We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Greek food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Remvi By The Bay

Remvi By The Bay
Reserve with
Remvi By The Bay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 107 Restaurants in Williamstown
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Greek food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

good hearty food and great atmosphere. dips were home made and the lamb cooked to perfection. very romantic

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Therese N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    29
    11
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious greek food, lovely restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Restaurant is quite nice and simply decorated. White tablecloths and pictures of Greece adorning the walls.
We couldn't bypass the plate of dips for entree. 5 different flavours - tarama (fish roe) - lovely pale pink colour, unlike the bulk made stuff from supermarket that probably has some horrid pink colouring in it, flavour was subtle but tasty, tzatziki - one of my favourites. Flavour was perfectly balanced. Eggplant dip - sometimes the smokiness of the eggplant can be too strong but this was beautifully balanced, skordalia - never had this one before and we couldn't decide what it was. It is made from potato, garlic, olive oil and vinegar - very moreish! And lastly htiptiti, which is made from fetta cheese, roasted pepper and olive oil - the balance of the pepper and cheese was excellent. The dips were served with freshly made pita bread, which was soft but chewy.
Also had another entree - white bait. Usually I love whitebait but this had quite a sharp fishy flavour - didn't stop me eating it though.
All the mains were served with either baked or mashed potato. I had the lamb cutlets or Paithakia - they were cooked to perfection. The others had the chefs special Arni Lemonato. Lamb cooked in its own juice, lemon juice and oregano/herbs in the oven. The meat was very pale and to me the lemon flavour overpowered the taste of the meat. It was a bit on the bland side. They had it with baked potato (they looked like large wedges) and other veggies.
The paithakia consisted of five lamb cutlets, which had been chargrilled with herbs and served with tzatziki and side salad. The salad was simple greens, red onion, tomato, capsicum.
Too full to have a dessert so next time will have to leave some room as I love baklava!
highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RuBee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cohuna, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to Celebrate any occasion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I had my 50th Birthday party in August 2012, and we wanted to celebrate and have a private room to do so. As I live 3 hours from Melbourne and nearly all the people that were to be invited live in Melbournes west we decided that Remvi would be ideal. We had eaten there a few times and enjoyed it every time. All my contact with them was via telephone and it was hassle free. I told them what I wanted roughly how many people and booked in the Upstairs room which would hold about 40 (you wouldnt want to have any more than that as it would be abit tight). We had the banquet and alcohol package, Everyone loved it, the children had a choice of a kids meal if needed however most of the kids liked what was on offer as did the parents. Could not fault the food or the service. The room was ready for us when we got there 2 long tables set up, you are also free to decorate the room with flowers or candles and bring your own music as they have a CD player. All in all I and all my guestssaid they had a great time and loved the food - So what more could you ask for !!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaps of great food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

We went here for a birthday and we had shared and individual platters. The halloumi was excellent, the whitebait plentiful and the shared platters abundant. The Greek beers were a novelty and we had more food than we could finish. Good value for money, too, with everyone being 'fed and watered' while looking over Hobsons Bay.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Plenty of fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

The food, service and music on a weekend are terrific

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ramsaya2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Remvi By The Bay also viewed

Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
 
Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
Williamstown, Hobsons Bay
 

Been to Remvi By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing