We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Conference Venue” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of RACV Torquay Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
RACV Torquay Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
163 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Excellent Conference Venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Selected as the venue for a recent 2 day business meeting. Conference facilities are excellent.
My room, complete with an enormous floor to ceiling window overlooked the golf course. The decor is very chic, sophisticated and modern. (it took me a while to figure out how to turn off the bedside lamp ~ I won't spoil it for you!). Food was good without being outstanding. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Would like to return for a "long weekend" experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACVTorquayResort, Manager at RACV Torquay Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear 'Sue M'

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent experience as a conference delegate at the RACV Torquay Resort. We’re delighted that you enjoyed the accommodation and conference facilities, but hope that you also had an opportunity to enjoy some leisure time and make use some of the other facilities, such as the day spa or fitness centre while you were here. If not, then we hope it will encourage you to return as a leisure guest in the future.

The bedside lights are certainly a feature, but can cause a little confusion in figuring out how they operate. I will also not spoil it for future guests …. but if anyone needs a cheat sheet they will find it in the room compendiums.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to the RACV Torquay Resort when you next have an opportunity to visit Torquay and the Surf Coast.

Kind regards
Dean Newell
Resort Manager
RACV Torquay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    99
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
93
219
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

The facilities for our annual conference we terrific. The staff were incredulity helpful and very pleasant to deal with. The lunches, morning and afternoon teas we very good. The views from the conference room were extraordinary - a view over the golf course and onward to the sea. Well worth going.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank AL9999q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACVTorquayResort, Manager at RACV Torquay Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear 'ALS55'

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your experience following your recent conference at the RACV Torquay Resort. We're very proud of the facilities that we have available for conferences and events and hope that the view across the golf course provided a welcome break from work, but was not too distracting.

Having experienced the resort as a conference delegate we hope that you may have the opportunity to return on leisure. We look forward to welcoming you back if you have the opportunity to enjoy a break away to Torquay and the Great Ocean Road.

Kind regards
Dean Newell
Resort Manager
RACV Torquay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Yes the RACV resort is quite nice, but that's after you get past the RUDE and ARROGANT staff including the Manager. My family and I have been to the RACV Torquay a number of times and each time we have visited we have had issues with the staff at the front desk. On our most recent trip we had booked 2 rooms for a family of 4, and when we arrived we were told that the rooms were not interconnecting but sat as "close as possible" to each other. Thinking they were only within 3-4 rooms of each other, as you would expect from being "as close as possible," to our disgust they were in fact at opposite ends of the floor. But it didn't stop there! After having issues with one of the room keys not working we finally were able to sort it out and enter the room. However this was the last straw, we entered and the room was a disabled room. Now I am not against this, I think it is great that RACV accommodate for everyone's needs, but not if your a recurring customer and have expectations and were not told that you were booked into a disabled room let alone the opposite end to the rest of your family. Mind you, the manager at the front desk were very rude and showed absolutely no customer service at all simply telling us that it was pretty much bad luck and that when we booked, because we spoke to the staff after 7pm they were not trained in giving any more specific information regarding the types of rooms we had booked, only to take our credit card details. PATHETIC! RACV TORQUAY WOULD NEVER STAY HERE EVER AGAIN! DISGUSTING!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank AnonTraveller444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACVTorquayResort, Manager at RACV Torquay Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear 'AnonTraveller444',

We are writing in response to your post.

Your booking was made only hours before arrival. At that time we advised that these were the last two available rooms, and that they were not interconnecting. As we explained, we were not prepared to inconvenience other guests just to accommodate your requests. Our staff remained professional despite your appalling behaviour towards them, and we think your decision to stay elsewhere was in everyone's best interest.

Sincerely
Dean Newell
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

The RACV Resort at Torquay has only been open for just under a year and we had our first experience this weekend.
The rooms are spacious and elegant and have all you need. All rooms open to the golf course and some with a surf view. The facilities are first class and the restaurant was excellent. My customer experience was more around the friendliness of the staff. they were amazing. We didn't play golf but will be back to experience what looks like a fantastic course.

Well done RACV.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room to be able to see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACVTorquayResort, Manager at RACV Torquay Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear “John W”,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at RACV Torquay Resort.

We are very proud of the facilities that we are able to offer our members and guests, but it is the fantastic team of people looking after them during their stay that often makes the difference. We’re delighted that this was your experience and that the staff you dealt with had such a positive impact during your time with us.

Our recently redeveloped golf course is growing in nicely and we hope that you will have the opportunity to experience it for yourself in the not too distant future.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to RACV Torquay Resort when you are next visiting Torquay and the Surf Coast.

Kind regards

Dean Newell
Resort Manager
RACV Torquay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

My daughter and I stayed for a couple of days in January during the heatwave and had a lovely time. The rooms were lovely (we stayed in an ocean view), the breakfast was excellent, the lounge is lovely, pool is lovely but indoors. The only problem was the relatively small area for the pool lounge was disapointing but we will be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACVTorquayResort, Manager at RACV Torquay Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear “Lucy787”,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at the RACV Torquay Resort. We are delighted that you and your daughter enjoyed your time with us, escaping the heat and relaxing in comfort.

Whilst we are still in our first year of operation we have now had a reasonable opportunity to assess which areas of the resort are working the best for our members and guests, and which could be improved. The pool terrace area has, as you have observed, been identified as an area that could be improved and we are in the early stages of considering a number of ways that this could be achieved.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the RACV Torquay Resort when you are next visiting Torquay and the Great Ocean Road.

Kind regards

Dean Newell
Resort Manager
RACV Torquay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

A fantastic 3 night stay despite Torquay's unpredictable weather. There are a few odd idiosyncrasies for example check in time is to the minute (arrive just 10 minutes early and you have to wait - not that that's a problem the foyer is large and impressive - but 10 minutes - really? so we sat and watched the receptionist for 10 minutes and then checked in! Aussie humor but an international guest may not find this quite so amusing).

Our room had a "wow" factor, large, spacious, decorated in a modern understated style, king bed very comfortable, desk/chair, sofa and small table. Bathroom: large bath, separate shower. Best feature: view of golf course and ocean vista, massive windows with electric blackout blinds that open allowing wonderful beach air in. Breakfast buffet: very good, dinner: at the restaurant (pre-book) excellent. Unfortunately despite being at the resort for 3 nights I was unable to experience a spa service - must be good, it was booked out! recommend book as soon as you check in. Gym: well equipped & included fitness classes. Pool: fabulous included disabled facilities. Although the resort was very busy - because of the open plan design & sheer space - it didn't seem to be (modern, elegant & impressive, the resort does not have a seaside or nautical feel there are no star fish or sea shells here). Fabulous Aboriginal art work adorn the foyer walls. Room service (restricted hours) was good. You need your room card/key to access accommodation levels.
Location is good, quite central - set amidst an amazing golf course, with a couple of lovely walking paths surrounding the resort; it is a decent walk to the main beach & strip shops - I wouldn't recommend lugging a surf board and all the gear for a day at the beach I would drive!! You need to drive to the Surf Factory Outlet retailers, the main shopping centre or Bells Beach. There is a great children's play area.

Understandably with a new resort there are a few teething problems (as expected) as staff endeavor to provide fabulous faultless customer service for all the guests but I am sure with time this service will be exceptional. We will definitely be returning for another wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nobley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACVTorquayResort, Manager at RACV Torquay Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear “nobley”,

Thank you for taking the time to complete such a fantastic review following your recent stay at the RACV Torquay Resort.

We have had some great feedback on our accommodation, it is certainly hard to beat the golf course and ocean views. If you do nothing else whilst you are here the rooms provide a perfect oasis in which to escape everyday life. The advertised check-in time is our commitment to the latest time by which we will have a room ready for arriving guests. If the room is serviced and ready and a guest has arrived then we will generally complete the check-in process early so that they can make the most of the facilities.

It’s certainly disappointing that you were unable to book a treatment in One Spa, the team in here are doing a fantastic job and receiving great feedback from our members and guests. One Spa is particularly busy on weekends and as both treatment rooms and therapists are limited we often struggle to be able to meet the demand. We’d encourage you to book in advance when you are next planning to visit and this can be done at the same time that you make your accommodation reservation.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the RACV Torquay Resort when you are next visiting Torquay and the Great Ocean Road.

Kind regards

Dean Newell
Resort Manager
RACV Torquay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We love the RACV resorts but this new one was really exceptional in every way. The room was large and modern with a huge bathroom and shower. Bed was really comfy with fabulous pillows. Decor was really lovely and colourful. Free Wifi a great extra. The restaurants and lounge are waited by lovely and courteous staff. Buffet breakfast was included in tariff and it was excellent, pancakes with berries a special extra. The One Spa was a lovely place to spend some time relaxing and rejuvenating. All in all a great place to stay. Worth every cent!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kezza4948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACVTorquayResort, Manager at RACV Torquay Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear “Kezza4948”,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at the RACV Torquay Resort.

We are very proud of the facilities that we are able to offer our members and guests, delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and also found it to be great value. It is the great team of people that we have looking after our members and guests that can make a good experience great and we’re delighted that they added to the enjoyment of your stay.

Congratulations on your anniversary, we hope to welcome you back to the RACV Torquay Resort for your next special weekend away.

Kind regards

Dean Newell
Resort Manager
RACV Torquay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Resort Torquay
Wyndham Resort Torquay
#3 of 5 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
22.8 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
1.3 mi away
Torquay Tropicana Motel
Torquay Tropicana Motel
#4 of 5 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay
22.7 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#2 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
8.3 mi away
Great Ocean Road Resort
Great Ocean Road Resort
#1 of 1 in Anglesea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RACV Torquay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RACV Torquay Resort

Property: RACV Torquay Resort
Address: 1 Great Ocean Rd, Torquay, Victoria 3228, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — RACV Torquay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched within the backdrop of the Torquay and Jan Juc beaches, RACV Torquay Resort is set on an expansive golf course with spectacular ocean views and direct beach access.Offering something for all tastes, RACV Torquay Resort features a range of facilities including a family friendly Restaurant and bar, Day Spa, Indoor pool, children’s playground, conference and meeting facilities and the picture perfect location for a wedding ceremony and reception. This picturesque resort is ideally located. A leisurely 75 minute drive from Melbourne CBD and 40 minutes from Avalon airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, TravelClick and HRS so you can book your RACV Torquay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
RACV Torquay Resort Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing