We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sticks and Stones

Sticks and Stones
Ranked #17 of 83 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
609 reviews
358 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

An appealing breakfast menu with a few unusual dishes. The sweet potato and corn fritters with spinach & beet root was a healthy and satisfying breakfast and the all important coffee was very good. My companions enjoyed a croissant. The food in the cabinet looked so good (and French) that I purchased a couple of baguettes, a pulled pork with cabernet paste and a salami with roasted grapes, to take home for lunch. It's not near the beach but is handy if you are shopping for surf stuff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    23
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Shopping Reprieve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stopped in after doing the Great Ocean Road Surf Tours Walking Tour for a quick shop. Have the Prickly Moses Summer Ale (beer)!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelbSportsTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best coffee and breakfast in Torquay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Best coffee you could possibly get in Torquay. Great food and great service. Loved the home smoked salmon - out of this world! Highly recommend if passing through the surf coast, a must!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

!I never thought I would say it, but I would be happy to drive from melbourne to have breaky here, then drive home, not just as a breaky stop on the way to the great ocean rd. Brilliant service, amazing coffee with single origins and a ripper winter blend, and the food was spectacular. Had the french toast and my girlfriend had the fried egg and asparagus. Both were so well presented we almost couldnt eat it! So glad we did though, because it was a perfect balance of flavours. Definitely making the trip here again!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pichantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A very good coffee in amongst the surf shops”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

If you are into good coffee then you cant go past a visit to this popular cafe tucked in among the surf coast plaza shops. Coffee, cakes and lunch are available every day and it is a regular stop for me for coffee and occasionally a cake.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chooka57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sticks and Stones also viewed

Torquay, Victoria
Torquay, Victoria
 
Torquay, Victoria
Torquay, Victoria
 

Been to Sticks and Stones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing