We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Hotel Cavalier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cavalier
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wantirna
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I have stayed several times over the years and have found this property to be basic to good. The staff are extremely friendly and courteous. I have stayed in a variety of rooms to apartments with getting an upgrade. Tea/coffee making facilities, bar bridge, comfortable beds, good size room, bathrooms small however all basic but clean. Only had issues with remote control for t.v. not working(wrong remote to t.v) If you are staying out the eastern suburbs then this is a great base for exploring the area. Knox city is close by with excellent shopping, village cinema and eateries and a great Irish Pub/restaurant. They have a great looking pool but its been too cold for me to use and definitely the rooms away from the front road are heaps quieter. Also no lift available so ground floor may be beneficial if mobility is an issue or you pack way too many clothes!!

Room Tip: ground floor, inside or towards the back are quieter.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank JacckieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 34 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Very dated motel, which didn't really bother me, but the state of the cleanliness certainly did. The sofa, carpet and walls all dirty. I have stayed here previously a couple of years ago and the standard has certainly slipped a lot since then. Give it a miss unless you need the location

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Needed something clean and near a shopping centre. Thus is the one. A bit old but everything we needed. 3 minute work to Knox shopping centre. Room was a good size, pool....to cold for me but was nice. Nice quite rooms off the road

Room Tip: Stay at the back off the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I have used the Cavalier several times it is not the most luxurious and a little worn, and the TV"S are definitely out of date, and make sure you get a room away from the road side, because traffic noise will be a problem if you're a light sleeper. However they put on a good basic breakfast all you can eat help yourself style. Its convenient for my travel the rates are very reasonable and the rooms are clean. If you don't want to pay a lot and don't mind looking at a tiny TV then the Cavalier is OK.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 973JimJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

This is not the flashest hotel in Melbourne but I just wanted somewhere of reasonable comfort at a reasonable price. I asked for a quiet room at the back and got an upgrade to a large apartment style unit with separate bedroom at no extra cost. The bed was very comfortable and bathroom clean. The staff were very helpful, obliging and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skyfox49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

When I had a short stay at Knox private hospital my brother and my son stayed here for two nights, the location is spot on with a 5 min walk to Westfield shopping centre and a 3 min drive to the hospital what more could you ask for.
The manager is very friendly as are the other staff. There's ample off street parking and a pool, bit cold for a swim.
Everything worked fine in the room, no complaints for a no frills room, it was clean and didn't smell.
I will definitely come back, because of position, cleanliness and friendliness.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Ok so this place does need a update but if you are just looking for the basic then this is perfect. Over all room size was good , bathroom was lovely and shower was great. Bed was really comfy. Close to Knox city shopping centre ... Yes would stay here again....

Room Tip: Towards the back so you don't hear the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stingrayshez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wantirna
1.3 mi away
Golden Pebble Melbourne
Golden Pebble Melbourne
#1 of 3 in Wantirna
161 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Knox
3.3 mi away
Lifestyle Apartments At Ferntree
Lifestyle Apartments At Ferntree
#1 of 2 in Ferntree Gully
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Sandown Regency
Sandown Regency
#2 of 2 in Noble Park
30 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sage Hotel Melbourne, Ringwood
3.7 mi away
Ferntree Gully Motel
Ferntree Gully Motel
#2 of 2 in Ferntree Gully
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavalier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavalier

Address: 343 Stud Rd, Wantirna, Victoria 3152, Australia (Formerly Cavalier Motor Inn)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Wantirna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wantirna
Price Range: $75 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Cavalier 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Cavalier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cavalier Wantirna, Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing