We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wyndham for Weddings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Resort Torquay
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Recently visited the Wyndham for a friends wedding, we were able to not only stay at the venue, bu the wedding was held there. Accomidation was great, and the out door wedding location provided excellent vews of the beach. The reception area was outstanding, with 180 degree views of the beach. Staff were pleasent on arrival and checkout. The pool and pool side bar great in summer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Andrew L,

Thanks for your latest post and review of Wyndham Torquay. It’s great hear stories about people coming into the Resort and enjoying themselves especially seeing you were attending a Wedding onsite. Torquay and Wyndham is the ideal destination for a celebration in the Summer months as we are perfectly located and have excellent facilities whether it be a ceremony and reception or a more relaxed holiday by the pool and cocktail bar.

Thanks again for your review and I hope we can host you again soon.

Kind Regards
Edwin Erftemeyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 562 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

Most of the time was a great place to stay, the A/C didn't really do the whole room sadly, even on the rotating function. The staff were quite friendly and helpful. It's a short walk to the beach, which is lovely. Sadly the indoor pool is 7m all the way around so there's no shallow end, it's for laps, but still, little disappointed. While being there, there was a wedding, right outside our room, it was beautiful.

Room Tip: make sure to get a room with the right about of beds and not the pull out couch it's horrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amaree22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear amaree22,

Thank-you for your review of Wyndham Torquay and welcome to Trip Advisor I see this is your first post of I hope many to come.
It is great to hear honest feedback as it provides others with an accurate description on what we have to offer here. The indoor pool is a lap pool and is part of our fitness centre which includes fully equipped Gym, Tennis Court and Day Spa. Wyndham Torquay is the ideal place to get away and relax for families, couples and even weddings events.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Edwin Erftemeyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Friend of mine had their wedding in Torquay and the reception was at Wyndham Resort. As we all live a fair bit away, gave us a chance to stay the night.

As im sure the hotel was booked out, initial parking was very hard to find. The vacant block next door was full, the front car park was full and even the beach parking spaces across the road were full. If available i suggest paying the $7 for the undercover secure parking offered, as this was the best way to go.

Walking in the foyer gave you that instant holiday feel. Emily checked us in, we were early but she informed us our room was ready and ran us through everything and answered all of our questions. She was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment. Its a nice enough room, a bit tired looking, the carpet looked a bit old and worn. $230 gets you a larger and more modern looking room in the city, but we were in Torquay right across the road from the beach and with access to the best part of the hotel, the pool, so wasn't too bad. Plus there aren't many places to stay of this sort of quality down that way. As many of us were staying there had a chance to check out the standard rooms, and to be honest they are a decent size for $50 less.

But importantly the king bed was extremely comfy along with the pillows. Shower had a water saving head and is one of those showers that doubles as a bath. Not the best water pressure. TV system was a bit slow but not to the point of annoyance. Our room was on the bottom level and about 10 metres from the pool and noise wasn't a factor, which was surprising due to the amount of children running around. Good if you just wanted to relax indoors.

As mentioned the pool is a winner. It has 3 sections. The huge section is nice and cold and great for the hot days, the middle section is warm and then the decent sized spa that is the perfect temperature for relaxing. The bar is right there as well. $12 cocktails for the girls and everything else was well priced to keep everyone happy.

As the wedding reception was there as well, had a chance to taste the food on offer and it was exceptional. Really well presented and delicious.

Big thank you to everyone at the resort, i know my friend and his bride had a lovely time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnms1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Johnms 1986,

Thank-you for taking the time to post your review of Wyndham Torquay, it means a lot to us here and coming from a senior contributor on Trip Advisor.

Your review is very accurate and provides a detailed description of most facilities we have on offer here. I hope we get to host you again soon.

Kind Regards
Edwin Erftemeyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We saw this place online and thought it looked great. Upon arrival the staff were good but when we got to our room we quickly realized 3 people couldn't sleep in 2 singles.

After much discussion we agreed to pay for a bigger place. Their one bedroom apartments with a sofa bed.

It looks good when you walk in except for the tiny tv's(which blow my mind given how cheap tv's are). We tried to find wi fi but it turns out they don't have it!! Only cable and you have to pay. What year is this???!! How can you connect an iPad, iPhone and many laptops today with a cable??!

The bedroom looked nice but there was no air con and you couldn't let the outside breeze stroll in because the lights would wake you so we slept in a hotbox with damps towels on us! Never stayed at a place without air on in the rooms.

The other weird thing was wanting money for parking! $20! That is just strange! This isn't CBD so everyone is driving!

No one asked how our stay was so we didn't share it when we checked out. They weren't busy either so I'm guessing they simply don't want to know.

Would I go again? Nope. Get with the time Wyndham...

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seanlcoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear SeanIcoll,

Thank-you for your feedback and review of the Wyndham Torquay. I am disappointed that you did not experience the full potential the resort has to offer. The issue’s you have raised is a concern to us here as we do have split system air-conditioning and heating units in every single room and apartment. We also have broadband internet available in every room and apartment via the cable, wifi is not available in the rooms but is accessible in the Sandbar Lounge, Reception and Latitude 38 Restaurant and car Parking is $7 per night in our secure garage.
It’s great to receive this type of feedback as we can look at what we do here and reevaluate what works best and what retraining we may need at the Resort.

I would like to thank-you again for taking the time to post this review.

Kind Regards
Edwin Erftemeyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Our family stayed at the resort for 4 days in November. The room was spacious and well presented. The staff were very helpful with directions for various attractions and how to get around, Dinner in the restaurant was very nice with the wait staff very friendly. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay (apart from the wet weather) and would definately go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Greg S,

Thank-you for your review of Wyndham Torquay, it’s great to hear your family enjoyed your time here despite the typical Victorian weather.

The weather is great at the moment so it would be the perfect time to come to Torquay and experience the lovely pool and the beaches across the road.

Thanks again and I hope we see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Edwin Erftemeyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The facilities are good, but the customer service is poor. Guest Service Agents and Senior Housekeeping staff were unable to confirm the procedures of when and how laundry was removed from the resort and cleaned by whom and where...Why is this important? Because a careless room attendant who may have an apartment quota to turn over to maintain service efficiencies rather than satisfactory service standards removed a child's well loved soft toy along with bedding in their attempt to meet the time commitments. After 3 attempts to recover the soft toy via 2 different "guest" service agents and a housekeeper, ("laundry has been removed from resort" But had not. "Serviced in Geelong" Actually in Melbourne.) We returned to the resort in the afternoon, still no assistance and I gave them my mobile phone number, but I am still yet to hear from any member of the resort as to what follow up action may have been taken. I am assuming there is no HR Manager to train this team, nor is there any synergy between front desk & h'keeping, possibly the Hotel Manager has dismissed the incident. Perhaps too busy managing his "stock". Lucky for us that PRINCES LAUNDRY have a totally awesome 5 star customer service team that were able to HOME DELIVER said treasured toy. If I was MD of Wyndham in Australia I would be looking at my suppliers for some customer service standards, great work PRINCES HOSPITALITY LAUNDRY TEAM for cleaning up Wyndham's poor customer service and carelessness.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Overall, the Wyndham at Torquay is a family friendly, very well maintained resort.

The staff are exceptionally friendly and professional.

The rooms are generous. They are serviced daily and come with large bathrooms, balconies, fully equipped kitchenettes, cable TV, comfortable beds, a/c, etc. However, my room was on the western side of the resort...the advantage is that it was quiet because it faced away from the pool, but it got except ally hot and stuffy, especially during the heat of January.

The pool - it's a lagoon style pool that is full of families and kids having an awesome time. There's a pool side bar/cafe that is casual and great. But, it would be awesome if there were wait-staff servicing the pool area, not a gripe, just an area for improvement...when you're at a resort, you don't necessarily want to leave the pool area to order food and drink (taking eyes off kids). More pool side furniture would also be a bonus.

The well equipped gymnasium and indoor lap pool seemed to almost be unused. I was there everyday and never had to wait for equipment. Fantastic!

The resort itself is a bit of a hike from town (you can certainly walk it in less than 10 minutes) so a car is kind of required. However, the resort doesn't seem to have enough car parking spaces for all guests (and charges extra for car parking which really sucks) so you have to park on the street, which also sucks.

Overall, we really enjoyed it and will return.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool will be noisy, but looking away from it may be hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cowboyjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear cowboyjb,

Thank-you for your kind review of our Resort, it is much appreciated and it’s great to hear you enjoyed your holiday here in Torquay.

I could not of described the Resort better myself, it sounds like you have taken full advantage of all we have to offer here at Wyndham and also in Torquay.

Thanks again and I hope we see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Edwin Erftemeyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.7 mi away
Torquay Tropicana Motel
7.4 mi away
Barwon Heads Resort at 13th Beach
24.3 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
RACV Torquay Resort
RACV Torquay Resort
#1 of 5 in Torquay
614 reviews
1.1 mi away
Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay
0.7 mi away
Surf City Motel
Surf City Motel
#5 of 5 in Torquay
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Resort Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Resort Torquay

Address: 100 The Esplanade, Torquay, Victoria 3228, Australia (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Torquay)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: $103 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Resort Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Resort Torquay, offers guests stylish and comfortable accommodation, showcasing sweeping views of the beautiful Zeally Bay Beach; located at the gateway to the Great Ocean Road. Torquay is home to the world famous Bells Beach and iconic surf brands including Quicksilver and Ripcurl. Immerse yourself in the epic surf culture of Victorians surf capital and begin your spectacular, Great Ocean Road adventure from the official starting point in Torquay. Wyndham Resorts luxury accommodation features quality hotel rooms and spacious one bedroom apartments, providing a private balcony or patio overlooking the swimming pool, stunning gardens or the magnificent ocean. The exceptional hotel facilities will be sure to complement your stay with us. The Resort features an impressive outdoor swimming pool and spa, fully equipped gym facilities, tennis court and BBQ are. Wyndham Resort Torquay, creates the perfect atmosphere for families and hopeless romantics to kick back and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Resort Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Resort Torquay Hotel Torquay
Crowne Plaza Torquay
Wyndham Resort Torquay Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing