodenpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

On our long drive from Sydney to Perth we chose a variety of accommodation and in Albany it was Norman House because of its character as an early colonial home. We were not disappointed. Bert welcomed us at the door and took us to our very clean and well presented upstairs room. The cooked breakfasts were substantial and nicely prepared. Everything was also available for self-serve breakfasts.

We are motivated to write a positive comment for Norman House because some comments appear to be unfair. We also should mention that the integrity of the management was well demonstrated to us. As we paid and departed in a hurry due to our car problems a small mistake of $20 was made in the rate that we were charged. To Shelia’s credit we were contacted by email and an apology was quickly followed by a credit to our card, not for the small amount involved but for one night’s accommodation. If you are looking for an establishment that cares about its guests – this is it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrahamWilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We wanted to explore the southern coast of WA and decided to stay in a B&B for the charm that it would offer. We chose Norman House and we were very pleased with our two night stay. We were greeted warmly by Sheila and then shown to our room. The room was very large and had an extra single bed in one of the corners. It was great because we had three in our party and there was plenty of room for us and our luggage. We met Bert the following morning and he took our order and then prepared our breakfast, which was delicious!! A true English breakfast! We enjoyed our visit very much and look forward to our return visit!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Interested884422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.1 mi away
Albany Foreshore Guest House
2.7 mi away
Beach House at Bayside
Beach House at Bayside
#1 of 18 in Albany
407 reviews
3.5 mi away
HideAway Haven
HideAway Haven
#2 of 18 in Albany
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments
1.4 mi away
Pelicans Albany
Pelicans Albany
#7 of 39 in Albany
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dunmoylen House
Dunmoylen House
#3 of 18 in Albany
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norman House

Address: 28 Stirling Tce, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Albany
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing