We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like the town very dated” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Albany
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Like the town very dated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Reception staff and restaurant very good, cheerful and friendly. Food was quite good breakfast (price very reasonable) and dinner (bit expensive). The pub through the back gate is a better option for dinner cheaper and much more variety and quality is very good too.
Parking seemed plenty to easy to manoeuvre in the lower section of the motel.
Now the downside soap and shampoo not replaced daily, sometimes no bathmat or garbage bin emptied, debris from previous guest still in bin on arrival. Bathrooms are very very dated although a reasonable size, shower curtains still used. Carpets show signs of wear and frayed leading into bathroom.
I spent five nights here the bed was a bit hard however the place seemed noiseless even though it seemed the motel was quite full, a couple of mozzies were a nuisance think they leave the door open when they clean the rooms.
TV was disappointing no Foxtel just a couple of movie channels that repeat the same movies,
Internet was free was a reasonable speed my laptop had to be connected to a power board that was screwed to the wall behind the TV as there were not enough power points which was a bit arkward.
Furniture in the room was so dated, the small table was sufficient however the church hall chair needs to go to the tip.

If you do stay here get a first floor room or you will have to walk up a few steps as there are three levels to lug your bags up and down. Place in my mind does not meet the Best Western criteria for a three star motel. Sure must be better than this in Albany. Cleaning staff obviously need a big wake up call.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    139
    58
    17
    7
See reviews for
44
116
15
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Good location, closed to restaurant and shops. Plenty space for storage and luggage. Clean and bright. We were on the ground floor next to the car park but did not have any noise issue. Staff is helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moral101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Over priced and old fashioned. Bathroom was updated and quite good but there were security lights on the rear balcony and at the front door both of which put a great deal of light into the room and made sleeping very very difficult. Our king sized bed was two beds pushed together and so a little uncomfortable.
Couldn't get TV to work and so contacted reception but it just goes to a message taker after 8 pm so we paid top dollar for a room with no TV and next day found the message hadn't been passed on. So service was dissappointing.
I wouldn't stay there again if visiting Albany, I would consider Middleton beach or Emu point - much better outlook.
We had a slight view of the harbour from our outside balcony which overlooked the carpark.
Overall it was very dissappointing

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Grace
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stay one night room was great - clean and modern. Staff very friendly good value for money.
Breakfast was fantastic & cheap. People coming in off the street for breakfast is usually a good indication that it will be good.
Mini Bar prices, very reasonable, I don't usually purchase from mini bar because they are way overpriced - not here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed in Albany for work 3 nights, stayed here 1 night. Front desk reception was terrible, wanted us to pay upfront even though we were staying for their breakfast ( which I didn't do) after this episode. For $122 was told I was now staying in an economy room!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbanyMotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel.

I am sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We know that our front desk team is an extremely important part of our overall service delivery and we strive for excellence. The team is friendly, welcoming and informative and often gets very high praise in reviews.

With regard to payment, we do take payment for accommodation up front. We find that this is a simpler financial arrangement with our guests and we are happy to put meals and breakfast on a tab for you to pay on check-out.

I would like to personally invite you to try us again and please let me know if there is anything I can do for you.

Kind Regards,
Ubik

Ubik Freeman
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

This was the second time I've stayed here. The staff are really friendly and accommodating. The first time they let us park our bikes outside our rooms, and this time we were given the carport to park under. Rooms are excellent, comfortable and modern. Free WiFi, great restaurant, and very close to the Main Street.

Room Tip: Split level parking so ground floor or middle floor are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DVM100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbanyMotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review of our motel. It is always very touching to know when our service is appreciated so warmly from our guests.

We are continually working on modernisation and upgrades for all areas of the motel. We pay particular attention to the areas which matter to our guests, such as cleanliness, professional & friendly service, quality beds, good food, reliable & free WiFi.

We look forward to welcoming you again next time you are in Albany.

Warm Regards,
Ubik.

Ubik Freeman
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
214 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

The desk staff were very friendly and helpful as there had been a mix up with our previous hotel. They kindly faxed a note through for me & sorted it out before we left. The room was fine. We had a downstairs one near reception. We used the laundry services, again clean & good.
The restaurant food was excellent for both dinner and breakfasts.We both had fish for dinner cooked beautifully.The pancakes at breakfast were delicious. Nothing was a bother.

Room Tip: A downstairs room is best as this motel has 3 floors and is on a slope.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.9 mi away
Ace Motor Inn
Ace Motor Inn
#7 of 13 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Albany
Comfort Inn Albany
#8 of 13 in Albany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.4 mi away
Country Comfort Amity Motel Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dog Rock Motel
Dog Rock Motel
#4 of 13 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Suites Banksia Gardens Albany
3.5 mi away
Emu Point Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments

Property: BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments
Address: Cnr Frederick and Spencer Streets, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments is located in the centre of Albany, a scenic coastal regional town 400km south of Perth in the Great Southern of WA. This Albany accommodation features 3.5 star AAA-rated rooms which cater for families, couples and the business travelers alike. It boasts of being the only motel situated in town with rooms on the top level and apartments with views overlooking the Princess Royal Harbour and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing