We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management”
Review of Captains Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Captains Retreat
Ranked #1 of 5 Williamstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney Australia
1 review
“Management”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Compliments to the management (Melissa) for handling a difficult booking with true style. I am looking forward in the future to staying at one of the delightful properties.
Williamstown is a very interesting place, at the end of a peninsula. Recommend visiting this delightful area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    15
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
89
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dingley Village, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We also recently stayed here as (as part of the group of the 60th birthday) and could not speak highly enough of the very friendly service, luxury accommodation and ambience of this quaint heritage listed property. Melissa and her staff were excellent in ensuring that our stay was pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was great and the gardens beautiful and all in all everyone in our group thoroughly enjoyed their stay.

If your looking for a place to stay around Willy look no further!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcho1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Our family booked out Captains Retreat for a family members 60th birthday.
Melissa went out of her way to accommodated us all, as one family member had recently broken his foot.
From the moment we arrived we were greeted with a huge warm welcome. Our accommodation was magnificent , this B&B is extremely tastefully decorated with quality Decor and furnishings.
The location is brilliant, Williamstown has some beautiful restaurants and cafés not to mention great strip shopping.
Our breakfast was delicious , fresh fruit salad, cereal, yoghurt,tea , coffee, juice and then a hot breakfast with eggs cooked to perfection.
This accommodation was better than any of the 5 star hotels, with the personal touches that made our weekend fabulous.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 68CJWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maffra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My son and I spent 3 nights at the Captains Retreat and enjoyed our stay greatly. Melissa and her staff are lovely, kind and very helpful. A stones throw from the water, a short walk to the restaurant area, shops close by. The back garden is a gorgeous spot to wonder and relax with some views of the West gate and the City. The rooms are spacious, clean and very homely, it was the first time my son has had a spa bath, first time I didn't,t have an argument about having a bath :-) . The kitchenette/lounge area is relaxing and handy, I was able to cook a home cooked meal there for my son and I one of the nights. Some wonderful conventions were had but also some quite times when needed. So do yourself favor when in the Williamstown area and stay at the Captains Retreat.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, we stayed in the Britannica which was right at the front near the road. Though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yackandandah, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the 2 bedroom cottage next door. It was fresh, clean and the beds were really comfy. It had everything you needed apart from a few minor utensils in kitchen. If you are sensitive to traffic noise don't sleep in the front room. After our arrival our host Melissa who was very friendly delivered a basket of breakfast food and some lovely cake. Just across from the water and a 5 mins walk to catch the ferry to Southbank. Minutes away from shops and restaurants. Oh yes and the choice of twinings tea bags was a nice touch. The back courtyard had the biggest cumquat trees I've ever seen. A beautiful well planted garden and a spot to eat your breakfast and listen to the birds.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lBronwyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location. Clean room. Electric blankets were a bonus. Great breakfast. Melissa was very friendly. Would definitely stay again. We stayed in the Lysander room at the back which was nice and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harleymarginwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My partner, daughter and I just spent a Saturday night at Capains Retreat, we stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage, which was beautifully decorated, warm and cozy. Melissa the owner, was delightful and friendly, I would definitely recommend Capains Retreat. Suzie

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 159 in Melbourne
2,036 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#59 of 159 in Melbourne
3,467 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
446 reviews
Punthill Williamstown
#3 of 7 in Williamstown
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captains Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captains Retreat

Property: Captains Retreat
Address: 2 Ferguson St, Williamstown, Hobsons Bay, Victoria 3016, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Hobsons Bay > Williamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Captains Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Captains Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing