We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last Minute Surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captains Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Captains Retreat
Ranked #1 of 5 Williamstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Moama, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Last Minute Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We arrived in Williamstown on a Thursday evening expecting accommodation without booking !!! Luckily we stumbled upon the Captains Retreat, a lovely 2 storey terrace house near the bay front. Melissa, the perfect host showed us a couple of rooms, we chose the smaller one out the back which opens onto the rear deck with views of the bay. Went to the restaurant next door (discount because Melissa booked us in - great meal) for dinner and walked back to our room after a few good wines, The comfy, full of character lounge room is also used for breakfast in the morning. Great breakfast and would be perfect in the warmer months on the rear deck. We have already recomended this b&b to several of our friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    15
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
25
84
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a beautiful converted terrace house a stone's throw from the water. The host, Melissa, was very helpful, walking to a nearby restaurant to book me a table when their phone was out of order. Very warm and inviting, it has a personal feel with lovely furnishings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the Captains Retreat several times over the last couple of years. Melissa is the host and a great one at that. The building, layout and design of this accommodation if fantastic. The energy and friendliness of the staff are second to none. Ensure that you have breakfast in the morning to maximise the relaxing experience. I have recommended this B&B to my peers and am looking forward to bringing my wife here in the future.

Also, ask Melissa about the history of the establishment as it is very interesting.

Melissa, thanks again for your hospitality and I will see you next time.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LeylandBrothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

I bought a voucher to stay at Captains Retreat with my mum and upon arrival we were treated like royalty & felt wonderful the whole time we were there, only stayed one night in the captains suite, which was furnished to perfection, we felt so classy & elegant during our stay. My mum just loved the furnishings & decor, everything is perfect, most of all the bed was super soft and instantly comfortable so we slept like angels...breakfast next morning in our pyjamas was so relaxing and food was divine with exceptional friendly host that makes you feel special from the minute we arrived here. I would recommend this place to everyone I see....superb!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sharyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Captains Retreat last weekend.Superbly furnished in old world warmth and charm.The owner was a friendly to us, the rooms are beautifully decorated, the bathroom was also immaculate. We have stayed in many places here and overseas and I can say the mattress was the most comfortable we have ever slept on.We thoroughly recommend this lovely B & B.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for the Enterprise Room. Gas log fire etc and glimpses of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

My wife and I travelled down to Melbourne for a sporting event and looked for places to stay booked the captains retreat and what an amazing stay we had, Melissa couldn't do enough for us on checkin and Aunt Marie looking after us the next day with Breakfast and just a great person who you would think you have known forever, the rooms are amazing and very clean, great location right on the water would recommend this place to anybody and will be back again one day.

Cathy & Adrian

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed at Captain's Retreat over night when I had commitments in the evening and early the following morning. My only complaint is about myself! Why didn't I take the time to stay longer and enjoy the beautiful and serene accommodation on offer? I will go back. It is a place that I would enjoy for a romantic getaway or for a weekend with friends. The interior decoration is exquisite and interesting and the staff are welcoming and thoughtful. Enjoy the home baked cake just asking to be eaten!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaritaNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
Middle Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middle Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Quality Suites D’Olive
#2 of 2 in Point Cook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#100 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Punthill Williamstown
#3 of 7 in Williamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captains Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captains Retreat

Property: Captains Retreat
Address: 2 Ferguson St, Williamstown, Hobsons Bay, Victoria 3016, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Hobsons Bay > Williamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Captains Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Captains Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing