We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wyndham resort Torquay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Resort Torquay
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Torquay
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wyndham resort Torquay”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

stayed here for 6 nights. position is great but housekeeping really need to amp up their efforts. Things like top ledges and even the toilet roll holder extremely dusty which really shouldn't happen , some stains in carpets, and the aircon filter was filthy. Bad smells in the bathrooms seem to be a continuing problem and it is time that gets sorted out.
After there was a wedding at the resort outside the bar area huge filthy stains on the terrace floor which never got cleaned up during our stay.
That being said, the bar staff were very nice and tried hard and the food in the restaurant I would recommend as it was delicious (I am an ex hotelier).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermien832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamResortTorquay, Duty Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Hermien832,

Thank you for posting your feedback. I will definitely speak with housekeeping as those are things that should not happen. My apologies the bar area should not have been left in that state, thank you for bringing it to our attention. I will pass on your feedback to the bar staff also.

Thank you again for your feedback, we hope one day we can welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Rebecca Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    187
    88
    32
    27
See reviews for
100
237
13
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riddells Creek, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had a fantastic time while staying at Wyndham Resort Torquay. My husband, 2 children, sister and her husband and I had a great time. Excellent service and facilities. Plenty of room for us in the 2 bed room apartment. Tennis courts were in great condition as were all the pools. Loved the buffet breakfast in their restaurant YUMMO!!
Can't wait to go back there :)

Room Tip: for 6 of us the 2 bed room apartment was great, we walked out our back door the tennis courts were r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamResortTorquay, Duty Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Lisa F,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay here at the Resort. We definitely do take pride in our facilities here.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family next time.

Kind regards,
Rebecca Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
234 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We have stayed in many Wyndham resorts & found this to be the nicest resort so far.
Right across the road from the beach so great views. In a quite part of town but just a short walk to shops & restaurants.
Lovely outdoor swimming pool as well as an indoor pool for those energetic enough to do laps. Bar/café opens out on to pool area and Fri night Happy hour was well supported by guests.
Good little convenience store for snacks, ice-creams, newspapers & a few groceries.
In our opinion the restaurant at resort is the best in Torquay (see separate restaurant review).
Our room had a huge comfortable bed. Lovely big shower. Was not a fan of window between bedroom & bathroom – if someone gets up to go to toilet through the night the light shining through the window wakes up the other person! We stayed in a studio but found it too small for our 4 night stay. If returning we would choose a 1 bedroom apartment for our next stay.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the beach seem quieter..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldandnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamResortTorquay, Duty Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Oldandnew,

Thank you for sharing your feedback, we greatly appreciate it. I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We are very lucky to be right across from the beach. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the restaurant team.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Rebecca Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
580 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

All staff were welcoming and efficient, Louise also came to our room to check everything was fine. Our delux studio was spacious and well equipped. The pool area looked so inviting from how patio that we ventured in even though the days were cool. The views from the restaurant Latitude 38 were spectacular especially at sunset, and Anna our waitress was excellent. We had a wonderful four night stay in a well set out modern resort which we would recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mon55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamResortTorquay, Duty Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Mon55,

We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay here at Wyndham Resort Torquay. I will be sure to pass on the feedback to the staff, especially Louise and Anna. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Rebecca Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We held our wedding reception at Wyndham on the 7th March 2014 and could not have asked for a more fabulous experience. Our wedding planner(s) were absolutely incredible - in particular our main planner who was there on our big night. She made the day completely stress free and it was fabulous to have someone so passionate about their job that they share in your excitement! Nothing was ever too much to ask of the team at Wyndham and we would recommend them to anyone! We've had so many comments from guests about how amazing the whole night was from the food to that incredible view. Personally, we were made to feel very special and the champagne we found on arrival back to our suite was a lovely surprise!

Many of our guests stayed at the resort and had breakfast with us the following day. The rooms were all very spacious, immaculately clean and comfortable. The breakfast is also great- not always an easy achievement for a buffet!

Overall it truly was an incredible experience and we can't wait to visit again on our 1st wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPH08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamResortTorquay, Duty Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear CPH08,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are delighted that you chose to have your reception here at Wyndham Resort Torquay. Our wedding planners Morgan and Selena are fantastic, thank you I will be sure to pass on the feedback to them.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back for your 1st Anniversary.

Kind regards,
Rebecca Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed at this resort as Worldmark owners in a 2 bedroom ground floor apartment which looked out to the children's playground and BBQ facilities. It was great to be able to keep an eye on the kids whilst they were playing, but when other guests came to cook their meals, it became quite noisy. Both the indoor and outdoor pools were great as was the spa and, what I saw of the gym, it was more than adequate. Being able to have a hit of tennis was also great.
As we booked late for the restaurant, we were only able to secure a booking at 8.30pm with the kitchen closing at 9pm and as such, we were rushed by the waiting staff to order our meals. However, when the meals did come out, they were quite tasty and we thought value for money with 2 courses for $28 and 3 courses for $35. The kids meals were not overpriced at $10 and were of a decent size.
Overall, the location is fantastic (opposite the beach) and the reception staff very friendly and helpful with directions. When we had an extra guest turn up and required extra bed linen, this was no trouble at all when I approached house keeping direct. For a 2 night weekend stay, there were adequate supplies in our room to last a couple extra days. The only thing I found that could be improved in the room was the carpet was fairly stained and could do with replacement. We have stayed at other similar type accommodation with Worldmark and believe that the number of credits needed for the same room type to be a bit excessive, as we were not getting anything more.
The only suggestions I would like to make are: have a bin (like some other resorts) in the room where the garbage chute is located for recyclables. We walked all around the underground car park looking for them (they were located at the opposite end to where we were located).
As we were here to celebrate our wedding anniversary, we think it will be a great location to come back to in future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13Traveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamResortTorquay, Duty Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear 13Traveller2013,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay here at the Resort. We are very spoilt here with our location being opposite the beach. We are currently working on our carpets and we will definitely look into the bins also, thank you so much for your suggestions.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind regards,
Rebecca Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
726 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

It appears that you can either book through the resort itself or via local rental agency. We did the latter and although the rooms were spacious, they didn't, for example, have any external furniture nor could you get the hotel staff to solve any problems for you.

It's a good location - you can just walk to a good swimming beach - and it's a short drive from the main shopping strip. There's undercover parking and a good pool so it's not a bad resort but just not a brilliant one.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamResortTorquay, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear WaterArt,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. On this occasion you did not stay a with Wyndham but booked with an alternative Rental Company which operate under the name Beach Front Resort. To help assist future guest with accurate information it would be much appreciated if you could re-post your review to the relevant property. I do recommend in future booking directly with Wyndham to avoid any disappointments.

Kind regards
Edwin Erftemeyer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.7 mi away
Torquay Tropicana Motel
Torquay Tropicana Motel
#4 of 5 in Torquay
87 reviews
24.3 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
9.0 mi away
Barwon Heads Resort at 13th Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
RACV Torquay Resort
RACV Torquay Resort
#1 of 5 in Torquay
457 reviews
1.1 mi away
Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay
9.8 mi away
Great Ocean Road Resort
Great Ocean Road Resort
#1 of 1 in Anglesea
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Resort Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Resort Torquay

Property: Wyndham Resort Torquay
Address: 100 The Esplanade, Torquay, Victoria 3228, Australia (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Torquay)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Resort Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Resort Torquay, offers guests stylish and comfortable accommodation, showcasing sweeping views of the beautiful Zeally Bay Beach; located at the gateway to the Great Ocean Road. Torquay is home to the world famous Bells Beach and iconic surf brands including Quicksilver and Ripcurl. Immerse yourself in the epic surf culture of Victorians surf capital and begin your spectacular, Great Ocean Road adventure from the official starting point in Torquay. Wyndham Resorts luxury accommodation features quality hotel rooms and spacious one bedroom apartments, providing a private balcony or patio overlooking the swimming pool, stunning gardens or the magnificent ocean. The exceptional hotel facilities will be sure to complement your stay with us. The Resort features an impressive outdoor swimming pool and spa, fully equipped gym facilities and a full tennis court. During leisure time, a BBQ area, superb function venues and an outstanding restaurant and bar won’t fail to impress. Wyndham Resort Torquay, creates the perfect atmosphere for families and hopeless romantics to kick back and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Resort Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Resort Torquay Hotel Torquay
Crowne Plaza Torquay
Wyndham Resort Torquay Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing