We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak was cold one serving of fries for 2 meals ordered”

Outback jacks bar & grill
Ranked #81 of 104 Restaurants in Wantirna
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Steak was cold one serving of fries for 2 meals ordered”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Went here last week with wife and 4 year old daughter. Took a long time to get served....and that was just for drinks. My steak came out cold. Then when it was brought again ( a new one I will admit) it was too tough. Maybe just an unlucky experience. We only received one serving of chips and salad and were told that if we wanted another serve to ask. Well hello, each meal is listed on the menu as being served with chips...regardless of if we wanted them or not. The bill was $95. Cooked a far better steak at home the next night on the BBQ. Will not be going back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trimblelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    8
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice steak meals”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We decided at the last minute to find a restaurant after seeing a show at the shopping complex. We came across Outback Jacks and as I'm keen on a good steak meal we decided to try it out. The service was great and the waitresses were quick in getting our drink orders and making sure they were not empty for the rest of our stay. The meals were ordered (3 steaks all cooked to different liking) and they all arrived together and in a timely manner. The steaks were cooked to perfection and all the sides went well with the meals. I have already recommended this place a number of our friends and we will be going back again. Next time I'm trying the 1kg steak challenge (with side orders) and if it can be eaten in the required time frame its free.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephenAndMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Woeful”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Was told we had to got to the bar to order and pay for our drinks (only 8 people on the table) while other people around us were able to order their drinks from their table and have them served to them. Heineken beer on tap was flat as a tack. Took over an hour to get our meals on a Tuesday night. No one came and checked on us throughout the night, the meal was ok not great. We asked for the desert menu, after waiting about 15minutes and no menu we decided to pay and leave.
Don't bother going here unless you enjoy bad service, average meals and high prices.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DannyandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Disappointed!!!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Flat beer and had to get our own drinks at the bar which we pay for a service. Ribs are just covered with sauce not marinated. Staff looked lost and lack of service. Only good thing steak was actually cooked how I wanted it to. I wont be going back for a while.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank senator913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback jacks bar & grill also viewed

Wantirna, Greater Melbourne
 
Wantirna, Greater Melbourne
Wantirna, Greater Melbourne
 
Wantirna, Greater Melbourne
 

Been to Outback jacks bar & grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing