We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Accommodation par Excellence”
Review of Captains Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Captains Retreat
Ranked #1 of 5 Williamstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We recently stayed at The Cottage, a gorgeous two bedroom annexe to The Captain's Retreat. With beautifully decorated and very comfortable bedrooms, a quirkily situated bathroom off the lounge room and a tiny but well appointed kitchen, we were captivated by it's ambience. Despite fronting a main road, it was quiet and with the added bonus of being able to use the tranquil back garden of the "Retreat" for a cuppa and the papers, it soothed away city stresses. We were there for a family wedding with the bridal party staying " in house". Both the church and The Strand restaurant where the reception was held were within a short walk. Altogether, both for the bridal party and guests lucky enough to be staying under the " umbrella" of The Captain's Retreat who have two other properties close by, a delightful and most enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: The Cottage for an independent, self contained option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janni821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 175 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Captains Retreat for our wedding weekend. Melissa and her team are so lovely and everything is done with class and elegance. The breakfast is as beautiful as the house itself, the rooms are spacious and stylish. The Captains Suite is stunning and gave us some beautiful photos. Melissa is a wonderful host from start to finish and you can tell she takes a lot of pride in her establishment and it shows!

Room Tip: Britannica Room has a HUGE spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Funkyone77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My fiancée and I stayed on Valentine's Day and were treated like royals.
We stayed in the Captain's Spa Suite Room and had our own private lounge and balcony, where we had a romantic dinner over looking the water and local street.
This place is in an absolutely stunning location!
Melissa and her staff are amazing and cooked us a delicious breakfast, which we then had a little wonder in the down stairs garden.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed with Melissa and her team at the Captain's Retreat for just one night and found it to be an amazing place. The B&B and the apartments are sensational, the public lounge and out door balcony areas are sensational as is the level of service, nothing is too much trouble. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in whilst away from home. Perfect location, close to the bay, beautiful views of the yacht club and so close to wonderful parklands and walking tracks, as well as the huge choice of eateries.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I really scored with my husband by choosing this friendly, intimate B&B by the sea. Melissa, the owner, and her staff were absolutely the best. Food was superb each day as were the lounge and gardens. Not to mention this terrific location where we were picked up at the airport by a driver and therefore never needed to rent a car in our six days since we could walk to the train station to get to the city of Melbourne as well as take the boat ferry over to Melbourne located on the Yarra River. There were so many interesting places to walk and explore; we loved Williamstown which has the very best Information Center we have ever experienced in our world travels.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Nelson Room with access to the lounge and deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gailthesailorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed here in 2003 and as a surprise for my partner I booked to stay again on our last night in Australia. We were really pleased with the alterations that Melissa has made and we had been given an upgrade to the Spa suite. On the hottest day of the year,, with no airconditioning we were given a huge fan for the room. To be honest, the room is very sheltered from the heat, being shaded and we didn't feel uncomfortable at all.
A gorgeous breakfast in the morning too.
If you need a special place to stay in Williamstown, stay here - no kids either. However, Melissa did allow our grandchildren to come in and have a look amd even got out the cream cake for us all. Wonderful!
I hope they get the tree problem sorted too.

Room Tip: Any room is fine and they all have a distinctive charm of their own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSpeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Lovely experience! Stayed in the upstairs Nelson room (no lift but not too many stairs) which was very comfortable and quiet. The ensuite is very small but separated by private hallway which had some wardrobe space for hanging. The hallway goes into the upstairs lounge and balcony area, beautifullly decorated and which we mostly had to ourselves except at breakfast times. Melissa and team were most helpful and gave great service. We would definitely recommend this beautiful B&B especially If you love lovely graceful old buildings.

Room Tip: Lysander and Nelson are the only rooms we know about and these are up a flight of stairs and towards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arrietty01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
5,768 reviews
Punthill Williamstown
#3 of 7 in Williamstown
103 reviews
Quest Williamstown
#1 of 7 in Williamstown
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quest Williamstown North
#2 of 7 in Williamstown
270 reviews
North Haven by the Sea B&B
#4 of 5 in Williamstown
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captains Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captains Retreat

Address: 2 Ferguson St, Williamstown, Hobsons Bay, Victoria 3016, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Hobsons Bay > Williamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Williamstown
Price Range: $147 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Captains Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Captains Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing