We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Balneaire Seaside Resort
Nearby Hotels
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$93
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Comfort Amity Motel Albany(Albany)(Great Value!)
$81
$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ace Motor Inn(Albany)(Great Value!)
$73
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dog Rock Motel(Albany)(Great Value!)
$111
$105
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emu Point Motel & Apartments(Albany)(Great Value!)
$78
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveler rating
18
17
3
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
17
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmiddleton beachthe kitchenshort walkfantastic stayratsupstairstilecafesunitfridgetoilet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 40 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Plus Points: Near the beach, in a quiet area with a five minute drive or thirty minute walk into town, decent walks in the local area, though not overly taxing if you are feeling a bit lazy! Reasonably equipped chalets with pretty much everything you need to cook with during your stay, big flat screen tv with freeview channels and that's about it really.

Minus Points: Reverse cycle air on not producing any heat (it was a cold and wet weekend) meaning the chalet had a damp feeling including the towels bedclothes etc, it also meant we could not dry our wet outdoor clothes.
Despite a warning that leaving dirty kitchen equipment dirty on departure would potentially attract a surcharge, our glasses and plates were all dirty anyway, I wonder if the previous occupants copped a fine? And why didn't the cleaners clean them?
Kitchen table filthy with grease smears and old food stains covering it. This also applied to the coffee table in the living area.
The fridge was just about clean with the freezer section needing defrosted.
The floor had not been cleaned with leaves everywhere.
The bedding was damp.
Old style counter-panes on top of the beds with sheets and a single blanket sandwiched between them. The counter-panes smelt faintly of sweat and BO.
Hasn't this "resort" heard of doonas?
My absolute pet hate of hair/s pubic and other types in the shower and shower area.

On departure we did mention the air con but the old man at reception was convinced that it was us who were not using it properly despite us having lived in some of the hottest countries in the world during our lives and using many different a/con units whilst there.

The last thing is the rip off cafes and shop that are situated outside the resort.

We live in Perth and are used to the ridiculous price that eating and drinking out costs, but make sure you shop before you arrive here since eating/shopping/drinking will leave you penniless if you purchase anything from these outlets.

Room Tip: We think the chalets on the opposite side of the road to reception would be best for a quieter experience and probably better for children too.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balneaire, Owner at Balneaire Seaside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

We at Balneaire always welcome helpful comments and suggestions. If contacted about any issue, the response is immediate. Apartments all have phones and quests need only to lift the handset and dial "9" to report any issue and receive an immediate response. No business can exist without legitimate complaints but it is how the issue is resolved that counts, if issues go unreported timeously, while the guest is still present, we cannot remedy the issue and most reasonable folk speak up pretty soon if things do not live up to their expectations or to their liking.

It is difficult to know who exactly the reviewer is since they don't give any indication. I do recall someone, on departure mentioning that the "Reverse Cycle" airconditioner wasn't working. Had they called or notified us, we'd have attended to it in minutes. No mention was made of any other issues, including the irrelevant ones relating to the expensive cafe's over which we have no control.

Regarding damp bedding, all our linen is laundered by a professional laundry, Zenith. Often sheets are still hot when they arrive hot off the ironing presses.

Leaves drop from the beautiful London Plane trees, which add to the Balneaire atmosphere, all the year around but more particularly in autumn. These can adhere to guests shoes and be carried inside. To say the floor was not clean does not tie up with the technique used by our cleaning staff who start from the kitchen area and work backwards until they reach the entrance and then lock the door, So not even their foot prints remain. While on the subject of the floor, is the reviewer referring to the pavers outside where there will ALWAYS be leaves?

There are different styles of bedmaking and some use doonas while other still use blankets and sheets. There are always additional blankets in the cupboards if needed. Yes we do plan to adopt the more modern trend in the near future.

On the question of the earlier comment regarding our small laminated sign requesting guests to "leave the kitchen in a tidy and clean state", this is standard proceedure with many motels who have large signs to make their statement, not the small one like we display. It is more of a reminder to try and co-operate than anything else. Yes, a penalty is mentioned as is the case with numerous places where I have stayed, but with MOST guests co-operating, this has never been applied. Often our staff find that guests wash the crockery etc. but pack them away wet and so the cleaning staff, always check and inspect the crockery before finishing the kitchen.

I happen to be the "old man" who has been here for 8 years now and we pride ourselves in prompt responses to any requests or suggestions. Often people ask us for assistance with the Reverse Cycle airconditioners and almost always the issue is regadrib the "mode selection" on the remote, as was found in this case. i.e. select "heat" or "cool" then temperature. I have driven many cars in my life, but sometimes I have needed someone to tell me how to remove the key or how to open the fuel cap in the more modern cars. I'm always willing to learn.

I'm sorry that the weekend was cold and wet, we certainly also prefer the warmer sunny days but we have no control over that.

For all our guests, the communication channels are always open.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Balneaire Seaside Resort is a taste of France in Albany, Western Australia. It is just meters from Albanys Middleton Beach and the unique Boardwalk along Princess Royal Harbour entrance on Mt. Adelaide. There is even a statue of Kemal Ataturk because it was from here that thousands of Australians left to go to the slaughter at Gallipoli. The resort itself is true to the French theme with it's design, colours, fountains, signs and atmosphere. Jack and Ruth, the folks who run it are totally dedicated to making your stay comfortable and especially memorable. All the staff seem happy, cooperative and dedicated. The units are self contained two bedroom apartments with the bedrooms upstairs. You even park your car in your own carport. The apartments are tastefully and beautifully finished and furnished, even down to your own washing machine and iron. Staying here will make Albany a favourite destination.

Room Tip: The rooms are all exactly the same. Book early to secure one.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed in one of the 3 bedroom townhouses in Feb '13 and were very comfortable indeed. Main bedroom had it's own TV. Towels were nice and hairdryers were provided in both bathrooms. The kitchen has a laundry cupboard with washer and dryer. There is also a clothes line outside. I can confidently say that the photos posted on trip advisor are a true reflection of the accommodation. It is a short walk to the beach and just recently a very nice cafe/corner store, tapas bar and gift shop have opened across the road. The name is a misnomer though since there is nothing about the property that would classify it as a resort. The only common area facilities are a BBQ. It would be better named the Middleton townhouses. It is a fair drive from the center of town so a car is a necessity. Beautiful big trees and shady gardens.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedroandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were very pleased to find Balneairs was clean and spacious we'd had two awful nights in a filthy hole up the road. The manager Jack was very helpful and pleasant to deal with. It was on the pricey side for two people but it would be very reasonalbe for a party of four or a family. Gardens kept beautifully

Room Tip: We had a mid terrace room and there was some noise from tenants on either side. It was number 22 but it did have seaviews and we were off the main road. I am sure the main road would be quiet at night but I don't like to take chances.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gapyeargrannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had visitors from the UK so decided to go to Albany. Only stayed overnight unfortunately, it was in a beautiful location. The unit we had slept 4 people. It was immaculate, with everything you needed. The beds were very comfy. We would have liked to stay longer but only had limited time. We would stay there again and will recommend to family and friends

Linda

Perth WA

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews