We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money, home away from home.”
Review of Dolphin Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dolphin Lodge
Ranked #9 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Our family has stayed at Dolphin Lodge three times now. We think it's a great spot as a base to explore Albany. All the rooms and surrounds are clean and well presented. The nights are quite making for a good night sleep. I recommend Dolphin Lodge as a place to stay.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank BarkerBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 141 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2012

The hosts at Dolphin Lodge were very helpful and welcoming. When we had trouble with our kettle and a couple of other items, they were immediately replaced for us. It's an older property but nicely renovated. The suite was comfortably furnished, though the mattress on the bed was a bit soft and the towels are due for replacement soon. It's a lovely quiet setting near Middleton Beach and a short drive to the centre of Albany.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WoylieLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

On a regular business trip and found the property perfect in every way. Good location.
Room clean and tidy and a bonus that you can cook your own food.
Recommended. Good value for money

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Madfish56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Having just read the most recent reviews on this place and having just left there this afternoon , we decided to jump in and tell you what we thought.

We booked this Lodge through Wotmail . What was originally a $200 odd room we secured for $100 a night. Loved it ! Would definitely come again. Our room was one bedroom , Excellent bathroom area spacious and clean.The bedroom was nicely appointed and the COTTON sheets were fresh and lovely.
Drawback ? probably the very snug lounge area but it led to a small balcony so not so bad . Very noisy in the morning outside . . I used the Gym , Has elliptical machine , treadmill, exercise bike , Gym ball.The door locks so access is only with a key , great. Laundry room spotless with a vending machine and even a drying room. The owner said they had been refurbishing the rooms.
Our unit 9 was away from the complex group , slightly which we liked. Modern kitchen and spotless. Would reccomend Rustlers Steakhouse for a good feed and reasonable price.
Walking distance to the beach .

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saintPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We recently stayed in a 2 bedroom self contained unit,
Rooms are of good size the Kitchen is well equipped and the lounge dining area is cozy but nice it also has a balcony, the rooms were very clean the beds are comfy the barhroom very clean great for families it also has a gym and a nice BBQ area no pool. Good value for money.
A couple of restaurants nearby one has a little shop not too far to go into the town centre.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

This old block of flats has been updated and is very clean. Pity the owners attitude hasnt been updated. His wife is lovely yet HE is rude and foul mouthed if you raise anything negative. Try elsewhere before this place.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Ozeboy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Fair go David. Making too much noise on New Years Eve.You were quick to put your hand out and claim the $100.00. Wasn't there any chance of you probably bending the rules slighty as it was New Year Eve or even as it was only 20mins to Midnight perhaps let the celebrations continue and then let us finish it by say 12.15pm.Even a phone call to let us know there had been complaints about the so call noise may have been appropriate but this may have required some people skills to be applied. Also for you info we did consider the other families and even invited them along....Overall a good place to stay, little outdated and I agree alot with Neevo. I look forward to your reply David unless this gets removed.........

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albanydolphin, Owner at Dolphin Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2012

Ryan pleeeese!
You cannot reason with the unreasonable,Dolphin Lodge is not a venue for parties.
It is quite simple if you wish to party and affect other guests after 10 pm, it may be best to find alternative accommadation that allows this kind of behaviour.However if you chose to party after10 pm and the owner /manager (who does not live on site) is telephoned and has to address the disturbace the offending guest will be charge $100 call out fee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
2.9 mi away
Ace Motor Inn
Ace Motor Inn
#6 of 13 in Albany
234 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western The Clarence on Melville
2.4 mi away
Quality Suites Banksia Gardens Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Emu Point Motel & Apartments
2.5 mi away
Country Comfort Amity Motel Albany
0 mi away
Pelicans Albany
Pelicans Albany
#7 of 39 in Albany
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Lodge

Address: 32 Adelaide Cres, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Albany
Price Range: $105 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphin Lodge offers a variety of fully self-contained apartments located in the centre of Albany's beachside suburb of Middleton Beach and at the base of Mt Adelaide.We are a 3 minutes drive to the City centre. Facilities include a fully equipped modern kitchen with microwave, electric stove, a large fridge, separate lounge/dining area, LCD TV, DVD player, DVD hire, in-house movies, FOXETEL, alarm clock radio, hairdryer, electric blankets, ironing equipment, air conditioning (heating and cooling), telephone and WiFi.A laundry mat and tourist information booth, BBQ, GYM, a vending machine providing drinks and snacks and a fully enclosed children's play ground are all available.Our 1, 2 and 3 bedroom self-contained apartments and our 4 bedroom house are 200 metres from beautiful Middleton Beach-we are told our location is the best in Albany. All apartments have their own courtyards (ground floor) or bacony (first floor). There are stunning swimming and surf beaches, walk trails, wildflowers, bird life, wineries, Mount Romance sandalwood factory and the award winning Whale World Museum to visit. Golf and Bowling clubs are near by. Breakfast baskets(cooked or continental)are available delivered to your apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dolphin Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing