We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently great food and service”
Review of Scorched - CLOSED

Scorched
Price range: $37 - $37
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Torquay
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Consistently great food and service”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is my favourite restaurant. The food and service is always of a consistently high standard. We have dined here many times and we keep coming back. I love the shared dishes and pretty much everything on the menu is delicious. The hardest decision is what not to have. Do leave room for the desert board for two - yum!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SW_Torquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    36
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Happy Munching in Torquay”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The cuisine here is kind of "modern Australian" with Middle Eastern leanings and it works very well. It's best to share the dishes. We started with a plate of fried school prawns with chili salt and lemon and yes, you can eat the whole prawn shell and all and we recommend you do - crunchy and yummy! Next came a bowl of marinated beetroot with goat's cheese and walnuts, along with a plate of trout kibbeh. Don't miss the scrumptious little duck pies. We then had an item called torn beef and all I can say is that it tasted much better than the curious name might suggest! A dessert board for two and cups of peppermint tea rounded off a very pleasant experience. There's a good wine list. Oh - and then there's the sea view through the Norfolk pines!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules8Perkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Loved the flavours and variety - often this is hard for vegetarians like us, but every single dish was a winner! They were even flexible enough to alter dishes so they were meat-free. The service was exemplary. They made recommendations and explained each dish as it was brought out. They were fast, efficient and courteous. The place was so packed, they were turning people away at the door - ensure you book. I need to figure out what was in that quinoa taboulie...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dalal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Attempts to be a very classy restaurant, but is very average and very overpriced. Rather pretentious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melb
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and service to match the summer vibe.”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Dropped by for a Friday night early serving and had great service from friendly staff. The trout fish, the crunchy prawns, tuna and collie dishes were terrific and provided a lovely an interesting meal. Many thanks!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graeme A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scorched also viewed

 
Torquay, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing