We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern but pricy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Resort Torquay
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Torquay
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Modern but pricy”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

+
Modern
Location by the beach
-
Everything is extra (breakfast, Internet, parking...) and pricy
Pool was closed when we were there

Modern hotel with nice rooms. Torquay is a nice stop on Great Ocean road, and this hotel provides all comfort one might need. Mind you though, everything is an optional extra... Annoying.

Service was ok, but not fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesbond_ppk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear jamesbond_ppk,

Thank you for taking the time review us regarding your recent stay here at Wyndham Resort Torquay. We greatly appreciate your comments, as they help us in our effort to continually improve our level of service.

The issues have raised are very important to us here and we will be reviewing our Training Structure in 2013 and also pricing for extra services around the resort.

I want you to know how much we appreciate your visit to the resort, and how much we value you as a guest. We hope that you will give us another opportunity at Wyndham Resort Torquay in the future. I am confident we will exceed your expectations. Thank you again for your comments.

Kind Regards
Edwin Erftemeyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    194
    93
    32
    27
See reviews for
105
247
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We booked a family seaside escape for 1 night, being the first night we had arrived in Australia, and wanted somewhere a bit more comfortable than a regular motel.
The apartment was a large living area, with a large area for a kitchen. Bathroom was also large, with a washing machine and tumble dryer, very useful after a long trip.
Bedrooms were comfortable and clean, There was an ajoining door to the second bathroom, which i would guess was normally a twin room, as it was a bedroom with a bathroom, again very clean and extremly comfortable.
Pool was a nice size, it was a bit cold, but the day we arrived there was a very strong wind. Just a shame the smaller pool outside was closed due to broken glass, and the indoor pool was also closed, not sure why.
Breakfast was a buffet style help yourself, and there was plenty to choose from, the room was lovely, showing the views of the bay.
Reception staff were very accomodating, as we arrived earlier than expected, due to my son not being well, and they ensured the room was available ASAP.

Wish we could have had longer staying here, as it was fantastic, but could not afford another night, financially or within the days of our holiday.

Room Tip: We had a familty seaside escape, which was 2 ajoining room, perfect for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Nikki B,

Thank you for your review of Wyndham Torquay it is much appreciated and it’s great to hear your first night in Australia was an excellent one.
Our apartments here at the Resort are exceptional and well worth booking for any visit whether it be a short trip or an extended one. They have all the facilities to make yourself at home as you have mentioned. Breakfast in the latitude 38 Restaurant is a must for any guests staying at the resort as Wyndham can boast the best Ocean Views in Torquay.
It’s disappointing to hear that the outdoor spa was closed on your day of arrival, and also the indoor pool which was under some last minute maintenance work. I can assure you that if you visit us again we will have it up and running to perfection.

I hope you can visit again on your next trip to Australia.

Kind Regards
Edwin Erftemeyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights before going to a friend wedding. Staff were friendly and helpful. The beach is just across the road. For our family, it was a good enough place to experience the resort stay in Melbourne and it is also comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald Yale A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Gerald Yale A,

Thanks for your review of Wyndham Torquay your feedback is much appreciated and valued. I happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and would welcome you back anytime. Our staff are amazing, they will do anything to ensure to have a great visit and relaxing time while holidaying at the resort.

As we are not far away from Melbourne CBD roughly 1 hour and 20 minutes it’s the perfect location for a quick getaway.

Kind Regards
Edwin Erftemeyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Recently visited the Wyndham for a friends wedding, we were able to not only stay at the venue, bu the wedding was held there. Accomidation was great, and the out door wedding location provided excellent vews of the beach. The reception area was outstanding, with 180 degree views of the beach. Staff were pleasent on arrival and checkout. The pool and pool side bar great in summer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Andrew L,

Thanks for your latest post and review of Wyndham Torquay. It’s great hear stories about people coming into the Resort and enjoying themselves especially seeing you were attending a Wedding onsite. Torquay and Wyndham is the ideal destination for a celebration in the Summer months as we are perfectly located and have excellent facilities whether it be a ceremony and reception or a more relaxed holiday by the pool and cocktail bar.

Thanks again for your review and I hope we can host you again soon.

Kind Regards
Edwin Erftemeyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Most of the time was a great place to stay, the A/C didn't really do the whole room sadly, even on the rotating function. The staff were quite friendly and helpful. It's a short walk to the beach, which is lovely. Sadly the indoor pool is 7m all the way around so there's no shallow end, it's for laps, but still, little disappointed. While being there, there was a wedding, right outside our room, it was beautiful.

Room Tip: make sure to get a room with the right about of beds and not the pull out couch it's horrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amaree22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear amaree22,

Thank-you for your review of Wyndham Torquay and welcome to Trip Advisor I see this is your first post of I hope many to come.
It is great to hear honest feedback as it provides others with an accurate description on what we have to offer here. The indoor pool is a lap pool and is part of our fitness centre which includes fully equipped Gym, Tennis Court and Day Spa. Wyndham Torquay is the ideal place to get away and relax for families, couples and even weddings events.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Edwin Erftemeyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Friend of mine had their wedding in Torquay and the reception was at Wyndham Resort. As we all live a fair bit away, gave us a chance to stay the night.

As im sure the hotel was booked out, initial parking was very hard to find. The vacant block next door was full, the front car park was full and even the beach parking spaces across the road were full. If available i suggest paying the $7 for the undercover secure parking offered, as this was the best way to go.

Walking in the foyer gave you that instant holiday feel. Emily checked us in, we were early but she informed us our room was ready and ran us through everything and answered all of our questions. She was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment. Its a nice enough room, a bit tired looking, the carpet looked a bit old and worn. $230 gets you a larger and more modern looking room in the city, but we were in Torquay right across the road from the beach and with access to the best part of the hotel, the pool, so wasn't too bad. Plus there aren't many places to stay of this sort of quality down that way. As many of us were staying there had a chance to check out the standard rooms, and to be honest they are a decent size for $50 less.

But importantly the king bed was extremely comfy along with the pillows. Shower had a water saving head and is one of those showers that doubles as a bath. Not the best water pressure. TV system was a bit slow but not to the point of annoyance. Our room was on the bottom level and about 10 metres from the pool and noise wasn't a factor, which was surprising due to the amount of children running around. Good if you just wanted to relax indoors.

As mentioned the pool is a winner. It has 3 sections. The huge section is nice and cold and great for the hot days, the middle section is warm and then the decent sized spa that is the perfect temperature for relaxing. The bar is right there as well. $12 cocktails for the girls and everything else was well priced to keep everyone happy.

As the wedding reception was there as well, had a chance to taste the food on offer and it was exceptional. Really well presented and delicious.

Big thank you to everyone at the resort, i know my friend and his bride had a lovely time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnms1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Johnms 1986,

Thank-you for taking the time to post your review of Wyndham Torquay, it means a lot to us here and coming from a senior contributor on Trip Advisor.

Your review is very accurate and provides a detailed description of most facilities we have on offer here. I hope we get to host you again soon.

Kind Regards
Edwin Erftemeyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We saw this place online and thought it looked great. Upon arrival the staff were good but when we got to our room we quickly realized 3 people couldn't sleep in 2 singles.

After much discussion we agreed to pay for a bigger place. Their one bedroom apartments with a sofa bed.

It looks good when you walk in except for the tiny tv's(which blow my mind given how cheap tv's are). We tried to find wi fi but it turns out they don't have it!! Only cable and you have to pay. What year is this???!! How can you connect an iPad, iPhone and many laptops today with a cable??!

The bedroom looked nice but there was no air con and you couldn't let the outside breeze stroll in because the lights would wake you so we slept in a hotbox with damps towels on us! Never stayed at a place without air on in the rooms.

The other weird thing was wanting money for parking! $20! That is just strange! This isn't CBD so everyone is driving!

No one asked how our stay was so we didn't share it when we checked out. They weren't busy either so I'm guessing they simply don't want to know.

Would I go again? Nope. Get with the time Wyndham...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seanlcoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear SeanIcoll,

Thank-you for your feedback and review of the Wyndham Torquay. I am disappointed that you did not experience the full potential the resort has to offer. The issue’s you have raised is a concern to us here as we do have split system air-conditioning and heating units in every single room and apartment. We also have broadband internet available in every room and apartment via the cable, wifi is not available in the rooms but is accessible in the Sandbar Lounge, Reception and Latitude 38 Restaurant and car Parking is $7 per night in our secure garage.
It’s great to receive this type of feedback as we can look at what we do here and reevaluate what works best and what retraining we may need at the Resort.

I would like to thank-you again for taking the time to post this review.

Kind Regards
Edwin Erftemeyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.7 mi away
Torquay Tropicana Motel
Torquay Tropicana Motel
#4 of 5 in Torquay
93 reviews
24.3 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
1.6 mi away
RACV Torquay Resort
RACV Torquay Resort
#1 of 5 in Torquay
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay
24.2 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#2 of 9 in Lorne
2,671 reviews
24.5 mi away
Cumberland Lorne Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Resort Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Resort Torquay

Property: Wyndham Resort Torquay
Address: 100 The Esplanade, Torquay, Victoria 3228, Australia (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Torquay)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Resort Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Resort Torquay, offers guests stylish and comfortable accommodation, showcasing sweeping views of the beautiful Zeally Bay Beach; located at the gateway to the Great Ocean Road. Torquay is home to the world famous Bells Beach and iconic surf brands including Quicksilver and Ripcurl. Immerse yourself in the epic surf culture of Victorians surf capital and begin your spectacular, Great Ocean Road adventure from the official starting point in Torquay. Wyndham Resorts luxury accommodation features quality hotel rooms and spacious one bedroom apartments, providing a private balcony or patio overlooking the swimming pool, stunning gardens or the magnificent ocean. The exceptional hotel facilities will be sure to complement your stay with us. The Resort features an impressive outdoor swimming pool and spa, fully equipped gym facilities and a full tennis court. During leisure time, a BBQ area, superb function venues and an outstanding restaurant and bar won’t fail to impress. Wyndham Resort Torquay, creates the perfect atmosphere for families and hopeless romantics to kick back and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wyndham Resort Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Resort Torquay Hotel Torquay
Crowne Plaza Torquay
Wyndham Resort Torquay Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing