We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent accommodation, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Albany
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Decent accommodation, good location”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Booked here for business, rooms were decent enough, basic but to be expected for a motel. The airconditioner worked well and enough space in the room. The bathroom was like stepping back to the 70's with the lovely cappuccino coloured tiles but still functional. The shower head was a water saver and enough pressure and good temperature for hot and cold.

It had foxtel with movies and also complimentary WiFi which was great, a lot of hotels are still charging for this service. The location was good only a few hundred metres to the main strip of Albany.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbanyMotel, General Manager at Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. The photos you added were of good quality and show a good overview of the outside of the motel and the inside of your room.

One quick point of clarification, we do not have Foxel at the motel. We do have a wide selection of digital TV channels as well as two free movie channels.

As you noted in your review, our standard rooms have the original bathrooms from 1986. We do have superior and executive rooms which have been refurbished. These rooms also have better appointed beds and linen.

I appreciate you mentioning our free WIFI. We see this as a necessity for both business and long stay holiday guests and we have improved the service so pages load fast, guests can use Skype and other video communications software, and watch video channels such as YouTube.

I hope to welcome you again in the future and please feel free to let myself or any of my staff know if there is anything we can do to make your stay with us more comfortable.

Warm Regards,
Ubik Freeman
General Manager
Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    141
    58
    17
    7
See reviews for
45
118
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This motel is conveniently located close to town and easy walking distance to the bottom half of the main town. The hotel was very busy the night we were there and very noisy. We thought it a good idea to have a room with a balcony and views out to the harbor sadly with this brings downsides like bogon neighbors sitting on the balcony drinking alcohol, talking/giggling loud and dragging chairs across the balcony.

The room walls are so thin that we could hear the conversations of the people in the next room from within our room. The air-conditioning unit is very old and cuts out when on the heat setting. We left our aircon on overnight to drown out the neighbor’s noise.

We were woken up in the morning by a clicking sound at 5am, who knows what it was but it sounded like a ball being bounced (it wasn’t). There is also a little window near the front door where the breakfast hatch is, there are no curtains on this window and the morning light soon shines through the whole room. The bed was ok however very springy. There is currently no restaurant on site and the foxtel service has limited channels

The mini bar in the room has a good selection and is reasonably priced. A nice little touch in the fridge are chilled wine glasses with an after dinner mint in each glass. The towels were the best I have seen in a long time in a motel, very white, soft and fluffy. Wifi included was a bonus. Nice view out to harbor and the TV in the room is a good size.

We checked out early (6-6.30am) and proceeded to reception to return the key. Reception was closed and a phone was provided nearby. Using the phone we were told we had to go back up to the room and lock the key in the room. How about you tell us that when we check in?

Would I stay again or pay $171 per night again - No

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MojiNegro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbanyMotel, General Manager at Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comprehensive review of our Executive Room.

I appreciate that you included many of the small details which we believe add to the value of the room. As you noted we have free high speed WIFI for all guests and it works well for all modern mobile devices. We have also recently upgraded our linen to provide the very best towelling for all our superior and executive rooms.

I am sorry that you had a problem with noise during your stay with us. We have a zero tolerance policy regarding noise in our motel. Our reception is available 24 hours a day to discuss any disturbances you may have and we are more than happy deal with these issues at any time of the night or day.

I appreciate your witty headline and hope we didn't cause anyone to really lose their job over your stay with us. I hope we can welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Ubik Freeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Place wasn't to bad, only fault was the shower water temp goes from hot to cold without warning. No in room service for food. Have to go out for all meals including breakfast. Bed was showing its age as it was lumpy.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waz60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbanyMotel, General Manager at Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of our motel.

I am sorry that our bed didn't meet your satisfaction. I suspect that there may be a spring out of place and we will replace the bed immediately when we find it.

I will also investigate your report of varying water temperature in the shower. We have not had this issue before but I am sure if there is a problem we will be able to resolve it.

I look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm Regards,
Ubik Freeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Walked in off the street and for $159.00, stayed in a superior balcony room for one night. Able to park car off street, right in front of room. The room was clean, it had one double and one single bed. Everything you need but nothing fancy. The bathroom was refreshed and clean but dated. The view from the "superior balcony room" was none too superior - the motel laundry and clothes line ! (See picture) Motel very well located in the centre of Albany Try the meals and boutique beer at the White Star hotel nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toorust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbanyMotel, General Manager at Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our motel. I appreciate you taking the time to add photos to your review.

One small correction, the room includes a Queen bed and Single bed, not a double and single.

We don't advertise these rooms as having a view for the reasons you have described. Many guests do appreciate the Balcony as it is a nice place to sit and relax and take in some fresh Albany air.

For those wanting more of a view we have rooms one level up from these which look over the back of the old town to the harbour and wind turbines beyond.

I look forward to welcoming you back if you are travelling this way again.

All my best,
Ubik.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We had two nights here and the rooms are adequate and clean. Jan was lovely and very helpful and gave us great advice where to visit and eat. The location is excellent as the CBD is 100m away and plenty of pubs and cafes to choose from.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveG2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbanyMotel, General Manager at Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our motel. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

You have highlighted the 2 areas which are most important to us. Cleanliness and Customer Service, both of which I can attribute to our hard working staff.

It is a pleasure to be able to assist our guests when they are travelling. We aim to offer good quality local information tailored to the needs of our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Ubik.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

As Per as per a lot of motels in Albany the building is quite old, but it is being renovated room by room. I have stayed here 6 times this year & each time a different room. Some better than others, but I always chase the cheapest price at the motel. Good value for clean rooms with good showers. The location is one block from the main street & 2 blocks from the new Entertainment Centre.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbanyMotel, General Manager at Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. It is always very good to get a warm review from a regular guest. I am glad you highlighted our showers, they are strong and hot. These are so important to us all but often overlooked in the assessment of a motel.

We are continuing our refurbishment room by room and hope to continue to fulfil your needs.

I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Ubik Freeman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stayed here with a mate for one night, in a two room suite. I gather the room we were in was one of those yet to be renovated, because it seemed pretty average - I guess what I'd expect from a local motel, but I wouldn't call it 3 1/2 star as advertised on the website (and the price wasn't exactly cheap). Never the less, it was clean at least.

The 2nd bedroom seemed like it was missing powerpoints (or at least they were hidden behind the bed, where you couldn't get to them), so if you have a laptop or phone you'd like to charge, you'll have to leave those in the other room. For a modern traveller, this is somewhat annoying ... there is also just one TV, in the main room. I guess the two room suite is meant for a family with young children rather than two mates sharing the suite.

Short walk to some nice local restaurants and pubs, and parking was free.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andypf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbanyMotel, General Manager at Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review of our two bedroom suite. You are correct that this room has yet to be fully renovated. We are working hard to finish our renovation program by the end of this year.

We care greatly about the value of our accommodation to our guests. As well as our prime location in town which you have noted, we also offer many facilities and services with no added cost, such as, free high speed WIFI, digital large screen TVs and in-house movies. Added to this are our meticulously clean rooms and well trained customer service staff.

I like your point regarding the powerpoints in the second room. You are right that for modern travel this is becoming much more important. I will review the powerpoints in these rooms and make this a priority when we renovate this room later this year. I will also review getting another television in the second room as I think this is a good idea as well.

Kind Regards,
Ubik Freeman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.9 mi away
Ace Motor Inn
Ace Motor Inn
#7 of 13 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Albany
Comfort Inn Albany
#9 of 13 in Albany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.4 mi away
Country Comfort Amity Motel Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Emu Point Motel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Dog Rock Motel
Dog Rock Motel
#4 of 13 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Suites Banksia Gardens Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments

Property: Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments
Address: 41 Frederick St, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments is located in the centre of Albany, a scenic coastal regional town 400km south of Perth in the Great Southern of WA. This Albany accommodation features 3.5 star AAA-rated rooms which cater for families, couples and the business travelers alike. It boasts of being the only motel situated in town with rooms on the top level and apartments with views overlooking the Princess Royal Harbour and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing