We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Punthill Knox

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Punthill Knox
Launceston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed January 25, 2011

WE stayed in the 1 bedrrom apartment and found it more than adequate, the laundry facilities in the room are very handy, the location is on a busy road but we were not disturbed by traffic noise and Knox City shopping centre is just across the road and plenty of food shops nearby.
Free off street parking but not undercover.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonpb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    43
    11
    8
    2
See reviews for
25
20
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
200 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

These apartments are on the corner of Burwood Highway and Stud Road and are a good quality for this area. They consist of one bedroom or two bedroom apartments and have a full kitchen and laundry. If you do not wish to cook yourself they serve breakfast and the apartments are directly across the road from the Knox shopping centre so there are plenty of restaurants to chosse from.
The only disadvantage is the apartments on the road side are quite noisy as both roads are main highways. Choose a room at the back if possible as these are much quieter.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WildcatNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Great place to stay for a long term visit. Road noise is noticeable, but you do get used to it. Everyone is extremely nice. On site gym is poor, treadmill doesn't really work and the hours of the exercise room are very short.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2gapeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

It is a nice and modern hotel. Just opened last year in 2008. We got a one room apartment and it faces Knox City Shopping Mall across the hotel - 100 meters away. Next to Knox City Mall, they have very good restaurants - Western, Asian, Fast Food etc.

There are a washing machine, dryer and well equipped kitchen for light cooking. The rooms are very clean. However, it is quite far from downtown - about 30 mins away but easy to drive there as it is well connected with the highways.

The hotel is about 10 mins away from Puffing Billy at Belgrave. Enjoyable train rides for everyonel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2008

It was great to stay at Punt Hill Knox after a long camping trip in Great Ocean Road area. We stayed in 1 Bedroom Apartment and everything was brand new because the place had just opened! The furniture was modern and beautiful and everything (washer/dryer, shower/bath, etc) worked perfect.

The rooms were so spacious and there was a TV in both Living and Bedroom! Nice bathtub to relax in and huge beautiful bathroom.

The pool was nice and the gym was small but well equipped. The reception was helpful and friendly.
There was a shopping mall right next the apartment so it was very convenient to shop for food.

This place is on a very busy road so it is not a place to stay if you are looking for scenic holiday but we stayed here because it was very reasonable (opening special $99 per night in 1 Bedroom). It is quite a distance from Melbourne CBD (20km) but we drove to Canberwell and took a tram/train and it worked fine. The parking is free. We would definitely go back again!!!

  • Liked — Spacious and brand new
  • Disliked — On the busy road and a bit noisy
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RioTraveler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wantirna
1.2 mi away
Golden Pebble Melbourne
Golden Pebble Melbourne
#1 of 3 in Wantirna
147 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Knox
3.3 mi away
Lifestyle Apartments At Ferntree
Lifestyle Apartments At Ferntree
#1 of 2 in Ferntree Gully
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Punthill Burwood
Punthill Burwood
#1 of 3 in Burwood
61 reviews
3.9 mi away
Novotel Glen Waverley
Novotel Glen Waverley
#1 of 4 in Glen Waverley
1,035 reviews
4.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel on Canterbury
Clarion Hotel on Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Forest Hill
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Knox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Knox

Property: Punthill Knox
Address: 337 Stud Rd | Wantirna South, Wantirna, Victoria 3152, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Wantirna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Wantirna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Knox 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Punthill Knox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Knox Wantirna, Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing