We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Clean accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Goldfields
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Stawell
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Staying for bussines it was a relaxing stopover on a busy schedule to rest and with clean well equiped rooms, a pleasant experience with a enjoyable meal in the motel resturant with a nice touch of wood fire going to provide a homely atmosphere.
Carly in the resturant was very polite and helpful with meal and drink advice to ensure a pleasant evening.

Room Tip: rooms at the rear are good for less highway disturbance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 45 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed at the Goldfields Motel in Stawell for the first and last time On arrival they had lost booking for the night and it needed 2 people to complete check I The room was average with marks on carpet when we arrived and then billed for cleaning of the carpets which were already dirty. I wonder how many other people have been charged for this same sting. Our sleep was constantly interrupted by the traffic on the highway. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldfieldsmanagement, Owner at Comfort Inn Goldfields, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Your booking hadn't been lost, we had an updating issue between the Choice website and our booking system. By the time you went to the bathroom your booking had been sorted out. I dont feel this is an issue at all.
As for the carpets, when you were contacted in regard to the thick tar like substance that had been tracked through your room, not too mention the reception area, restaurant carpets and mens bathroom, you got your back up straight away and had excuse after excuse as to how/why it wasn't you and it was already there.
These marks were not in the room nor through the main building before your arrival and after speaking with you I contacted our cleaner to check that the marks weren't there the day prior, I also contact the guest who stayed in the same room the night before you & it was confirmed by both that there where no marks in that room (or through the main building) prior to your arrival on site. Not too mention all of our carpets throughout this establishment had been steam cleaned in July, this particular room being cleaned only 12 days before your arrival.
I do not enjoy having to deal with these situations nor do we "fleece" people with what you refer to as a "sting" . I felt I had gone above and beyond dealing with this one, I contacted you to discuss, heard your story and followed it up by making phone calls to staff and even another guest to verify your story, which proved to be untrue. Most hotels/motels would just charge you without notification, please also note I only charged you for the cleaning of the room not the scrubbing of reception tiles, mens bathroom tiles and the carpet in the restaurant, which we had every right to do so. I even checked with my regional manager as to the right proceedure for these situations before calling you in the first instance.
As for the highway noise, short of risking our lives standing on a busy highway to stop large B double trucks and general traffic so you can have a goods night sleep, there is unfortunatly not too much we can do about this, traffic is understandably out of our control.
If the room genuinly was dirty upon your arrival why did you not notify reception then and there?
We do not appreciate your slander on our business practises.

Kind Regards
Goldfields Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Visiting the beautiful city of Stawell for the first time we were very impressed with the old buildings...the town hall and its clock....and some of the very unique buildings...
especially The Diamond House Motor Inn...who ever built it had so much patience it is well worth the turn off the highway to see..
Anyway getting back the purpose of my revue ...yes we tried to book into the Diamond House but it was full..
So we ended up booking in to The Goldfields Motel... we were rather late booking in so when we were told the restaurant was about to close we decided to eat first before going to our room As i said yes we were late but the food was disgusting dont know if they kept every thing in a bain-marie but oh god it was to bad to even try and describe ..
Well after complaining...no one was interested...we thoughtlets just go get a good nights sleep and continue with our trip...
Well the shocks just kept coming the rooms were not at all clean...the shower had soap scum every were could not have been cleaned for a very long time...
But being very tired we just went to bed...sheets were clean...well zso much for a good nights sleep ...no way the traffic noise was awe-full and the trucks going by went on all night...
the next morning we complained to reception but again they were just not interested,,
we were just glad to get out of there in the end.... very bad finish to a beautiful day..
AAA...rated 3and half stars...must have cost them a fortune to bribe the inspector

Room Tip: dont think there could be a good room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovelle_greene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here on our recent trip to Melbourne from Adelaide. Its perfect, right on the highway no navigating through town to find it. Restaurant on site meant we could have a meal (and an awesome meal at that!) and a few drinks (local wines) and not have to worry about getting home!! haha The staff here are super friendly and helpfull. From what i could gather they are all locals and they know the area although we were just passing through i now want to make another trip just to explore the Grampians!! (and to have another meal here haha )
Thank you for making our short stop in Stawell enjoyable and i will see you again!! =)

Room Tip: Stayiing behind the main building helps to absorb the highway noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

it was my misfortune to choose to stay at this motel..
the rooms were old and not that clean---mice droppings in the cupboards.
would have left straight away but this was the only motel that we found with vacant rooms.
we decided to have dinner in the restaurant because we had been driving all day which was another mistake
i had a piece of leather that was supposed to be a steak and no it wasnt well done
my partner had a chicken...probably warmed up in the microwave..
it was quite busy with locals...well if this is the best that stawell has to offer
just keep driving.
when i complained to the management they just werent interested

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john1956dalby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here for four nights on business in one of the standard rooms. It's definitely older (headboard has built in muzak (alas, non functional). But it was very clean and comfortable. I actually liked the brick-walled room and high ceilings, like a lodge room from the 80s. The presence of a refrigerator was helpful. Staff were nice. I probably would not recommend the breakfast; nothing wrong with it but didn't seem worth the price with other options around. There was quite a bit of truck traffic late into the night, and the rooms open towards the parking lot and highway, so noisier than I expected. Rooms on either end of the block might be quieter. Stawell is a quiet, neat town with friendly people. If you're passing through check out the gold mine up the hill behind town and don't miss the monster concrete koala halfway to Horsham.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

One night stay on business trip. Room was queen with full kitchen although opted for a beautiful meal in the restaurant.
Lovely large room,easily warmed,great lighting in the bathroom something sadly missing in many motel certainly helps when putting make up on.
Really friendly and helpful staff would definitely stay there on future trips.
Also just awaiting nre chef to start although as stated food great.
Stay away 3-4 nights per week throughout Australia so appreciate good value and service
Liz

Room Tip: If you like space and food options ask for queen with kitchen also in quiet section of motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stawell
12.5 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
14.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
0.1 mi away
Motel Stawell
Motel Stawell
#1 of 6 in Stawell
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Magdala Motor Lodge
Magdala Motor Lodge
#2 of 6 in Stawell
69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diamond House Heritage Restaurant and Motor Inn
14.5 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Goldfields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Goldfields

Address: 7-9 Western Highway, Stawell, Victoria 3380, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Stawell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Stawell
Price Range: $74 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Goldfields 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Comfort Inn Goldfields reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Goldfields Stawell, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing