We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb ambience and food”
Review of Strand Restaurant

Strand Restaurant
Reserve with
Strand Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 107 Restaurants in Williamstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Superb ambience and food”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The reviews we read on Trip Advisor had us a little concerned when they mentioned lengthy waits for food. Our two males are not the patient types. However, the reality is that this is an excellent high quality seafood restaurant, brilliant views, friendly,knowledgable service and perfectly prepared food.
No, this is not a fast food eatery, it's a place to relax and really enjoy a night out with friends.
Cannot fault Strand restaurant

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jlsanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    30
    18
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
940 reviews
412 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 541 helpful votes
“This is an excellent place for the food ad the view”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

One of my favourite places in Melbourne to eat. It has a wonderful menu with some great selections. If you book early enough too, you can get a window side seat that will afford you amazing views of the city of Melbourne and depending on the time of the year you can watch the sun set across the city. Worth it every time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HiddenCaviar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and very prompt service given peak time of year”
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Had a seafood starter of salt & pepper calimari, very tender and well presented. Main was the seafood marinara, had requested no mussels , staff obliged by adding additional prawns and fish . Great meal all round.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SDB1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
857 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
“Up market but surroundings are sterile”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

p market restaurants in Williamstown and charges accordingly, the food is good but there is no warmth or atmosphere in the staff or surroundings.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank croftonMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
126 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Extremely Poor Service.”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I spent my 40th Birthday here with a small group of friends and family. The view was amazing but sadly that's where it all stopped. WE waited over an hour for our main courses. Most of the table were starving by the time they came out. Drinks were never offered, dirty plates stayed on the table for ages and overall it was a shambles. The excuse was that they were 'fully booked'. I have never heard of such a ridiculous statement.

When the cake was brought out we didnt even have any cutlery. My guests were eating with their fingers when the waitress came over with a fork. I heard one of them say 'its too late for that'. How embarrassing. This restaurant also charge a $35.00 (would you believe) CAKE FEE! They did not charge this to our table due to the fact that they did not dress the cake in ribbon as requested, provide a knife for cutting the cake or serve cutlery with the cake!!!

They also do not do sparkling wine by the glass and a Piccalo is $14!!!

Our bill was exorbitant but our experience here was NOT. Save your money and your time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank T0RTIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strand Restaurant also viewed

Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
 
Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
 
Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
 

Been to Strand Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing