We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Facilities, not a very central location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Torquay
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Facilities, not a very central location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our room was on the side of the hotel that overlooked the carpark however having said that, the room its self was lovely and had great facilities. The pool was lovely and the health club was also very well maintained. Only downside was being woken up at 12:30 in the morning by the fire alarm. Had to evacuate for 30mins in the freezing cold only to be told (after 4 fire trucks had arrived) that we could all go back to bed and it was a false alarm. The next morning when we went to check out the reception asked us how the stay was and didnt even apologise for the midnight wake up call. Regardless of all of this, i would still recommend peppers as a place to stay when visitng Torquay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Izzjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sezzaF, Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Izzjackson

Thank you for you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to post your comments. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and our well appointed rooms. We do offer rooms overlooking our championship golf course should you choose to upgrade your room on your next stay.

I am sorry to hear that your stay was interrupted by our fire alarm but I am most relieved that it was in fact a false alarm and our guest’s safety was maintained. I will follow up with the front office team regarding your disappointing farewell.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind Regards,

Sarah Foster
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    216
    118
    54
    25
See reviews for
86
318
23
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We bought a surprise voucher on Wotif and Peppers was great value for the price.
Our room 118 did not have a nice view (on the side that looked over the car park) but the room fit out was good quality and had everything we needed. We loved the comfortable king bed, hot strong shower and quality tea and coffee in the room - perfect for our short stay in Torquay.
Would definitely stay here again when visiting Torquay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zahra99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Zahra99,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am delighted to read you enjoyed the resort. We do offer suites and view rooms....It is gorgeous waking up in the morning overlooking our championship golf course. Next time treat yourself!

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Nicole Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We purchased our weekend from Scoopon so we cannot complain about the value.
We arrived from Melbourne to warm up on the golf course and hired a cart as the weather looked dubious. The staff on reception were friendly and helpful.
The golf course was lovely but challenging and we had to abandon our round after 13 holes when the rain set in. We came in to check in to our room and thaw out.
The rooms were clean, nice bathrooms and comfortable bed. We set off to explore the town and look at our dining options for the night.
After reading the bad reviews of Peppers, we decided on eating at the new RACV resort and managed to persuade the manager to fit us in to a late sitting.
The meal at the RACV was excellent so we were glad that we made the trip.
The only bad part of the experience was breakfast at Hannah's restaurant the next day.
It was so bad it was like something out of Faulty Towers!
One poor girl was trying to coordinates the entire restaurant. People were getting annoyed, tables were uncleared and the food was like a school boarding house. We had very low expectations after reading prior reviews but it is a shame that this patrons lasting impression of a nice weekend.
Now we will go searching for a nice local coffee shop!

Room Tip: Overlook golf course if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Kim,

Thank you for posting your comments. Please be assured I will be investigating on why your breakfast was not our normal standard on Sunday.

Kind regards,

Nicole Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf Coast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed and gave a great review a year ago- when you have a great experience you go back. I did and wow, what happened. Location is one of the best in Australia. Great beach but.....

there is nothing fresh or local about this uninspiring menu. Poor service some pizzas that the chef thinks sounds interesting like blue cheese and other strange ingredients- why not do basic food fresh and well. Customers want fresh, local- simple no fuss. The breakfast was all brought in pre processed - I don't think anything was cooked it was just a can open here, an item from the deep freeze there..

No atmosphere like music in a place with million dollar views. Service was non existent- two staff arguing with each other behind the bar ' you know it's ready' said one- the other said ' chef said its not' on and on that went. There is absolutely no sense of urgency.

The person who served us looked like they just rolled out of bed. Much better options in the township that's a 25 minute walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurfCoastJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear SurfCoast Jill,

Thank you for returning to stay with us at Peppers The Sands Resort. I must say I am surprised to read your comments about our menu. We have the same Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Manager operating Hanners Restaurant.

Our breakfast buffet consists of continental which does include poached fruit but, we also offer fresh fruit, fresh fruit salad, freshly made pancakes and frittata, fresh mushrooms, roma tomatoes, but, yes we do offer hash browns which are deep fried but are very popular.

Thank you for your comments. They will be used in making further business decisions.

Kind regards,

Nicole Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed here over the weekend. We purchased a WOT surprise voucher off WOTIF and to our lovely surprise it was for your resort, What can I say.... We had an amazing most enjoyable stay.
Firstly all the staff that we came in contact with were friendly, approached us with a smile and were always helpful. After reading a few bad reviews on here we were not sure what to expect but you all did a fantastic job in making our stay an enjoyable one.
Secondly the staff in the restaurant were approachable, helpful and very friendly. A special thanks to the man behind the bar (I am sorry we cannot remember your name) but he made me a special cocktail made to order.
The food in the restaurant was delicious. We really enjoyed the meals we had here. We ate from both the sit down restaurant and the bar meals.

Our room was lovely- the only down thing was we missed out on a room with a view of the golf course. Our room was comfortable and had everything we needed.

We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steff1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Steph1986,

WOT a great surprise you received!! Thank you for taking the time to write about your AMAZING stay. I am delighted your enjoyed your time at Peppers The Sands Resort.

Kind regards,

Nicole Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Peppers The Sands Resort over the weekend.

We booked into the Studio Suite and were upgraded to the Premiere Suite, which was fantastic, and the staff were lovely and very welcoming.

Thank you for a fantastic experience, and we look forward to staying with you again soon!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: Premiere Suite was fantastic - large bath, extremely comfortable king size bed and separate lounge/d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Georgia,

Thank you for selecting to stay at Peppers The Sands Resort. The team will be delighted to read your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Please introduce yourself to me.

Kind regards,
Nicole Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

The service was terrible in the restaurant. Food was bland. Let's the whole hotel down. Disappointed. We wanted a romantic weekend away with some fine dining and the restaurant was like a child care centre. Staff not attentive. We ordered 2 drinks at a time to avoid waiting. Even the wedges after golf took forever!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussieange_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear AussieAnge11,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am very concerned and would love to know more information about when you were staying so I can follow up with your comments about Hanners Restaurant. If you get a chance I would greatly appreciate you contacting me on 03 5264 3306.

Kind regards,

Nicole Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Resort Torquay
Wyndham Resort Torquay
#3 of 5 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
1.7 mi away
Torquay Tropicana Motel
Torquay Tropicana Motel
#4 of 5 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
8.0 mi away
Barwon Heads Resort at 13th Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Barwon Valley Lodge
Barwon Valley Lodge
#1 of 17 in Geelong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
2.7 mi away
RACV Torquay Resort
RACV Torquay Resort
#1 of 5 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
10.9 mi away
Great Ocean Road Resort
Great Ocean Road Resort
#1 of 1 in Anglesea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay

Property: Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay
Address: 2 Sands Bvd, Torquay, Victoria 3228, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers The Sands Resort, Torquay offers a premium golf resort accommodation experience, just moments from the beautiful beaches of Torquay. Located just one hour from Melbourne and 20 minutes from Geelong it is perfect for a short break escape. Perched on the north headland of Torquay, the modern, sleek design of the resort provides a stunning environment to retreat and relax. Comprising two interconnecting, three level buildings, Peppers The Sands Resort's design offers privacy and breathtaking views over the surrounding region. The 112 accommodation rooms feature spacious room layouts with private balconies, tasteful furnishings and flat screen TV's. Suites offer separate lounge and dining spaces with premium facilities. Providing unique points of difference in each of the hotel's guest rooms redefines the experience as truly individual. A host of facilities and activities are provided on-site at Peppers The Sands Resort. Enjoy the stunning location while playing a round of golf on the 18-hole championship course or relax by taking a dip in the indoor heated lap pool or working out in the fully equipped gymnasium (Guests must be 18 years and older). End your eventful day with a relaxing drink at clubhouse Hanners Bar and Restaurant. The onsite Health Club is a members' club which offers an indoor lap pool and a fully-equipped gym. Please be aware that unless part of a valid membership persons under the age of 18 years are not permitted access to these facilities. The on-site Restaurant & Bar provides gourmet dining in a stylish yet casual atmosphere, providing the perfect ambience for an enjoyable evening. Chefs will create a range of delights from fresh local produce with an emphasis on crisp flavours that are well matched to the international wine list. The on-site Restaurant & Bar is open 7 days a week for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner. Room service is available during restaurant hours. The internationally recognised Bells Beach is just 10 minutes from Peppers The Sands Resort and this area is fast becoming renowned for its boutique wineries, restaurants, fishing, surfing, and scenic tours along the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay Hotel Torquay
Peppers The Sands Hotel
Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing