We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, family dining” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vancouver Street Cafe

Vancouver Street Cafe
Ranked #1 of 6 Coffee & Tea in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Vancouver Street Cafe, is a quaint corner store serving good food and coffee in a relaxed atmosphere. In house baking and seasonal produce
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Friendly, family dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

In November 2013 we spent 4 weeks in and around Albany in Australia, visiting this café/store on several occasions in that time. We were told that it is typically 'Ozzy' in its approach, and if you want to enjoy a typical Ozzy mealtime, then you should go and visit it, for breakfast, lunch or dinner, and yes pretty well everything else in between. I believe that they do close around 4pm some days, so just check to make sure. Some evenings they also have free entertainment whilst you eat. Be aware it gets busy, so you will need to book. A great place, good food, friendly staff, what more could you want?

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenjo018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    62
    14
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good for a break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Good food, great coffee and friendly atmosphere created by the staff. Very relaxing and popular with locals. Back room for small groups or meetings.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KenM1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love, love, love!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I wish I lived in Albany so I could eat brekky here everyday! Amazing food, great atmosphere and lovely service! I ordered the half portion of the mega breakfast and it was massive and delicious! Everyone at the table was very happy with their food. They also sell art, jewelry and other goods from local vendors. I bought a beautiful bracelet that I am in love with! Such a great experience, I would highly recommend this cafe to anyone visiting or living in Albany.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A cosy haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is my favourite place to eat out in Albany. The atmosphere is friendly and warm and well appreciated by the regulars as well as visitors to town. The menu is interesting, varied and cosmopolitan. Prices are very reasonable and service always with a welcoming smile. Great local artwork and handcrafts for sale so there is always something to check out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ksigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Friendly, helpful and fabulously hearty food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Always visit this cafe when ever we are visiting Albany, the service and special treatment from staff are a delight to hold. There is always a new cake or two to try and the coffee is to die for. We have often had family gatherings for breakfasts and everyone needs a walk after as the servings are more than adequate. Overall, I would recommend you take a visit and enjoy the hospitality of the wonderful people who treat you so well. WELL done to all involved! Especially Alison the owner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SHARPER20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vancouver Street Cafe also viewed

Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 
Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 
Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 

Been to Vancouver Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing