We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Thai food!”

Siam Orchid Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 108 Restaurants in Williamstown
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai food!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My first evening in Melbourne and it couldn't have started any better! This place gets busy compared to the other restaurants along Nelson St on a Friday and Saturday evening in Williamstown. Clearly the locals know a good place when they see it.
The service by the waitresses was fast, very polite and they are very informative when questioned on the ingredients, spice levels etc.
I had the Goong Med Mamuang (stir fried prawns with cashew nuts and thai spices) with a bowl of Jasmine rice and it left me feeling completely satisfied! My two friends also really enjoyed their chosen dishes and one of them said they are a regular of the place, which is why they had taken us here.
Would highly recommend this place to lovers of Thai food in Melbourne.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shortiee31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    23
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quality food and great service”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice Thai. Accommodating for kids. Convenient to Quest hotel across the road. Prices are reasonable and portions are good too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bewo1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always Perfect!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I travel 30 mins each way to eat at this amazing restaurant! The staff are amazingly friendly and always remember a face - we have been eating here for at least 3 years and they know us by name and ask if we need to book a table when it approaches to myself and my families birthdays (which they've remembered themselves!!).

The food is always amazing - whether you like spicy, mild or anything in between. The prices are nothing but reasonable and for the location of this restaurant, right on the water, they could easily charge more.

If travelling for an hour to get a take away doesn't express my love for this restaurant then maybe you just can't be convinced! AMAZING!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
866 reviews
346 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
“Traditional Thai food in an A1 spot”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

There are more up market restaurants around Williamstown but for tasty Thai food at a reasonable price, BYO wine with good service you can't go past this Thai cafe

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank croftonMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Losing it's appeal”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

This place once had the best food in Willi, not any more We were very disappointed with our meal. The tastes have been toned down catering for the western palate. Not spicy at all, the phad Thai noodles were especially bland. You could easily make a better curry at home.

get a table away from the door, it can get very breezy.
We also Tried take away and the results disappointing. We would recommend cooking at home.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FSEMario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siam Orchid Restaurant also viewed

Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
 
Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
 

Been to Siam Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing