We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Resort Torquay
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Torquay
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Me and my wife decided to head down there from Sydney for a few days for some R&R and it was well worth it. The location is great and is right on the beach a little over a hour’s drive south of the Melbourne CBD so It’s easy enough to get to if you want to spend the day in Melbourne. The onsite restaurant and bar are one of the best I have seen from a wyndham resort and will do room service until 11pm. They also have an onsite spa however we did not try it out so I can’t comment.
Room quality was also one of the better wyndham’s I have been to and is on par with your average 3.5 star.
One thing I would note though is that as the site is quite remote there are no restaurants within walking distance (at least that I could find) so you have to travel a bit to get a bite to eat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Ryan T,
Thanks for your latest review and for taking the time to provide us with feedback from you're visit. The completion of the Ring Road around Geelong makes Torquay the only place to visit this Spring and Summer, and as you mention is a short trip from Melbourne and your on the door step to some of Victoria's greatest beaches.
Keep an eye on our website for the some special holiday deals that are about to be released and I hope we see you again.

Kind Regards
Edwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    195
    93
    32
    27
See reviews for
106
249
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for a weekend. We had a very pleasant stay. We arrived to our room with only two single beds when we were wanting a king we called reception and they instantly upgraded us free of charge. Very polite staff amazing resort. Winter time great runs along the beach and nice local cafes. Have also stayed in summer time, pool area is amazing!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viczoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Viczoe,

Thank-you for your latest review, it's much appreciated. Our Hotel team have outstanding customer service skills and it's great we can celebrate their hard work. The team now the best locations in Torquay for coffee or breakfast so for anyone visiting don't hesitate to ask.
Look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards
Edwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Valet parking here involves YOU taking YOUR luggage from your car to the room and then taking the keys back to reception so the receptionist will then park the car !!! My advice, dont pay for this service because there isn't any. Just park it yourself and save $20. Reception staff lack personal professsional service skills, their knowledge of room numbers on which floor will have you thinking you are in a maze. After booking on line and confirmation of a full buffet breakfast, on arrival we were informed the price only offers continental breakfast, in room only. Now to the room, freezing cold the heater took some hours to warm the room. If you require another blanket be prepared to wait over 40minutes for one. Spare linen is not provided in the room. Not sure what or whom has been on the couch but my observations are somebody has left those obvious stains .Beware of the step over bath for a shower very slippery when wet!! Now for the view mmmmm we were expecting to see the ocean, but surprise surprise, I am looking at builders and a whole lot of construction going on hammers and all. We are very disappointed with this Hotel, never again, I am in hope the public read these experiences from other patrons and feel like they need to leave earlier than planned due to the worst service and facilities we have ever experienced.

Room Tip: For mature aged patrons ask for a walk in shower instead of over the bath. This available arrangemen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thejoys1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear thejoys1956 , Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Wyndham Resort Torquay.
We value your comments, as it is through such feedback that we can continue to provide an enjoyable and relaxing experience for our guests.
Although valet parking is currently offered as an option at the resort because of the double-bay design of some of the carparks, we do not have driveway attendants. Therefore, it is necessary for guests to make themselves known to reception upon arrival. Our reception team, as standard, offer assistance with luggage and valet parking. We apologise that in this case you were not offered .This will be followed up with corrective action as required.
The Winter Warmer package which you purchased online reflects a Continental breakfast inclusion. All collateral has been checked to confirm this. An upgrade to a full breakfast was purchased at the resort. When speaking with you at the Resort you mentioned you were delighted with the Restaurant service and as a measure of goodwill for your dissatisfaction otherwise, the breakfast charges were deducted.
The room heater has been checked and found to be functioning normally. We regret that blanket delivery took an inordinate amount of time. Again, this will be followed up with corrective action as required.
Despite our very close proximity to the beach, there are few room types which enjoy full ocean views. The package booked was based on our basic Queen Resort View room type, which is stated in all collateral promoting the package.
I addressed these issues with you on Saturday immediately upon being alerted of your dissatisfaction. Unfortunately I could not dissuade your decision to leave early. I am grateful for the opportunity to discuss feedback directly.
Our thanks once again for your feedback and the opportunity to ensure that our product is reflected accurately in the market place.

Kind Regards,
Greta Collins
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed here as a couple while exploring the great ocean road. Overall the stay was not terrible, but we left wanting a lot more than the Wyndham was able to provide.

Arrived at around 6pm. Check in service was a little rigid and awkward. Wasn’t engaged in any info about the hotel facilities and restaurant etc. For example would have been nice (and beneficial for the hotel) if we’d been given a tip off on happy hour specials, and maybe offered dinner reservations? When I asked about parking I was quickly informed that they were extremely busy and the car park was full, but conveniently a $14 valet service was available. Politely declined and luckily managed to score a park in the free outdoor bays, of which there were only about 20. Seems either a blatant design floor that there is not enough parking for guests, or ploy to up sell; take your pick. I was also annoyed at the patronising remark that I could not leave my car parked in concierge. Small detail but being reminded of the obvious like this is not necessary and certainly the comment did not improve my first impressions.

We were given directions to our room along the lines of (no exaggeration) "see that walkway? go across there, up that ramp, through the glass doors, past the first lift, don’t go up the first lift, down the hallway past the glass atrium, keep going down the hall, follow hall around to the left, keep going, go up the second lift, room is down the hall". A map was given us to help of course and luckily we didn’t get lost. 3-4 minutes walk later we arrived at our room at the far corner of the hotel. Would have been nice if someone had shown us to our room, and helped to take our bags to our room.

Our first reaction to seeing the room was “wow what is that smell?”…. smelt like the sewerage had backed up, combined with wet dog and mildew. Airing out improved the situation but every time we returned to the room the smell was there and strong as ever. Had we been staying for more than one night we would have definitely asked to move. Other than the smell, the room was very nice. Comfortable Queen Bed, balcony LCD television, Modern bathroom and large shower. All expected amenities available. Still, with our sense of smell taking a beating it was hard to appreciate this.

Had a couple of drinks at the cocktail lounge which was more of a sports bar but fairly quiet. Happy hour was 6-8pm. We then had dinner at Latitude restaurant. This was the highlight with a small but pleasant selection of menu items. Excellent service from the waiters and really the only time we felt true 4 star service at the hotel.

Checkout was 11am and no issues, although were not asked how we enjoyed our stay.

In summary I did have high hopes for the Wyndham, but it did not live up to my expectations. Had this been a $100 room and a 3.5 star hotel this review would probably be a little more positive, however with an advertised standard rate of $450 (paid $170 base) we were left wanting more.

We have stayed at numerous 4 and 5 star hotels / resorts in Australia and abroad and this ranks poorly among them. Room was modern and clean but the smell ruined this. Service was well below par; not terrible by any means but for a 4+ star resort the quantity of short comings can not be forgiven. This review could easily have been 4 or 5 stars with a few slight adjustments to the service and a different (pleasant smelling) room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nothing_Leica_Dane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Nothing Leice Dane, thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Wyndham Resort Torquay.
We value your comments, as it is through such feedback that we can continue enriching people lives through count on me service, great destinations and memorable experiences.
Please be assured that the service deficiencies you have highlighted will be followed up with corrective action as required.
Regrettably at this quieter time of year, if rooms are not used frequently, the water sitting in the drains can develop a sour smell. This is unfortunate, but easily eliminated by flushing water through the drains. Had we been made aware of this at the time, we could have addressed the issue promptly or offered an alternative room.
Should you choose to return to the resort in the future, we encourage you to book direct with us so that we may ensure your stay is without incident.
Kind Regards
Edwin Erftemeyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Husband and I spent two nights here while exploring the Great Ocean Road.
The rooms were very clean and well presented.
We would definitely be coming back during summer. Shame that a stayed during winter and we couldn't make us of the swimming pool and spa

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel_L-D_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear MEL_L-D_33,

It's great to hear we are you're home away from home, your welcome back anytime. Summer is enjoyable time of year and even made more with our pool and spa facilities. If you are game in winter the outdoor spa is heated at 30 degrees and we also have a heated indoor lap pool for those seriously cold days.
See you again soon.
Edwin E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MELBOURNE
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

what a lovely venue to stay in. we had a 2 bedroom apartment.I took my elderly parents for a few days and we could not have been happier ! staff were delightful, rooms perfect. breakfast in the restaurant was great but the dinner menu is very limited and over rated, I wouldnt have dinner there again.

Room Tip: its a resort, you cant go with expectations of silence. we werent disturbed by anyone/thing.the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRONS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear BRONS4, Thank-you for the review and we hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Torquay.
Kind Regards
Eddie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed in 2x 1 bedroom apartments. The rooms were spacious, and clean. Kitchen is well equipped. Staff was very helpful. The outside pool could have been few degrees warmer, but it did not really bother the kids.
It was a pity that the sauna could only be used for extra charge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiborKov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin E, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Resort Torquay, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear TiborKov, Thanks for the review of Wyndham Resort it is much appreciated I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and would welcome you back in summer to enjoy the pool yourself, it's funny how children don't feel the cold when there is huge pool to play in.

Kind Regards
Eddie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.7 mi away
Torquay Tropicana Motel
Torquay Tropicana Motel
#4 of 5 in Torquay
93 reviews
24.3 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
1.6 mi away
RACV Torquay Resort
RACV Torquay Resort
#1 of 5 in Torquay
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay
24.5 mi away
Cumberland Lorne Resort
9.8 mi away
Great Ocean Road Resort
Great Ocean Road Resort
#1 of 1 in Anglesea
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Resort Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Resort Torquay

Property: Wyndham Resort Torquay
Address: 100 The Esplanade, Torquay, Victoria 3228, Australia (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Torquay)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Resort Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Resort Torquay, offers guests stylish and comfortable accommodation, showcasing sweeping views of the beautiful Zeally Bay Beach; located at the gateway to the Great Ocean Road. Torquay is home to the world famous Bells Beach and iconic surf brands including Quicksilver and Ripcurl. Immerse yourself in the epic surf culture of Victorians surf capital and begin your spectacular, Great Ocean Road adventure from the official starting point in Torquay. Wyndham Resorts luxury accommodation features quality hotel rooms and spacious one bedroom apartments, providing a private balcony or patio overlooking the swimming pool, stunning gardens or the magnificent ocean. The exceptional hotel facilities will be sure to complement your stay with us. The Resort features an impressive outdoor swimming pool and spa, fully equipped gym facilities and a full tennis court. During leisure time, a BBQ area, superb function venues and an outstanding restaurant and bar won’t fail to impress. Wyndham Resort Torquay, creates the perfect atmosphere for families and hopeless romantics to kick back and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Resort Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Resort Torquay Hotel Torquay
Crowne Plaza Torquay
Wyndham Resort Torquay Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing