We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location very central” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Albany
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Location very central”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

As Per as per a lot of motels in Albany the building is quite old, but it is being renovated room by room. I have stayed here 6 times this year & each time a different room. Some better than others, but I always chase the cheapest price at the motel. Good value for clean rooms with good showers. The location is one block from the main street & 2 blocks from the new Entertainment Centre.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbanyMotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. It is always very good to get a warm review from a regular guest. I am glad you highlighted our showers, they are strong and hot. These are so important to us all but often overlooked in the assessment of a motel.

We are continuing our refurbishment room by room and hope to continue to fulfil your needs.

I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Ubik Freeman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    139
    57
    17
    7
See reviews for
43
116
15
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stayed here with a mate for one night, in a two room suite. I gather the room we were in was one of those yet to be renovated, because it seemed pretty average - I guess what I'd expect from a local motel, but I wouldn't call it 3 1/2 star as advertised on the website (and the price wasn't exactly cheap). Never the less, it was clean at least.

The 2nd bedroom seemed like it was missing powerpoints (or at least they were hidden behind the bed, where you couldn't get to them), so if you have a laptop or phone you'd like to charge, you'll have to leave those in the other room. For a modern traveller, this is somewhat annoying ... there is also just one TV, in the main room. I guess the two room suite is meant for a family with young children rather than two mates sharing the suite.

Short walk to some nice local restaurants and pubs, and parking was free.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andypf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbanyMotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review of our two bedroom suite. You are correct that this room has yet to be fully renovated. We are working hard to finish our renovation program by the end of this year.

We care greatly about the value of our accommodation to our guests. As well as our prime location in town which you have noted, we also offer many facilities and services with no added cost, such as, free high speed WIFI, digital large screen TVs and in-house movies. Added to this are our meticulously clean rooms and well trained customer service staff.

I like your point regarding the powerpoints in the second room. You are right that for modern travel this is becoming much more important. I will review the powerpoints in these rooms and make this a priority when we renovate this room later this year. I will also review getting another television in the second room as I think this is a good idea as well.

Kind Regards,
Ubik Freeman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Recently our extended family stayed one night in a refurbished 3 bedroom apartment at the Best Western in Albany. Great apartment - spacious and well appointed, especially as we had two couples and two teenagers in tow. Central location within walking distance of some good dining and pub options in Alabny. We all wished we had booked for a second night and would certainly stay there again. Scruffer 2.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casahonky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbanyMotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our newly renovated 3 bedroom apartment. It has been very exciting for us to give this very popular apartment a new and modern upgrade. A couple of guests mentioned that the fridge was a little loud so we have replaced this with a new unit as well.

We have been working on renovations throughout the motel and will have done every room by the end of the year.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Ubik Freeman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here only one night as we arrived at 11pm. The rooms are ok very basic and at least pretty clean.bathroom was very old but refreshed and clean. Wouldn't stay long term if you like comfort and a bit of luxury. They do have two inhouse movie channels for free which we thought was good.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MRBAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our motel. Cleanliness is of the highest priority to us and I am happy we can keep these standard high for all our guests. I am also glad that you were able to use our late check-in service and free in-house movie channels.

We have an extensive refurbishment program for all the rooms in our motel. The bathrooms in our ground floor rooms are yet to be done. We have completed 60% of the motel rooms and will be finishing the program by the end of the year.

We hope you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards,
Ubik Freeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

Our huge group of travelers stayed in 2 apartments for 2 nights. The 3-bedroom apartment is located on the same area as the reception while the 2-bedroom one, which is in fact a house, is located just across the street. Both apartments are spacious and the kitchens are well equipped. The bigger apartment has a washing machine but no dryer. There are ample parking spaces.

The location of the establishment couldn't be more ideal. It is just minutes to the Albany CBD by foot and the IGA supermarket and the Rivers clearance store are just around the corner. The Princess Royal Harbour is also within walking distance.

Some points to note:
a) the bathroom and toilet doors have no locks so remember to knock first in case someone's in there taking a shower or clearing the bowel.
b) the apartments are not serviced daily (not sure about the motel rooms though) and bath towels are not replaced but you could exchange for fresh ones at the reception.
c) if you intend to pay for your accommodation in cash, you will need to do so in full amount at check in plus a refundable deposit of $100 (if I remember correctly).

Room Tip: The 2-bedroom apartments across the main property at Frederick St provide for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAAlbany, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Jonathan,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and sharing the experience of your stay. We have taken on your comments and installed internal locks on the bathroom and toilets in our apartments. We think this will be of benefit to our guests in the future.
Thank you for your suggestion and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Kind Regards,
Ubik Freeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulladulla, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Motel room was well presented, clean and tidy.
Bed comfortable and sufficient accessories in room to prepare your basic breakfast.
You could not find a more central located Motel to commence your exploration of Albany.
Only one warning, which has nothing to do with the Motel and that's the price of a pint at the nearby Hotels, $10.00 a pint (AKA Schooner) @$&*@$% ...... it makes a New South Welchman cringe, fortunately some good local wines are available at reasonable prices.
Don't pass this Motel by, well worth a stay.

Room Tip: All rooms appear good, some require climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

My husband & I stayed in one of the older rooms, so nothing flash but it was comfy & clean. Fantastic location - in walking distance to lots of shops and restaurants and also nearby to the info centre.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hitch22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.9 mi away
Ace Motor Inn
Ace Motor Inn
#7 of 13 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Albany
Comfort Inn Albany
#8 of 13 in Albany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.4 mi away
Country Comfort Amity Motel Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dog Rock Motel
Dog Rock Motel
#4 of 13 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Suites Banksia Gardens Albany
3.5 mi away
Emu Point Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments

Property: BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments
Address: Cnr Frederick and Spencer Streets, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments is located in the centre of Albany, a scenic coastal regional town 400km south of Perth in the Great Southern of WA. This Albany accommodation features 3.5 star AAA-rated rooms which cater for families, couples and the business travelers alike. It boasts of being the only motel situated in town with rooms on the top level and apartments with views overlooking the Princess Royal Harbour and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing