We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style & Comfort”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Torquay 1903 Period Cottages
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is a very elegant yet comfortable place to stay in Torquay and most suitable for a cozy winter escape. With chocolates provided and gas open fire warming the room, the only thing needed is a good book and a nice glass of wine. If that gets a bit tiring, there's the spa and fluffy towels to enjoy. Every detail has been thought of including the most generous breakfast provisions. We almost didn't need to have lunch! A delightful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Challispalace000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 24 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

Decided on a spur of the moment to go & enjoy the Torquay beachside lifestyle but wanted somewhere quiet but not to far from the beach & shopping/eating areas. Noticed 1903 period cottages & decided to make enquires. We got prompt & helpful replies from Sue as we worked out when we wanted to stay.
The cottage we had was very tastfully laid out with a simple room plan making it easy to move around from the bed to the family plus kitchen area. The bathroom with its spa was in my wifes word gorgeous & quickly utilised that night after a day at the beach plus shopping.
The late checkout enabled us to enjoy the superb spread of breakfast food given to us by Sue & Martin.
We will definitely be returning for more.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

From the booking experience to the stay, owners Sue & Martin made it so easy & welcoming. We (my 2 teenage daughters & I) drove in from Melbourne & found the cottages with no problems at all. Very pretty & quaint. Sue showed us to our assigned cottage & we parked right outside it. She had already prepared the sofa bed & the cottage was lovely. All the amenities of a 5-star property with the warmth of a boutique homestay. She also offered us her library of DVDs & recommendations of restaurants etc.
The cottage we stayed in (no. 2) was a really nice sized room for 3 of us & a large bathroom with a jacuzzi! A mid-sized kitchenette with a good range of basic kitchen equipment will also be great for those who prefer to cook or eat in.
The cottages are about a 5-min drive from the main beach stretch & lots of restaurant choices.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank MHMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here for one night at the start of our trip down the GOR. The owners were very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. The cottage was extremely confortable with a great bed and excellent sofa, kitchen and bathroom. We felt completely at home here. Very good value for money and well situated for the start of the GOR.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lainnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We love this place it was just fantastic. We will be recommending it to all our friends. We had a great hostess Sue who was just lovely. Top-quality room and value for money. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacquelineANDsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

These cottages are nice, the owners a very friendly and overall the place was good. It was generally clean, however I noticed in the guest book that the previous occupants only left the same day which could explain the dirty used kitchen sponge and dish cloth, the dirty glass or two, the cobwebbs, the sticky spots on the floor, the mould at the bottom of the shower curtain and the soap scumb in the spa (on some parts of the spa not all, as if it was only given a quick clean). Breakfast was more than ample but disappointingly all the condiments were out of date by a year or two. I would still recommend as it was a cute cottage however the owners need to pay a bit more attention to the cleanliness and the finer details.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VickiNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Stayed 2 nights in a cottage.

As this was a Bed & Breakfast we let Debbie and Alan know in advance approximately when we would be arriving. Debbie happily greeted us and showed us around the cottage. There appears to be 2 maybe 3 cottages on the site next to the main house. Each cottage has it's own separate entrance and parking spot.

The cottage was decorated in a period style. The queen bed was very comfortable. The bathroom has a large spa bath / shower. We were there in March and even then it was getting a bit chilly at night so it was nice to have a fireplace in the cottage. There was a small kitchen and in the fridge contained some breakfast goodies to cook up (you have to pay a little extra to get this included).

The only small thing that could be better if it were located closer to the beach or town centre, but with a car it's less than 5 minutes and maybe 20 minutes by walking.. so not really a big deal at all.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caehlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.5 mi away
RACV Torquay Resort
RACV Torquay Resort
#1 of 5 in Torquay
558 reviews
1.5 mi away
Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay
0.2 mi away
Torquay Tropicana Motel
Torquay Tropicana Motel
#4 of 5 in Torquay
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Resort Torquay
Wyndham Resort Torquay
#3 of 5 in Torquay
541 reviews
0.9 mi away
The View on Grossmans
The View on Grossmans
#2 of 6 in Torquay
40 reviews
0.9 mi away
Surf City Motel
Surf City Motel
#5 of 5 in Torquay
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torquay 1903 Period Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torquay 1903 Period Cottages

Address: 18 - 20 Parkside Cres, Torquay, Victoria 3228, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Torquay
Price Range: $113 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay 1903 Period Cottages are elegant and classically appointed, with a touch of old world charm. These one bedroom self-contained cottages offer modern day luxuries and optional breakfast provisions. Situated in the heart of Torquay, 10 minutes stroll to the beach and surf shop precinct, Torquay 1903 is ideal for a relaxing getaway. Facilities include queen size brass bed, spa bath, gas coal open fire, wireless internet, private alcove and off-street parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Torquay 1903 Period Cottages Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing