We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place”
Review of Surf City Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surf City Motel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Torquay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great place and,simone the host was awesome. She even done our washing. Nice and close to everything and pity we couldnt stay longer,was start of schoolies, so everything was full,we travelled with our 9month old and was supplied with a cot, will be back again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnycoasttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    26
    29
    15
    21
See reviews for
20
44
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The room was dirty the couch was ripped the heater didn't work properly the photos on the website didn't look anything lke what is was actually like. Very dissappointed with the overall experience.

Cheri

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheri1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

williamstown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

As a sales rep i have stayed in alot of motels, and surf city motel would have to be the worst ive stayed in. Very very dissapointed with the room its self. Location was fantastic, directly across from the beach and a 2 minute walk to the main street. But thats all it had going for it. Everything in the motel was a disaster!!!!!!! started with not even being able to get into the room because the front door handle was falling off! Curtains old and dated and falling off the hooks. Carpet looked as if it hadnt been vacumed for months... lifted the dust ruffle up on the beds and there where chunks of hair and food crumbs all under all 3 beds!!!! Cobwebs and spiders in all corners of the rooms. Squashed mozzies on the roof .fitting for the smoke detector.... but no smoke detector???? handles on cupboards falling off as you open them. All power switches broken... and extremly dangerous!!!! couldnt use to boil the kettle or use a hair dryer???? safety odvioulsy dosent seem to factor at all????? no tea towels, or dish sponges. Fridge all broken in the front with black tape sticking it together on the front door !! Broken ventian blinds, just hanging in kids room.Tables and chairs dirty.Room phone and remote control for the tv where dirty with food stuck in all the buttons.missing light bulbs in bath room... with the sockets all rusted. Microwave from the 80's.No motel guest book?? Pool area unclean and untidy!! Room filled with bugs, making us itch all night.... disgusting. Worst motel we have stayed in ever... would not recomend anyone waste good money to stay there. Absolute disgrace, i was very very angry that i wasted my good money on such a terrible place. Dont understand how someone can get away with charging people good money for a terrible motel in that kind of condition! Total disgrace !!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay here....ever!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelique m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
696cindy, Manager at Surf City Motel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
It is a shame that not all clients are as mindful as you ..you raise quite a few issues that I felt myself and my staff adressed well A bus full of young men can sometimes be a bit heavy handed on things and just because things are old does not mean they are "dirty". I thank you for your responce because it has made me take a lot more notice of this web site even though it feels a bit like high school with she says I says comments .Very sorry your 3 day stay was so unpleasent if you had come to the reception we may of been able to work out somthing. This web site sure keeps you on your toes which is good I'm happy to take the good with bad I'm just glad that the good comes in the many return customers we have some who have turned into great friends, we also strongly push for new clients to have a look before they book because 3 stars is not everyones cup of tea and we are well aware our location is our best feature if our rating was any higher the price would match ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We had a good look around Torquay at most of the available accommodation. Although this place doesn't get great reviews on here, it's actually much nicer than a lot of other motels in the same price bracket. We found the rooms pretty clean, perhaps a little dated but in no way dirty. They were also relatively large, with good amenities and well looked after. Yes the rooms could do with modernisation, but if you're there to enjoy the beaches and cafes, then Surf City is a great place to crash.

The attached bar/restaurant is actually really nice, serving fantastic burgers in a relaxed atmosphere.

A plus is there's also free wi-fi!

You're also a stones throw from Moby Cafe - possibly one of the best places you'll get breakfast on your entire OZ trip..... Well worth a visit (if you can squeeze past the yummy mummys).

Room Tip: All the same in one line..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2012

The staff were friendly & helpful but that is all that can be said about the motel. It is not clean, very tired & overly expensive. Would not recommend a stay there. One night was too long.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wazk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
151 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We relied on the tourist offices for bookings and this was their only error but not their fault, a bit of cleaning by the Motel would make it an nice place, even though it’s a bit tired, old white goods and well worn stained doors, a bit of effort and it could be very good. One thing we found odd, we had a microwave etc but no plates, so a few cents at Woollies got us some plastic ones, which came in handy for breakfast cereals from then on. However, what really shocked us was the biggest spider we’d ever seen, in the bathroom, it had probably been there for ages, for when we looked the ceiling was covered with cobwebs and also some in the main room, the room was clean apart from above head height. Simple basic cleanliness, housekeeping and hygiene, no excuse what so ever.

The pool was small and didn’t look too clever either but a load of teenagers seemed to be OK with it and they did glow in the dark, nicely, later. Free WiFi wasn’t too clever in the room and I had to go into the bar, not a real hardship you could park at your door, which is great with cases and a couple of seats on the porch were nice in the sun. Good location but the town does look a bit tired in parts yet the beach opposite is lovely and we paid $135 for a night, which seems a lot cheaper than some on Trip Advisor and not too bad for what we had if it was cleaned.

Nice anecdote: the lady at the tourist office phoned the motel to check availability and the conversation I heard was something like this “Talking tourist office here, eve yoo any etc etc”, I was then handed the phone and chatted to the friendly receptionist, who was from Scotland, as I am. When I hung up the tourist office lady said, “I’m glad you talked to her, I couldn’t understand a word she said.” So much for us all speaking English.

Room Tip: People enjoy themselves at the pool, so it can be noisy and WiFi only works well near the office, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.9 mi away
Torquay Tropicana Motel
Torquay Tropicana Motel
#4 of 5 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Resort Torquay
Wyndham Resort Torquay
#3 of 5 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.9 mi away
RACV Torquay Resort
RACV Torquay Resort
#1 of 5 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay
0.5 mi away
Torquay Foreshore Caravan Park
9.2 mi away
Great Ocean Road Resort
Great Ocean Road Resort
#1 of 1 in Anglesea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf City Motel

Property: Surf City Motel
Address: Surf City Motel 35 The Esplanade, Torquay, Victoria 3228, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surf City Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Surf City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Torquay
Torquay Best Western
Surf City Motel Torquay, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing