We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff..if only the food reflected their attitude!”

Frontbeach Taphouse & Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 84 Restaurants in Torquay
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Hi, we ate at this restaurant while in Torquay, and thought it was excellent. Posting it would allow us to write a review for it.
1 review
“Great staff..if only the food reflected their attitude!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Staff were great but the food was a big let down.. Ordering pub type grub you think you would know what to expect but both chicken parmigianas were well over cooked. Very disappointing! Watched other patrons not eat their seafood platter, maybe a bad night for the chef, but disappointing in that we want to promote good local places to dine!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quovardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    113
    44
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
235 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Quantity takes precedence over Quality.”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Location is great, right on the beachfront where you can enjoy drinks and dinner at sunset. Friendly capable staff, great drinks including wines, all at reasonable prices. The problem is that most meals are served as large stacks of food, and mostly accompanied by the standard fries and salad so typical of pub grub. Our steak was good but the chicken was very dry. Would like to see these folks focus more on serving more interesting food, and remember that often, less is more.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank WalkersWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent views and friendly service”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I find this place a terrific place to meet with friends and enjoy drinks and a meal. A relaxed atmosphere along with reasonable prices makes for a good time. The view is one of the best in Torquay and the staff are genuinely friendly. No bs about this place. With recent alterations comes increased comfort.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
113 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic view with good food”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We arrived without a booking on a very busy Sunday night of a long weekend. Wait staff were extremely busy but friendly and welcoming and found us a table. Later arrivals were not so lucky as the cafe was packed. We had steak which was good value and perfectly cooked medium rare as requested. The location is great as it is on the Esplanade so overlooks the water. We would be regulars if we were locals.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brisvegas1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice renovations - shame about the food”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I do hope the owner takes the time to read this review as this restaurant/bar has the potential to be a great place not just for visitors but for locals too. Can't fault the location on the sea front so high score for atmosphere. Took my daughter for a celebration meal and both had the steak special at $30. Ordered medium-well cooked steak and had to send mine back as medium-rare. When steak came back again it was partly very well done and partly medium and had to leave most of it as couldn't cut or chew. The whole dish was drowning in watery sauce so chips soggy, and vegetables almost raw. We effectively ate separately waiting for my meal to come back. Waitress was lovely and took price of 2 soft drinks off our bill but still had to pay for a meal that was almost inedible. As a local who eats here regularly for work lunches and dinners with family and friends I am very disappointed and feel ripped off. The renovations are nice but if budget cuts of steak are the trade off it's not worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frontbeach Taphouse & Restaurant also viewed

Torquay, Victoria
 

Been to Frontbeach Taphouse & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing