We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you do not know what you are doing when it comes to surfing, see these guys because they are knowledgable and will spend the ”

Torquay Surfing Academy
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.54*
and up
Two Hour Surf Lesson in Torquay on the Great Ocean Road
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Torquay Surfing Academy. We offer surfing lessons for all ages and abilities! Lessons held around Torquay and the Surf Coast daily. Surfboard hire also available, as well as body boards, wetsuits, kayaks, Stand Up Paddleboards and bikes. Contact us today!
1 review
“If you do not know what you are doing when it comes to surfing, see these guys because they are knowledgable and will spend the ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Awesome considering we had been to another place in NSW who did not offer 1/2 these guys did in regards to training and charged more per person. Would recommend to anyone with kids. By the end of the session all my 3 kids were able to stand up for a short time with my 2 oldest being able to surf at least 10 to 20 seconds. Darryn Egan

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DazzaK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    16
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Me, my partner and friend went to the surf shop whilst driving through Torquay and stopped off to try our hands at surfing. We'd left it too late to book a lesson, so Gally kindly showed us the basics in the shop and off we went. He was really helpful, and didn't need to do that for us. After a quick practice on the floor, (With the help of Remi the wonder dog) we hit the surf. Our first time was amazing and were hooked. Afterwards you can have a hot shower out the back to wash away the salt (Brilliant considering we live in our camper van). We have since surfed again at Lorne and the staff at that rental shop weren't very helpful and no hot shower! Overall Gally made our first experience a great one and we thank him for that. Would definitely recommend this surf academy.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best surf shop ever :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Definitely now considering taking up surfing as a hobby. We learned the basics, and rented our boards from here. I realy enjoyed the whole experience. Remi the surfing dog was ridiculously cute and we even got hot showers at the end which were well needed :)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Warenmbool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferntree Gully, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Having never surfed before and having no expectations of doing a good job of it, I turned up feeling excited and terrified at this new experience. The guys made me feel instantly at ease not to mention Remi (the dog) who won my love at first sight!! Kev was extremely thorough and very, very patient with me but I also didn't feel like he was just trying to get me through it so I would have a good time. I had to "pass" kindergarten before he would graduate me to the next class and after all that, I did manage to stand up quite a few times, which really took me by surprise. Whole experience was amazing, I would highly recommend the Torquay Surfing Academy.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Great people, really easy to deal with . Kev is awesome!! I had a great day! I had never surfed before and I felt really comfortable and at ease. Do it!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torquay Surfing Academy also viewed

 
 

Been to Torquay Surfing Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing