We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Albany
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

My family stayed here in a 2 bedroom suite. The main room had a queen sized bed, the tv, a fridge, microwave and kettle and access to the outdated bathroom. The second bedroom had a single bed and a queen and had a window that led on a walkway.

Pro's:
Location
Helpful staff

Con's:
Outdated bathroom
Towels with other people's hair on them
Overpriced

Overall I did not enjoy my stay and would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: January 2014
3  Thank LondonMac81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 348 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Our family stayed here for one night in the two bed apartment. Never stayed in a Best Western before but it was pretty much what we expected. It is budget accommodation but with the basics you need. Beds were comfortable and it was clean. Nice view overlooking the bay. Good location, walking distance to town, shops and restaurants. Comfortable enough for a short trip, just don't expect new accommodation or luxury!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Travelover99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Where to Start...to spend our 21st Anniversary...
Our worst place ever we stayed in!!!

Over Priced for what got!!!

Information and Website outdated False advertising..

NO Privacy Bathroom window has a window that is rippled stained effect that while in use with bright lights on can be seen inside as couple times while we had showers somebody was looking in through window ended up having to block it off to feel comfortable & same goes with the window next to the Entry Door we had same problem.

Bathroom - towels very small only just able to wrap around yourself, also had leaking Shower and little to none water pressure.

Facilities - Other rooms have Microwaves but Kings don't why???? We get penalized for having a supposedly great view and pay more but no Microwave. When it is needed as website has Breakfast and Dinner Menu for Restaurant. But the Restaurant is CLOSED FOR GOOD. Was inform was not doing Breakfast but was no mention of Dinner or CLOSED FOR GOOD.
I Even went to extent of telling them your Website is OUTDATED his response yeah sorry but it closed.
COPY OF THEIR WEBSITE
Best Western
Charlottes Restaurant is a modern Australian dining experience featuring the best of local and Western Australian produce. The dining room is intimate and comfortable and we pride ourselves on our professional service. Our experienced chefs take the time to care for each dish and cook your meal to order for breakfast and dinner. We are BYO alcohol with no corkage charge for wine or beer. Phone 08 9845 7500 for reservations.

Charlottes Dinner Menu Charlottes Dinner Menu (118 KB)
Charlottes Breakfast Menu Charlottes Breakfast Menu (49 KB)
Charlottes Albany Restaurant

We had a toaster in room ha yeah great first morning we used it set of Smoke Detector, and to our surprise no one even come around to check if everything ok.

Cleaning - Room didn't get vacuumed or cleaned to well as dust every where we even noticed a big lump of dust in bed sheets.

Provided Tea and Coffee but NO Milk.

TV reception was playing up had to move the aerial cord around a lot to get clear channel to view.

Very noisy with other Bathrooms showers running, other guest entertaining friends & and people walking around stomping feet could hear them outside.

We did even go to the Tourist Information Centre and informed them of our bad experience, and would not be staying here again and not recommending it to any of our Family or Friends. We even will be forwarding a complaint to the Best Western Chain Head Office.

Room Tip: We had the top Room and this what we got, so maybe Spa Suite about all could say to try upgrade mayb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spatch73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbanyMotel, General Manager at Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel.

Your review is our second 1 star review and it is always extremely disappointing to hear we have not met a guest's expectations so fully. I am very sorry that we didn't meet and better your expectations of us.

Firstly, I would like to express my regret that your concerns were not dealt with during your stay with us. We care deeply about your experience and do everything we can to respond promptly to any issues. We have a 24hour reception number and I am personally on call to deal with emergency issues.

Personal privacy of our guests is of the utmost importance to us. I assure you that the small glass bathroom window is 100% opaque and can not be seen through. I would hope any security concerns such as someone looking through windows would be reported. However, it is a very quiet town and I have never received anything more than the occasional noise complaint.

Our restaurant closed permanently less than 3 weeks before your stay and while we have tried to remove the information from the many websites and 3rd party outlets. This is an ongoing project and we continue to correct any site which we find or is reported to us. Thank you for bring this to our attention.

I do not take your feedback lightly. Even though we are a 3.5 star motel, it is a very good opportunity for us to "double our efforts" and to further our commitment to excellence.

I sincerely hope you can forgive us for any mistakes which were made with your stay. I hope you will give us another opportunity to look after you on your next visit to Albany.

Please contact me personally if I can assist you in any way or if you wish to discuss this further.

Kind Regards,
Ubik Freeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed in one of the 2 bedroom apartments. It is quite dated, however beds comfortable and towels and linen are good quality and very clean. Bathroom was ok - but like most places the shower needs a good scrub with some bleach. Kitchen and fridge were clean but utensils were not. Not sure if they rely on guests to clean them? Or if they clean them after each guest has checked out. All in all a good place to stay - few minutes walk from Cafes/ pubs/ shops etc.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank BJJ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbanyMotel, General Manager at Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our Two Bedroom Apartments.

I am sorry that we did not meet and exceed your expectations.

The bathroom and the utensils should have been perfectly clean. We normally get this right so I apologise that this wasn't at our normal standard.

Our two bedroom apartments are rated at a AAA 3 star standard. We keep them clean and well maintained and would like to renovate them in the near future.

The apartments do have a great central location and the beautiful view of the harbour from the lounge and main bedrooms.

I hope we can welcome you and your family again next time you are in Albany.

Kind Regards,
Ubik Freeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Good location and right in town where food, retail and IGA is at walking distance. Room is comfy but really dated. It is rather disappointing when we needed to boil water or make some toast. The kettle was badly discoloured and even if it is clean, we did not dare to use it. The toaster was filty and had remnants of someone else's breakfast. Some parts of the shower area is moldy and needs a good scrub. Other than these, recept was friendly. Car could be conveniently parked at the doorstep.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissanastasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbanyMotel, General Manager at Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our motel.

I appreciate you pointing out the positives of your stay with us even though we weren't able to meet your expectations.

We have a policy of replacing electrical appliances whenever they show signs of age or discolouration. Since receiving your review I have found 3 appliances within the motel which have been replaced with new equipment. I appreciate you brining this to our attention.

Please don't hesitate to contact me directly if there is anything further I can assist you with.

Kind Regards,
Ubik.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We found the motel to be bright and welcoming on our 2 day visit.. The Charlottes restaurant was
good, regarding both the food and the service, with a reasonable choice range.
The motel staff were extremely helpful and also friendly. The accomodation ( ground floor room ) was comfortable, spacious and clean, with a good bathroom.
We believe refurbishment is planned -- the motel has a quaintness of atmosphere which I hope is'nt lost in the re-furb plan.
Very good location.
Joe D ( Manchester, U.K )

Room Tip: Ground floor room was very convenient and no noticeable noise to speak of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbanyMotel, General Manager at Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and positive review.

I think you have summed up our rooms very well as comfortable, spacious and clean.

We are continuing our renovations this year after renovating all the bathrooms in both our Harbour View and Executive rooms. We have used classic materials such as glass, stone and aluminium to create a modern and ageless style. We hope as you suggest that we don't lose any atmosphere and create a more comfortable and welcoming feel. So for the feedback has been very good.

I look forward to welcoming you again if you travel this way again.

Kind Regards,
Ubik Freeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This motel is a bit dated, although quite comfy. We had the top floor overlooking the wind farm. I think you would have to be on the top floor to see any water views. The restaurant was very pleasant with lovely staff who were very friendly. There is a gate to walk through to a pub which is a better option. Not much to see in Albany, except for beautiful views from some lookouts. The whale museum was worth looking at also.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Cgt001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western The Clarence on Melville
1.9 mi away
Ace Motor Inn
Ace Motor Inn
#6 of 13 in Albany
234 reviews
1.4 mi away
Country Comfort Amity Motel Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Emu Point Motel & Apartments
1.3 mi away
Quality Suites Banksia Gardens Albany
0.5 mi away
Dog Rock Motel
Dog Rock Motel
#7 of 13 in Albany
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments

Address: 41 Frederick St, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Albany
Price Range: $107 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments is located in the centre of Albany, a scenic coastal regional town 400km south of Perth in the Great Southern of WA. This Albany accommodation features 3.5 star AAA-rated rooms which cater for families, couples and the business travelers alike. It boasts of being the only motel situated in town with rooms on the top level and apartments with views overlooking the Princess Royal Harbour and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing