We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apart from Hannah's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Torquay
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great apart from Hannah's”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The service was terrible in the restaurant. Food was bland. Let's the whole hotel down. Disappointed. We wanted a romantic weekend away with some fine dining and the restaurant was like a child care centre. Staff not attentive. We ordered 2 drinks at a time to avoid waiting. Even the wedges after golf took forever!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussieange_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear AussieAnge11,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am very concerned and would love to know more information about when you were staying so I can follow up with your comments about Hanners Restaurant. If you get a chance I would greatly appreciate you contacting me on 03 5264 3306.

Kind regards,

Nicole Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    221
    121
    55
    25
See reviews for
88
325
23
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Gippsland, Victoria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Bought a 2-night deal on Wotif for $230, included upgrade to a golf course view room. Our room was on the first floor, and the view across to the dunes was wonderful. Watched the rabbits on the golf course at night and the waterbirds by day. (Also the golfers, who seemed happy to play on in the rain.)The room was spotlessly clean and very warm and comfortable. Loved the king-sized bed. Friendly smiling service from Jo at reception. A great place for a Winter relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linzjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear LinzJen

Thank you for selecting to stay at Peppers The Sands Resort for your recent stay in Torquay. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry the weather was less fortunate for you. Your comments will be shared with the team and Jo in particular will be delighted. We are very fortunate to have a wonderful team.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Weekend side trip from Melbourne vacation. Arrived early after drive from Melb & were lucky to be able to check in. Booked a golf course view suite. Certainly had a view!!! Watched golfers tee off from the warmth of our couch! Clean, modern room. Separate spacious toilet with own vanity. Bathroom had tub, large shower with excellent water pressure, twin vanities, ample bench space & shelves for own toiletries, plenty of large towels. TV in bedroom & another another in lounge. Sofa was side on to TV so viewing a little awkward. 8 seater dining table was handy as family in other rooms used our suite as the place to gather. Staff helpful. Only negative was our daughter found the fold out sofa very uncomfortable....kept rolling into the middle!! Fold out sofas & rollaway beds can be convenient, but are seldom comfy. Take an eye mask if you like a dark room....windows have roll down blinds, but they let light in at edges. Great place to stay if you are playing golf, but not directly on the coast if you want ocean views. Other places in Torqay offer these views, but probably at a cost! Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandytravels_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Sandytravels_10,

Thank you for selecting to stay at Peppers The Sands Resort for your Torquay weekend side trip from Melbourne. Our suites are great options for the family guests. Having the extra space and amenities is a real treat. Personally, I love the bath tubs!
I do hope you let the front office know about your daughters comments about the fold out sofa being uncomfortable. We certainly need to address that. If you did not let them know can I please ask that you contact me and let me know what suite number you stayed in so we can action this.

Thank you again,

Nicole Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Very nice rooms overlooking the golf course. Clean and spacious and in excellent condition.
Onsite restuarant is good but service can be very slow depending on number of people in.
Not close to town centre so need to drive if going out for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear No1Winedude,

Thank you so much for your post. Your comments will be shared with the appropriate managers to discuss.

Kind regards,

Nicole Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolmie, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend escape. Room was terrific overlooked the golf course. Bed was really comfortable. Every thing you could ask for. Huge carpark to leave your car. Great gym and lovely heated pool. The staff at reception where very helpfull. Gave us some maps of places to see and a map of Torquay showing us where the eating places can be found

Room Tip: Book a view room overlooking the golf course you will love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Johno C,

Thank you for selecting to stay at Peppers The Sands Resort for your stay in Torquay. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to post your kind words. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Nicole Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We paid well over the top price for just an average basic room. Our bed was very uncomfortable, comprised of two very obvious single beds. Very hard, and low mattress. There was stains on the bed and bath. Customer service is definitely not adhered to here, staff are not friendly.It was nearly an ordeal for them mum call us a taxi! Definitely not what one was expecting from a supposedly 4 star* resort! In my personal opinion, and experience at best this hotel stands as a 3 star. The indoor pool, was not heated as stated. Pool and gym closes early on Sundays and public holidays, before 6. To me that is ridiculous, your on a getaway facilities should be provided for longer than that. Especially at the prices this hotel is charging. Very disappointed with our stay here, glad it was only one night. We won't be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamachef1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear iamachef1988,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us. You have a valid comment about the pool not being heated. Late on Friday afternoon our pool boiler malfunctioned. Our contractor was onsite very early Saturday morning. Parts needed to be ordered and replaced. The temperature dropped to 26 degrees which is 2 degrees cooler than normal.
Our resort offers a full private health club. Personally, I believe what we offer is superior to most hotel gyms. We do our very best to communicate to all our guests prior to staying the opening hours. I am sorry you were not aware of the opening hours.

Kind regards,

Nicole Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have stayed at Peppers before, but not for a few years. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. The location is good - only a 5-10 minute drive (max) from supermarkets, numerous restaurants and cafes, and the surf shops. You can easily walk to the beach. We also stayed over the long weekend and saw signage that the pool heating wasn't working - but when we went down to the fitness area, we were told the water was still around 25 degrees. Being a long weekend, it might have been difficult to source a tradesman to complete the repair? The lack of a mini bar suited us, as we usually travel with our own drinks and snacks and end up removing items from the mini bar to fit in our stash, we didn't have to here. We had breakfast on Sunday morning, but it unfortunately left a lot to be desired. I'm a huge fan of a good hot breakfast, emphasis on the word 'hot'. The bacon was stone cold, the hash browns and scrambled eggs not much better. When there were a number of dirty dishes on our table, only some would be cleared for some reason. That being said, there is a good range of breakfast food available and if it was hot, I imagine it would be quite nice. At $18 per head instead of the $30-$40 we would be charged in the city, I felt the price was reasonable. We would come back again, but maybe only if we picked up another mystery deal for a low price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Lou,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Peppers The Sands Resort and taking the time to post your comments. Yes, our pool boiler went down late Friday night, Our very reliable contractor was on site very early Saturday morning, a part had to be ordered. Good news, it has been fixed and the water is back at 28 degrees. Lovely temperature for swimming laps. You would have received an email from me apologising for this inconvenience with a return offer.
I do hope we get the opportunity of welcoming you back to Peppers The Sands Resort.

Kind regards,
Nicole Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Resort Torquay
Wyndham Resort Torquay
#3 of 5 in Torquay
513 reviews
1.7 mi away
Torquay Tropicana Motel
Torquay Tropicana Motel
#4 of 5 in Torquay
92 reviews
8.0 mi away
Barwon Heads Resort at 13th Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
RACV Torquay Resort
RACV Torquay Resort
#1 of 5 in Torquay
492 reviews
10.9 mi away
Great Ocean Road Resort
Great Ocean Road Resort
#1 of 1 in Anglesea
83 reviews
15.3 mi away
BIG4 Beacon Resort
BIG4 Beacon Resort
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay

Property: Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay
Address: 2 Sands Bvd, Torquay, Victoria 3228, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers The Sands Resort, Torquay offers a premium golf resort accommodation experience, just moments from the beautiful beaches of Torquay. Located just one hour from Melbourne and 20 minutes from Geelong it is perfect for a short break escape. Perched on the north headland of Torquay, the modern, sleek design of the resort provides a stunning environment to retreat and relax. Comprising two interconnecting, three level buildings, Peppers The Sands Resort's design offers privacy and breathtaking views over the surrounding region. The 112 accommodation rooms feature spacious room layouts with private balconies, tasteful furnishings and flat screen TV's. Suites offer separate lounge and dining spaces with premium facilities. Providing unique points of difference in each of the hotel's guest rooms redefines the experience as truly individual. A host of facilities and activities are provided on-site at Peppers The Sands Resort. Enjoy the stunning location while playing a round of golf on the 18-hole championship course or relax by taking a dip in the indoor heated lap pool or working out in the fully equipped gymnasium (Guests must be 18 years and older). End your eventful day with a relaxing drink at clubhouse Hanners Bar and Restaurant. The onsite Health Club is a members' club which offers an indoor lap pool and a fully-equipped gym. Please be aware that unless part of a valid membership persons under the age of 18 years are not permitted access to these facilities. The on-site Restaurant & Bar provides gourmet dining in a stylish yet casual atmosphere, providing the perfect ambience for an enjoyable evening. Chefs will create a range of delights from fresh local produce with an emphasis on crisp flavours that are well matched to the international wine list. The on-site Restaurant & Bar is open 7 days a week for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner. Room service is available during restaurant hours. The internationally recognised Bells Beach is just 10 minutes from Peppers The Sands Resort and this area is fast becoming renowned for its boutique wineries, restaurants, fishing, surfing, and scenic tours along the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay Hotel Torquay
Peppers The Sands Hotel
Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing