We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Quiet Getaway”

Bed and Breakfast at Stephanie's
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed and Breakfast at Stephanie's
Ranked #3 of 5 Williamstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We spent two nights at Stephanie's and thoroughly enjoyed it. Beautiful old heritage building with lots of original features. Spacious rooms, spotlessly clean, enormous king bed plus all the mod cons, large tv and wireless internet. Breakfast served in the breakfast room each morning. Extremly quiet location, didn't realize we were staying with other guests. Easy access to all Williamstown restaurants or take the nearby strain to the city.
Will be back.

Room Tip: Check out the photosnon the website, they are exactly the same as the rooms, no hidden surprises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UndineHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 22 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2011

We had a pleasure of staying at Stephanie's for 4 nights recently. The two rooms were huge and very comfortable. Breakfast is served in a lovely light sunlounge and an order is placed the night before a left on the table in the Hall together with your choice of time. This works extremely well and the breakfast was excellent with a varied choice of freshly squeezed orange juice, cereal, choice of cooked breakfast etc.etc. In each room there is a bottle of port and every evening a small bag of chocolate were left - a delightful touch and much appreciated. Stephanies is only a short walk from North Williamstown station where frequent trains go to Melbourne. You can also take a river trip but unfortunately they had stopped for the evening when we arrived to do this. Stephanie and Phillip are great hosts and very welcoming.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexEunie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

I booked a 2 night stay at the Cottage at Stephanie’s through an accommodation website and shortly after I was telephoned and asked if my booking could be transferred to a room in the B&B as the guests in the Cottage had decided to extend their stay. I agreed and was advised that while the management was unable to offer me a reduction in price, I would be receive breakfast and would be given some specials treats for agreeing to the change. After looking at the Stephanie’s website I realized that most rooms had a shower over a cast iron bath which was not suitable for my elderly mother so I phoned to discuss options and was offered the Executive Apartment which had a walk in shower. On check in, after a 5 hour trip, we asked if there was milk in the fridge and found a small carton of UHT milk which was opened and almost empty and immediately removed by the staff member who had showed us to the apartment. A sign on the kitchen wall advised that there was a ‘starter pack’ supplied but in the pantry we only found a selection of groceries, apparently left by previous guests, which included a few assorted tea bags in a jar, an empty but unwashed sugar bowl, an open bag of raw sugar which was 6 months out of date, an even older and emptier bag of white sugar and a jar containing about 2 teaspoons of coffee.
As soon as we went upstairs to the bedroom the smell of mould was very obvious and the room needed to be aired before we could use it however the smell returned every time the room was closed up when we were out. We found the cause of this when we lifted the small mat at the door to the balcony and found serious and obviously longstanding, mould on the carpet, the bottom of the doors and the underside of the mat.
On our first evening we had noticed evidence of old water penetration in the ceiling of the downstairs area and when we returned on the second evening found a substantial puddle of water on the floor and the lounges which we cleaned up and caught overnight with a bucket. When I told Stephanie about the leak on check out, she simply asked if we had put something under the leak. Excuses about not having been able to find the source of the leak despite many attempts didn’t make me feel any better as we had been charged a substantial nightly rate for accommodation which the owner clearly knew to be damaged and unhygenic. I suggested that as the leak was directly under the mould, the source of the leak was pretty obvious.
I think that all travelers accept that sometimes bad weather or exceptional circumstances cause issues beyond management control but in the case of the Executive Apartment at Stephanie’s, these issues are obviously longstanding and not adequately managed. I feel very disappointed to have paid top dollar for accommodation that is in fact a health hazard and should be repaired before it is let further.
On the plus side the bed was very comfortable and the apartment quite spacious.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cmc52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded December 8, 2011

We are so very sorry that we failed this guest. Sometimes you forget that you are not perfect, particularly when hundreds, no not hundreds, thousands of guests just love what we do for them on their stay away from home.
However this type of feedback brings you back to earth because we did let this guest down and we are truly apologetic. We conveyed our apologies to the guest in person on check-out, obviously this was not enough because now the world knows we let her down.
There were two valid points to her objection, firstly the lack of milk which we discovered on check-in but failed to replace. A quick reminder from the guest would have fixed this problem immediately. A second valid point was the mouldy carpet ( a tiny section hard up against double glass doors to the balcony) but it did emit a smell when the apartment was locked up. We have since replaced all of the carpet in the upstairs bedroom and mezzanine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

classic B&B, friendly hosts, good and plentiful breakfast, room was big with kingsize bed. About 5 min walk from williamstown shops and restaurants - which were a really nice surprise, the area hAs a seaside feel even though you can see Melbourne city across the bay.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malimover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 22, 2011

Thank you for your positive feedback, really appreciate it!

Hope to have you back some time in the future, have a really joyous festive season.

Cheers,

Stephanie, Philip and Andrew Merifield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Stayed at Stephanies for two weeks at the end of May 2011 for a holiday to visit some friends who live locally. The B&B and Stephanie were lovely and Stephanie really looked after me - felt like a home away from home. The cooked brekkie each morning was delicious and very relaxing - sitting in front of open fire. Looking forward to staying at Stephanies next time I'm in town :)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadsGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

The room was gorgeous, breakfast delicious and they catered to our strict dietary requirements - best B & B breakfast we've had. Stephanie was the most lovely host. We will definitely be back next time we are in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeyrichey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Looking forward to making a special trip to Australia to visit our 2yr old grand daughter I Booked the Exec Apartment in Nov 2010, paying a weeks rental in advance for a 2week stay in Feb 2011.
We were very shocked and disappointed therefore to find on arrival that the accomodation had been changed without any notification given to Cottage 159 Initially the reason given was that it was" occupied by a regular client who had wished to extend their stay," but when I stated that this was unfair as I had booked in the Nov 2010 ,and that we would not stay in the cottage as it was totally unsuitable for a 2week stay, it was then said that "the Apartment had storm damage so we would not have been able to stay in it anyway".No mention of the Storm was told to my son who had visited Stephanie earlier in the day to pick up the key (as we were arriving later in the evening after a long flight) He was told we were moved because of her regular client.!!!
We never got to see the Apartment, which by the description on her website looks and sounds wonderful,and it had the amenities we were looking for,modern open plan leading to an outside area.The Cottage 159 we did see,and it had none of those amenities,if you like a poor imitation of The Sullivans living room and bedroom (a popular television Australian series set during the second world war,viewed in England in the70,s) this would suit,the rooms are shabby small, with bathroom facilities off the kitchen,with access to the outside off the kitchen.,no actual description of the cottage is given on her website!!!
Trying to get some refund from the monies paid last Nov is proving difficult as her Terms and Conditions are all in her favour,so it has proved a very costly experience as well as making one realise that you cant always trust the person you are dealing with

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank traveller499616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2011

All travellers should be aware of all booking conditions whether they be for Accommodation, car hire or flight details.
Our booking conditions are thorough and well documented on our website.
The particular condition that applied in this circumstance was that " for situations out of our control (terrible flood damage) we will find equivalent accommodation as a replacement"
We were unable to contact Guests who were in transit from UK and arrived 24 hours late without notice. We in fact provided an upgrade to a larger Cottage with extra facilities and it was very unfortunate that this option was not accepted by the Guests.
We fulfilled our obligation as per our booking conditions and we would try our very best to do the same in any future similar circumstance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamstown hotels
0.6 mi away
Captains Retreat
Captains Retreat
#1 of 5 in Williamstown
177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Punthill Williamstown
Punthill Williamstown
#3 of 7 in Williamstown
103 reviews
1 mi away
Quest Williamstown North
Quest Williamstown North
#2 of 7 in Williamstown
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quest Williamstown
Quest Williamstown
#1 of 7 in Williamstown
309 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
North Haven by the Sea B&B
#4 of 5 in Williamstown
5 reviews
0.5 mi away
Simmers Serviced Apartments
Simmers Serviced Apartments
#4 of 7 in Williamstown
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast at Stephanie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast at Stephanie's

Address: 157 Ferguson St, Williamstown, Hobsons Bay, Victoria 3016, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Hobsons Bay > Williamstown
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Williamstown
Price Range: $134 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bed and Breakfast at Stephanie's 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stephanies Cottage and Stephanies Apartment are still here (newly refurbished) and are now managed by Melissa and the team from Captains Retreat (The Stephanie's B&B house has been sold). Now known as 'Stephanies Cottage - courtyard apartment' and 'Stephanies Cottage' - heritage apartment, this delightful Victorian cottage has been divided into two completely separate apartments and have been stylishly decorated by Melissa with fantastically comfortable beds. The front apartment is accessed from Ferguson St. The rear apartment is accessed from Little Ferguson St. Details as follows: Stephanie's Cottage - Courtyard Aparment (1 bedroom): Suitable for single or couple. Delightful 1 bedroom cottage with high ceilings and period features. Separate lounge room. Front veranda with view onto Ferguson St. Queen bedroom. Separate toilet. Separate laundry. Bathroom with separate shower and bath. N.B. No kitchen - but does have small fridge, kettle, microwave, toaster, crockery, cutlery etc. Stephanie's Cottage - Heritage Apartment (1.5 Bedroom): Suitable for single or couple or small family. (N.B. The bathroom is an ensuite so access is via the queen bedroom). Modern 2-storey apartment with paved courtyard garden (can fit one car). Large open kitchen living with French doors onto the courtyard. 1 Queen bedroom with en-suite. Second mezzanine room with twin beds Washing machine. The Stephanies Cottage apartments are half way between the shops and the beach (10 minute walk each way). They are also only a 2-minute walk from Williamstown North Station so it is an easy train ride into the CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bed and Breakfast at Stephanie's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing