We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has met our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Torquay Tropicana Motel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Has met our expectations”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We have booked Tropicana Motel based on the recommendations at tripadvisor. The motel is about 5 minutes driving distance outside of the town center. The motel and the rooms look like you expect from a motel with the name "Tropicana": They could easily make a 70s flick in the premises, if directors look for authentic set locations. You can borrow movies and a dvd player, internet was not for free. We visited in February 2012 and did not chose to have breakfast as it was nicer to have it in the town. From my personal feeling is that it is a bit overprized (10 - 15%) but obviously Torquay is Australias surf city No. 1 and therefore hotels are more expensive.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lofts3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    47
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
26
40
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Black Forest, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

My (adult) daughter and I spent our last night in Victoria here, after driving west to east across the great ocean road. The room was completely adequate, the fellow at reception was friendly and had good suggestions for where we could find a reasonable dinner after a long day, and it was generally just fine. But nothing special. We'd be happy to stay there again under similar circumstances.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Metrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemon Tree Passage, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

we had a room with a seperate bedroom and spa. The service was great and the location was convenient to everything.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Check in was super fast (we had prepaid online) and friendly. The room, while not new, was immaculately clean and had everything we needed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I have stayed at this motel twice now. Once with the family (inlaws and my son) and once on my honeymoon. I have no complints from either stays, only praise. The owners were cheerful and very polite and the cooked breakfasts are to be commended. This motel is close to town centre and beautiful beaches. Quiet area. Enjoyed my time there and hope to get back there in the future.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
292 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

The Tropicana is a delightfully quaint motel in Torquay. The rooms are exceptionally clean, spacious and comfortable. It's a great place to begin your road trip on the Great Ocean Road. Easy access to the local eateries, surf shops and town center of Torquay, makes this a wonderful location to consider. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camodoc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Resort Torquay
Wyndham Resort Torquay
#3 of 5 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
1.7 mi away
Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay
1.3 mi away
RACV Torquay Resort
RACV Torquay Resort
#1 of 5 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Surf City Motel
Surf City Motel
#5 of 5 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
9.3 mi away
Great Ocean Road Resort
Great Ocean Road Resort
#1 of 1 in Anglesea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.1 mi away
Torquay Foreshore Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torquay Tropicana Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torquay Tropicana Motel

Property: Torquay Tropicana Motel
Address: 2 Grossmans Road | Cnr Surfcoast Hwy & Grossmans Rd, Torquay, Victoria 3228, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Torquay Tropicana Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the coastal town of Torquay, Torquay Tropicana Motel boasts an outdoor swimming pool, free WiFi and free private parking within a 20-minute walk from Torquay’s patrolled beaches. Guests can relax in the garden, play table tennis or prepare a meal using the shared BBQ facilities. Located at the start of the Great Ocean Road, Torquay Tropicana Motel is 10-minute walk from the area’s famous surf shopping outlets including Quicksilver. The restaurants and cafes on Pearl and Gilbert Streets are also a 5-minute drive away. Guests can visit local surf spots including Bells Beach, which is a 10-minute drive from the motel. Each air-conditioned room at the Torquay Tropicana Motel offers a flat-screen TV and refreshment facilities including an electric kettle, a microwave and a refrigerator. The private bathrooms include free toiletries and a hairdryer. All rooms have a lovely garden view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Torquay Tropicana Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torquay Tropicana Motel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing