We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Captains Retreat a Real Treat!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Captains Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Captains Retreat
Ranked #1 of 5 Williamstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Captains Retreat a Real Treat!!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I booked Captains Retreat through an Internet special deal, primarily because of the location...Williamstown! I hadn't spent anytime in that neck of the woods and always wanted to...so it was the perfect opportunity! I rang Melissa to book our stay and as I was booking for my wedding anniversary, Melissa suggested I upgrade to the Captains Spa Suite! Which takes up the whole top front section of the house, has a private balcony, large private lounge room, huge bathroom with double shower and a spa bath! Having travelled quite extensively and regular weekends away in hotels, this was going to be our first time staying in a "B&B" -so, wasn't sure what to expect! I decided immediately to upgrade and we weren't disappointed!
We arrived a few mins prior to check-in and were greeted warmly by the "lavanya" spa manager (reasonably priced in-house spa treatments available! -bookings strongly recommended) we would have loved to have a treatment but it was fully booked and we didn't know there was a spa there when we booked...oh well...next time!!
One of the main highlights during our stay was Ricky!! Resident Scotsman who we could have just listened to and talked to for hours (which we almost did!) who immediately assisted us with our bags and advised us of best parking option. Ricky made us feel right at home showing us through our HUGE suite (complete with port in the room for those wanting a night cap!) and the Retreat kitchen,(afternoon tea-cakes/slices available for guests to help themselves) dining/lounge and gorgeous balcony!
We later met Melissa who happened to be settling another guest in at the time that I was making myself at home in the kitchen! (Which they recommend!) Melissa made a friendly point of introducing guests to each other which is a nice touch! Another nice touch is the discounts they advise you of for some local restaurants and shops!
We had brought a few provisions with us and enjoyed a bottle of champers and some cheese and bickies on the gorgeous balcony (which shows glimpses of city views) another couple did the same and it was a lovely way to spend the late afternoon.
Even with other people staying in the same vicinity, there was no issue with lack of privacy.
The location is fantastic, walking distance to everything! Pier, shops, restaurants, pubs-Williamstown has it all! Both Ricky and Melissa spoke to us about the many dinner options and we ended up walking down to Pelicans Landing which was a great choice! Next time we will definitely try The Strand (right next door to Captains Retreat!)
Melissa had asked us what time we wanted breakfast in the morning (another nice touch) and she explained Ricky would be cooking for us (Melissa usually cooks but was going to be out for the morning) we joked about having traditional Scots "black pudding" - boy were we impressed! We got to the dining/lounge and were greeted again warmly by Ricky who immediately told us to help ourselves to fruit, juice, cereal and yoghurt...whilst he brewed us a pot of tea and asked what we wanted for breaky and how we wanted it cooked! We enjoyed chatting with Ricky (felt like he was an old friend!) however once he served us breakfast, we had to stop talking, we were too busy tucking in - cooked to perfection!!
The lounge/dining area is homely but decorated lovely with many books to choose from and not to mention the multiple tourism awards they have won, incl a RACV award! Very well deserved! We will be back (I wish we had stayed two nights but they were fully booked - of course!!)
Thank you Melissa and Ricky for introducing us to our first B&B (however, in saying that...I don't see how any others could compare!) we hope to see you again soon!
Cheers!

Room Tip: Upgrade to Captains spa suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatCTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    15
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
25
86
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Black Rock, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

If you want to have a great weekend stay at a 4 star hotel in the city.....if you want a fabulous weekend stay at the Captains Retreat!!
Captains Suite was just outstanding....gloriously appointed.Ensuite includes double spa!
Melissa is the epitome of the perfect host. Breakfast was perfectly prepared and served on the balcony overlooking a classic garden.

Room Tip: The Captains Suite with its own private balcony and large ensuite is ideal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Thank you Melissa for your co-operation, friendliness during my stay with five girl (70yo) friends. We had a wonderful celebration for one of our birthdays and enjoyed the ambience and luxury of our individual rooms with ensuite - everything we needed was provided including a delicious cooked breakfast. We love celebrating with a glass (or more) of wine on the pretty back balcony overlooking the abundance of flowering plants and fruit trees. Morning coffee was also enjoyed in that same spot! Lyell

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

wow! what a beautiful well appointed old building & an awesome location!
The arrival reception & breakfast service was superb - friendly guests also
close to shopping and all the many restaurants
cross the road to be able to wander along the strand - along the water front
many family venues - and a friendly family feel to the town - well worth crossing the bridge and leaving Melbourne for!

Room Tip: all rooms are quite different from each other - the upstairs room is very special!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Captain's Retreat is not only an interesting two-story historic home but is handy to all Williamstown has to offer and oh so comfortable! Melissa the manager and her staff made us feel at home and welcome from the moment the door opened. The attention to detail reminiscent of the period is a lovely experience all round with lovely furnishings and art; all mod cons are there but subtly discreet; thankfully with today's beautiful beds and linen, rest was, I'm sure, more heavenly than the mid 1800's. The delightful garden, upstairs deck (both with eating and seating facilities, flowering plants and visiting 'pet' mudlarks) and relaxing shared space, is as much and more as home could ever provide, including soft music, good books, varietal teas and coffees on hand; and with the personal service at breakfast is all very special... and delicious! For an extra relaxing and renewing experience have an in-house massage with Lisa at Lavanya - heavenly!
Stay a night or two and it will feel like a week's holiday! Sylvia M

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed at the Captains Retreat for a week in Feb. All aspects of this B&B are perfect. Well equipped luxurious bedrooms(stayed in 2 as we unexpectedly extended our stay).Lounge really comfortable and beautiful garden. Breakfast best we had In Australia. Melissa and her staff were helpful and very friendly without being intrusive.Nothing was too much trouble. We are hoping to go back to Aus in March and will be returning to Captains Retreat if we can get in.
Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moama, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We arrived in Williamstown on a Thursday evening expecting accommodation without booking !!! Luckily we stumbled upon the Captains Retreat, a lovely 2 storey terrace house near the bay front. Melissa, the perfect host showed us a couple of rooms, we chose the smaller one out the back which opens onto the rear deck with views of the bay. Went to the restaurant next door (discount because Melissa booked us in - great meal) for dinner and walked back to our room after a few good wines, The comfy, full of character lounge room is also used for breakfast in the morning. Great breakfast and would be perfect in the warmer months on the rear deck. We have already recomended this b&b to several of our friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
Quality Suites D’Olive
#2 of 2 in Point Cook
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#100 of 158 in Melbourne
376 reviews
Middle Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middle Park
233 reviews
Punthill Williamstown
#3 of 7 in Williamstown
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captains Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captains Retreat

Property: Captains Retreat
Address: 2 Ferguson St, Williamstown, Hobsons Bay, Victoria 3016, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Hobsons Bay > Williamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Captains Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Captains Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing