We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm stay!”
Review of Norman House

Norman House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Albany
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Norman House
Ranked #12 of 17 Albany B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm stay!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Norman House. The rooms are very clean and cozy. The breakfast is very yummy. The hosts of the house Sheila & Bert have done an excellent job maintaining the house and keeping our stay welcoming and comfortable!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EeyoreManatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
19
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed for 1 night January 2013, in room 2. First thoughts were the room was like an old aunt's house in the 1970s, everything rose printed, and the furniture and bathroom very dated. However, it was very clean, the sheets were good quality and we slept well. The breakfast was excellent and some good conversation was had. The lady of the house was really helpful regarding some paintings and there are some interesting nick knacks around the house. Do not go there if looking for 4* corporate blandness, but if you are prepared for something a little different, this is the place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuffolkCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Having stayed at Norman House in Albany a few months ago as part of a work trip, I promised the owners that I would return with my hubby for a longer stay, and we did. I asked for the same room that I stayed in the first time (Room 1) as I knew it to be large and comfortable. Event though we stayed there 5 nights this time I cannot fault Norman House B&B. It is exactly what it says it is and what a good B&B should be. Its welcoming to everyone, centrally located and excellent value. Bert cooks whatever you like for brekky and all the usual continental items (cereal, toast, juice, coffee) are also available. The house is interesting too - a long (long for Australia!) history and is now decorated with many items of art, collectibles and whimsy. I will add that Norman House is suited for couples - not children. We slept like logs while there and it seems that although the other rooms were all occupied - everyone was interested in relaxing because there isn't a sound at night. We'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We last stayed at Norman House 27 years ago when our children were young. This is an old character property (with it's own unique history). Don't go there expecting flash big flat screen TV's in every room .......although there is a very comfortable TV lounge / library & games room. What you will get is a very comfortable bed with freshly ironed sheets (thanks Sheila) in a large spacious bedroom. The home cooked full breakfast specially prepared by the lord of the manor (Bert) was also a delight. As I said, no fancy frills and spills, but a very comfortable stay at a location only a short stroll 60m from the centre of town.

Room Tip: We had a peek at most of them and all seemed equally comfortable and welcoming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Des F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

At first we found the welcome a little cool. Bert greeted me at the door and just asked my name and showed me to my room. I asked his and introduced myself... I thought it seemed a little 'over it'. However, we found the room comfortable and the beds had electric blankets which was much appreciated as its was a little cool.

I managed to start up a conversation with Bert after breakfast and found a common thread - then Bert was very helpful and chatty.

Breakfast is great. My only niggle was the welcome book in your room promises afternoon tea - this was not available so suggest Bert and Shiela just update their information. A TV in the room was kind of expected but we didnt miss it, as the cosy lounge has one and we chatted to other guests.

Room Tip: we had room number one which was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyMCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This accommodation was booked 'sight unseen' for a work trip. But what an excellent choice! Do you like B&Bs? Albany? Being warm, comfortable and an opportunity to enjoy a fantastic freshly prepared/cooked brekky? You want to stay here! One night wasn't long enough and I am planning a return trip soon.

Majestic old building - furnished with love. Comfy beds with the best linen EVER, new en-suites and the most beautiful garden. This place is a real gem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Norman House is a warm, homely B & B in the heart of Albany within walking distance to the harbour, shops and restaurants. Bert & Sheila (the owners) are exceptionally friendly & welcoming. The rooms are very comfortable with all the amenities of a hotel but without the coldness you might experience at a franchised establishment. Sheila provided good tips for where to eat and we came back later in the night to a nice wood fire in the reading room. Bert is a great cook and provided a hearty hot breakfast to order. You would pay $20 for a 'big breakfast' equivalent at a Perth Cafe. Overall, we had a lovely stay and strongly recommend Norman House to anyone who is looking for homely accommodation close to all the action in Albany.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hastemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.1 mi away
Albany Foreshore Guest House
3.5 mi away
Emu Point Motel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Three Chimneys B&B
Three Chimneys B&B
#5 of 17 in Albany
28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albany Harbourside Apartments and Houses
2.7 mi away
Beach House at Bayside
Beach House at Bayside
#1 of 17 in Albany
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norman House

Property: Norman House
Address: 28 Stirling Tce, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Albany
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing