We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful front desk service, very very helpful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Punthill Williamstown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Punthill Williamstown
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful front desk service, very very helpful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

We arrived in Melbourne from Perth at 5am. After collecting a hire car we arrived on their door step around 7am. Check in time is around 2pm but the lady on the front desk assured us that she would do her very best to get us in early, even though they were booked to capacity. To cut a long story short we went away and had some breakfast, after being offered a free breakfast at the apartments, and then returned at 10am to find they had our room ready for us. We had flown into town for a concert and needed some sleep that afternoon. Amazing service, I couldn't fault them on that.
The apartment was fantastic, clean, good amenities and very spacious. The stud frame walls did mean that there was a bit of external noise (garbage trucks and boat fog horns) as well as the internal noises coming from other apartments (doors closing, plumbing etc) but we could live with those very small inconveniences. My partner and I found the mattress was pretty soft but again for just three nights it was okay.
Again, the front desk staff made our stay a pleasure !!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tennesseezip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    42
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
41
2
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

We found the apartments were in a very convenient location, right in the shopping area and adjacent to the beachside restaurant strip. The 1 brm apartment was spotlessly clean, modern and well designed.
The managers went out of their way to be helpful and friendly, and we would definitely choose to stay here on our next visit to Victoria.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingAussies22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

I stayed here previously and overall was happy and thats why I booked again with my younger son. Our room overall was clean with the exception of under the bed - now I know that sounds pedantic but, kids drop things under beds and they shouldn't come out covered in fluff. The carpet is chocolate brown and when you sit on the lounge you can see clear under the bed, dust bunnies and all. Last time I was in a 2 bedroom apartment and didn't notice any noise from doors opening and closing but in a studio this time I heard doors constantly and it woke both of us numerous times.

The TVs are still not digital so you are stuck with the 5 analogue free to air channels and 3 fox sports channels (not everyone is into sport you know) - this is clearly unacceptable with at least 14 digital free to air channels now in operation.

Reception was unmanned at 1500 - we had to press an intercom and wait for someone to turn up. Same again when we checked out at 0900 so I left the swipe cards on the counter. When the receptionist did make an appearance he was outside the window facing the reception desk smoking (bad form to smell of cigaret smoke these days).

These are small issues that are easily rectified if they care - if they don't, well it's their business.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapunda, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

We only stayed one night, and had a 2 bedroom apartment, which turned out to be a one bedroom apt with loungeroom and fully functioning kitchen/laundry and an ajacent single room apt. Which was fine. Very large modern rooms. Nice bathrooms. Fantastic location with heaps of free parking under the complex.
We arrived early knowing the room wouldnt be ready, but an hour later after coffee and a wander around the shops of Williamstown we were settled in.
Whilst we didnt stay long, the service from the staff was great, very welcoming and helpful with local info for places to eat and shop.
I always write if I'd be happy to stay there again - its worth a good review. Would I stay at Punthill Williamstown again - for sure.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

Just spent one night here in a one bedroom apartment, very well appointed & comfy. Quiet no street noise. Staff helpful on checking in & out. Got a great deal being on Punt Hills email list. Fantastic value. Very confortable & deck off lounge area, makes for a feeling of spaciousness

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for one night and we were very happy with the accommodation. Punthill is located in a main shopping strip and close to the beach. The room was clean, comfortable and well presented. The bedroom is separated from the bathroom and main living area which a=had a kitchenette. Glass doors opened through to a balcony overlooking the shopping strip.

The room was quiet and it was a very pleasant short break/getaway for us.

There is undercover parking which we took advantage of and we left the car there after checking out, picking it up late in the day after ding a few touristy things.

Plenty of eateries close by.

Service at reception was friendly and efficient.

I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

I was upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment after booking a 1 bedroom. The rooms were very spacious and well appointed with one major exception. There was a large TV (not HD ready so no extra free to air channels) in the lounge and then a wall mounted TV (again no Digital TV) in the 2nd bedroom where the twin beds were located. No TV in the main bedroom. I slept in one of the twin beds so I could watch TV in bed (I always sleep with the TV on when away). Other than needing a good floor to ceiling clean (by this I mean, top of door frames, exhaust fans, dryer cavity) it was surface clean and suitable. As for the previous comments about the manager at reception - I found the husband and wife both very approachable, chatty and knowledgeable about the local area. Am considering taking the family back - but not in footy season unless they get HDTV. Oh and the gym is hopeless.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
Middle Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middle Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Quest Sanctuary Lakes
#1 of 2 in Point Cook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Quality Suites D’Olive
#2 of 2 in Point Cook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
Punthill South Yarra Grand
Punthill South Yarra Grand
#72 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Captains Retreat
#1 of 5 in Williamstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Williamstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Williamstown

Property: Punthill Williamstown
Address: 4-18 Ferguson St, Williamstown, Hobsons Bay, Victoria 3016, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Hobsons Bay > Williamstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Williamstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Punthill Williamstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punt Hill Hotel Williamstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing