We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for the entire family!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Coco Loco Resort
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We had the pleasure of renting a cabana w/our two young children (5 and 7) and we couldn't have been more pleased. The kids made lots of friends, and the owners/staff are incredibly kid-friendly. The kids even participated in yoga class w/mom while I got to surf. The sunset Volley-ball games are a great way to wrap up a day of surf, adventure and fun. The food was excellent and the beach in front perfect for swimming or beginner surfing. There's lots to do in and around, as well.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
Thank stevet2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 107 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2011

Great staff, charming volunteers and clean facilities all enhance the experience. World class waves and other passtime possibilites including fishing, riding and sharing with the locals. I even had the manicure/pedicure. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank half2track
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

El Coco Loco is the epitome of relaxation in the Nicaraguan sunshine! A remote location on a pristine beach combine to make this resort an absolute treasure. The staff are friendly and courteous; the cabanas are clean and comfortable; the food is fresh, mouth watering and plentiful; and the beach...incredible! Whether it's yoga on the sand, horseback riding through the local trails, surfing the friendly waves, or just chilling in a hammock as the tropical breeze sways you to sleep, El Coco Loco is the ideal escape!

This resort will bring adventurous travellers back to the basics, allowing for a true appreciation of its natural surroundings. The owners of El Coco Loco have taken care to design a beautifully landscaped resort which still highlights the exotic flora and fauna of the area. Though the cabanas are sparse, you wouldn't need more. And if the idea of using an outhouse makes you squeamish, be prepared to be surprised: the composting toilets were nothing but clean, well supplied, and not creepy at all like most common outhouses! Similarly, the outdoor showers were clean and private, and showering under the open sky became one of my favorite daily activities!

As long as you are not expecting a bell boy, room service and a valet, El Coco Loco is an ideal spot for a getaway out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank squicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

El Coco Loco is a sweet retreat in the hot heat of Nicaragua. We went with a group of 9, which made the trip that much better. Lots of us to play volleyball, bocce, ping pong and yoga. We had a great time learning how to surf with Holly Beck and everyone was able to catch a few waves. The surf is great for beginners. Afternoons were filled with reading books, drinking rum punch and a good hammock nap.

The food is delicious with meals like lasagna, chicken tacos, red snapper and fresh lobster tail. Always a vegetarian option. The staff is great and El Coco Loco employs locals who are wonderful and may help you learn a little spanish too!

Accommodation is cute cottage-style cabanas, but make sure to get the staff to put up a bug net to keep out the mosquitos. The outdoor showers are so refreshing in the hot heat of the afternoon. Just a small distance from the ocean, every morning we woke to the sound of waves crashing - an amazing way to start your day.

Great time - we'll be back again!

Stephanie - Waterloo, ON

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanieClairmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

This place is incredible. For all those that want to try surfing, and feel like your on a real surf trip/adventure... this is the place. Holly Beck is there sometimes for lesson, the breaks are gentle and forgiving (not to mention EMPTY) for beginners. The resort is extremely rustic and eco-friendly but has a nice touch of class and charm. The food is fresh and amazing every day. The people and staff are friendly and laid back. Sunsets are among the best in the world. Day trips are available for more adventure or just lay on the beach. This place ROCKS!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConcreteJungleCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

As our first stop along the Pacific Coast of Nicaragua, I can't think of a more perfect and beautiful place to stay and unwind. The beauty and simplicity of this place is perfect to help you unwind and just chill out whether at the beginning or end of your trip. And depending on what you’re looking for could easily be your whole trip. The facilities are perfect in everyway, environmentally conscious and comfortable. The staff at this location are happy and always smiling, making it so incredibly easy to let go and feel as though you are at home. Our host at the time (Ben) was absolutely amazing, taking care of us and ensuring our stay was excellent. From taking care of retrieving our lost luggage to introducing us to other opportunities in the area. The beach is breath taking, surrounded by a small local farm that somehow makes it feel like such local experience. Surfing, boogie boarding or chillin in a hammock, eating delicious food and knowing that part of the money you spend goes to an incredible charity "Waves of Hope" makes this an excellent choice. I would recommend this to everyone going to Nicaragua, as it is remembered as the highlight of my trip. Will return with friends!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne_Robichaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

This place is amazing! Opened only a few weeks ago, these boys from the US and Canada are spot on! Great location, 2 minutes from the beach, surrounded by world class surfspots in the peace and quiet of Nicaragua's pacific coast ( we even spotted super sexy surf champion Holly Beck down there!).

Cute private cabanas and dorms on a large property with its own restaurant and bar, volleyball field, and a soccer field, pool and community vegetable garden in the making.

The most impressive thing about this place is the environmental and social work the owners are doing through their community development program called "Waves Of Hope". All proceeds from surfboard rentals and lessons go to this program, which is heavily involved with the local school, providing schooling materials, English classes and environmental education for the local kids and young adults.

The hostal itself also walks the talk, being solar powered, using composting toilets especially imported from Canada, re-use of greywater and much much more.
Have a look at their website!
http://elcocoloconicaragua.com

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCW01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Viejo
18.1 mi away
Redwood Beach Resort
Redwood Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Mechapa
198 reviews
17.9 mi away
Hotel Los Portales
Hotel Los Portales
#1 of 3 in Chinandega
204 reviews
3.8 mi away
Marina Puesta del Sol
Marina Puesta del Sol
#2 of 2 in Aposentillo
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Los Clavos Surf Camp
Los Clavos Surf Camp
#2 of 9 in Chinandega
36 reviews
Show Prices

Been to El Coco Loco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Coco Loco Resort

Address: El Manzano , 1, El Viejo, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Chinandega Department > El Viejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in El Viejo
Price Range: $154 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Loco Eco-Resort is more than just a resort – it is a place to call home, a place to form friendships and memories, a place to deepen your practice and recharge your soul, a place to surf until you are too tired to keep paddling. A place to find inspiration in the simplest forms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your El Coco Loco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Coco Loco Hotel El Viejo
El Coco Loco Resort Nicaragua/El Viejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing