We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Torquay
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“so peaceful”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed for a wedding and our room was lovely and clean with a gorgeous view overlooking the golf course. The food was amazing and very morish and the service from staff were a complete delight, nothing was too much trouble for them. The only addition they could add, would be some balcony chairs, or even a sun lounge for a afternoon siesta! :)

Regards,
Erin

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErinC3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear ErinC,

Thank you for your comments. I am delighted you enjoyed the resort. Most Saturday nights we host a wedding and your comments about the food and staff is what we hear every week. We have a wonderful team that go over and beyond to ensure our wedding couples, their family and friends are made feel welcome and leave wanting to quickly return.

I hope we get to see you again.

Thank you again,

Nicole Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    221
    120
    55
    25
See reviews for
88
324
23
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
255 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for golf and exploring Torquay before our start to the Great Ocean Drive. Really a perfect choice. I was unable to book a golf view facing room online and was willing to pay upgrade if they had such a room available when we arrive. The reception gave me a pleasant surprise telling me that they have already upgraded us to a golf view facing room with no extra charges! That was a very nice thing to do. All the tee times booked before my trip were also in place. The room was very pleasant, clean with good sized comfortable beds and most importantly - quiet. The balcony was spacious but I was disappointed that there were no chairs placed at the balcony - how long can one stand to admire the view or have a cup of coffee? Just 2 simple balcony chairs would have achieved much appreciation. As with most Australian resorts, the hangers provided are not the usual removable ones which I found to be annoying. Removable hangers make it easier to hang clothes and gives the appearance of more sophistication. Also was told by reception that there is no free wifi (as with most Australian hotels). Other than these 3 issues, our stay was truly relaxing. We ate at Hanners' restaurant for dinner and breakfasts. There's different menus for different periods of time of the day. Their freshly made pizza is truly good. The food was top quality and service truly attentive. Breakfasts on weekends have bigger varieties than on a weekday. There were no fresh fruits on weekday. The golfing grounds are in good condition and well managed. There's a gym and swimming pool which we did not use as we spent quite a number of hours golfing. The gym and pool are good sizes. Parking is free and lots of spaces available. All in all, a great holiday made even better by helpful hotel staff.

Room Tip: Rooms with golf view are recommended. If not, you face a car park and may have noise problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mosto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Mosto,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed post. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I would have to agree with you; we offer an excellent resort with top notch service. This is our aim every day. Thank you again for your time . All your comments will be used in planning future business decisions.

I hope you enjoy the rest of your Australian holiday.

Kind regards,

Nicole Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed 2 nights with family. Had 3 rooms. Very clean, great bathroom, fabulous shower. Dinner was nice. Staff friendly. Gerard out waiter was outstanding. Very helpful and with a smile!!!
Only needed some chairs on the balcony to be perfect! I would have loved to sit outside to catch the ocean breeze. Maybe I will ask for some next time, as I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleencrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Colleencrews,

Thank you for the kind words. I am delighted you and your family had a nice stay. Your comments about Jarryd will be passed along to his manager. Jarryd will be delighted. Please introduce yourself to me on your next stay.

Safe travels.

Kind regards,

Nicole Hill
General Manaager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Spent a night here over the summer holidays.
Room was clean & with a good view over the golf course.
No mini bar in room, which I was surprised at as this is not a basic hotel.
Had pre dinner drinks/coktails in the bar which was nice (they do cocktail happy hour),
but there were faimlys letting there kids run around riding there scooters on the golf greens.
Not a quiet drink on a nice evening....
Dinner was in Hanners restaurant, which for ok.
King size bed was 2 singles pushed together, this is a pet hate of my wifes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Rards,

Thank you for your recent post. We are a golfing resort but welcome many more guests who do not actually play golf.

As we also offer an outside casual alfresco area it makes a great spot on a summers evening. Our cocktails/happy hour has been a real hit over summer.
This summer we did attract many families especially on a Friday night when we offer entertainment. We are doing our best to control active children. Recently we had to introduce no wheeled recreation devices as it was becoming a safety issue for our guests, the children and our staff. We want all our guests to enjoy our beautiful golf resort.

In regards to no mini bar. We do offer 24 hour room service and a snack vending machine that keeps the costs down for our guests. Your comments will be saved and used for further business making decisions. Mini bars will be part of that.

Kind regards,

Nicole Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My partner and I with our family went to the sands to have dinner and see the venue rooms as we are considering where to have our wedding, we rang to arrange a appointment but as being a weekend we could not organise one on such late notice however the staff were happy to let us walk through to see the function rooms. Not only did the staff member on the door show us around but the waiter in the restaurant and the chef also offered to show us around and give us a bit more information. The chef was also able to provide us a taste of some of their finger food and show us some of the meals we could order which would be simular to what would be served at a wedding. We enjoyed the food, the seafood marinara and the entree duck dish was beautiful and the sundea pavola was to die for... I wish I had ordered it only for myself.. unfortunately I had to share it with my partner.. the only down fall was that tthe seafood pizza didn't have pawns on it but that's minor and the entrance front inner glass sliding doors were filthy but we informed staff about that and it was spotless by the time we left. Well done guys great job.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CustomerKell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear CustomerKell,

I am delighted to read you were happy with your recent visit to Peppers The Sands Resort. We have a wonderful team that do their best daily...We are all about you.

We would welcome the opportunity to set up an appointment with our wedding coordinator. Sundays and Mondays are her days off but, if you need to come on either of these days we can pre arrange a solution for you.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you, your partner, family & friends back to celebrate your wedding.

Kind regards,

Nicole Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Check in a little slow...
ATM machine not working in the foyer .
It is hard to find where to park your car relevant to the room .. why not supply a map with floor and rooms.
Bar staff ... one young guy had attitude...didn't want tobe there.
Rooms o.k. and good veiw of the rabbits in the morning.and clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Pete,

Thank you for your post. I am concerned you only rated us average. I am very curious if you were with the large group that checked in over the last few days or on your own. We are normally known for a very smooth and quick check in so I sincerely apologize that you did not receive this.

In regards to the map required. This is a great suggestion. It will be discussed at our next managers meeting. We have not received comments about this in the past.

We have notified NAB who operates the machine who always attends very promptly.

The mention of the bar staff member. This is not normal...Our staff are fantastic so I would be greatly appreciative if you can call me to let me know who or when this occurred as I would like to follow up on this as soon as possible. Maybe you completed our guest feedback form and have noted this.

Kind regards,

Nicole Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curlewis, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We recently spent a night there with friends. Friendly staff, good accommodation. Rooms are very clean with a comfortable bed, good shower and very roomy. Great views over the golf course too. Breakfast was good. Dinner was superb, also one of our party had not been well and it was no problem to provide them with an alternative. Overall an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course which has a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccii, General Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Shirley053,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted to read from a senior reviewer your stay was an enjoyable one. Your tip is right...only an additional $25 for a view studio. Next time try one of our suites...they are simply gorgeous.

Happy travels.

Nicole Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Resort Torquay
Wyndham Resort Torquay
#3 of 5 in Torquay
511 reviews
1.7 mi away
Torquay Tropicana Motel
Torquay Tropicana Motel
#4 of 5 in Torquay
92 reviews
8.0 mi away
Barwon Heads Resort at 13th Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
RACV Torquay Resort
RACV Torquay Resort
#1 of 5 in Torquay
490 reviews
10.9 mi away
Great Ocean Road Resort
Great Ocean Road Resort
#1 of 1 in Anglesea
81 reviews
15.3 mi away
BIG4 Beacon Resort
BIG4 Beacon Resort
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay

Property: Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay
Address: 2 Sands Bvd, Torquay, Victoria 3228, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers The Sands Resort, Torquay offers a premium golf resort accommodation experience, just moments from the beautiful beaches of Torquay. Located just one hour from Melbourne and 20 minutes from Geelong it is perfect for a short break escape. Perched on the north headland of Torquay, the modern, sleek design of the resort provides a stunning environment to retreat and relax. Comprising two interconnecting, three level buildings, Peppers The Sands Resort's design offers privacy and breathtaking views over the surrounding region. The 112 accommodation rooms feature spacious room layouts with private balconies, tasteful furnishings and flat screen TV's. Suites offer separate lounge and dining spaces with premium facilities. Providing unique points of difference in each of the hotel's guest rooms redefines the experience as truly individual. A host of facilities and activities are provided on-site at Peppers The Sands Resort. Enjoy the stunning location while playing a round of golf on the 18-hole championship course or relax by taking a dip in the indoor heated lap pool or working out in the fully equipped gymnasium (Guests must be 18 years and older). End your eventful day with a relaxing drink at clubhouse Hanners Bar and Restaurant. The onsite Health Club is a members' club which offers an indoor lap pool and a fully-equipped gym. Please be aware that unless part of a valid membership persons under the age of 18 years are not permitted access to these facilities. The on-site Restaurant & Bar provides gourmet dining in a stylish yet casual atmosphere, providing the perfect ambience for an enjoyable evening. Chefs will create a range of delights from fresh local produce with an emphasis on crisp flavours that are well matched to the international wine list. The on-site Restaurant & Bar is open 7 days a week for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner. Room service is available during restaurant hours. The internationally recognised Bells Beach is just 10 minutes from Peppers The Sands Resort and this area is fast becoming renowned for its boutique wineries, restaurants, fishing, surfing, and scenic tours along the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay Hotel Torquay
Peppers The Sands Hotel
Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing