We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasantly surprising”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hi-Way 8 Motor Inn

Hi-Way 8 Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hi-Way 8 Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Stawell
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“pleasantly surprising”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed here between Melbourne and Adelaide, and only booked for convenience. I booked a family suite and was surprised by how spacious it was. The bathroom has been recently refurbed and the aircon is new but the decor is a bit dark and dated. The hosts were very friendly, and gave me some good reviews on where to eat - hot tip, eat at the Harness Club bistro. The highway noise was fairly constant but not unbearable. I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyEmBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

I've stayed here twice now and would be happy to stay here again. The hosts are genial and helpful. The rooms are large and have the usual facilities you expect. The decor is possibly a bit dated but they have modern reverse cycle air conditioners, LCD televisons and Freeview and Austar.
The other services such as meals, the pool, spa and laundry I haven't used.
As a solo traveller, the cost of a single room is very competitive.
The only downside is, like every other motel right on the highway, the noise of the interstate trucks can affect light sleepers but this is not a criticism of the motel.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room at the back if you are a light sleeper. Interstate trucks will be driving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 10inchwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stay at this motor inn, for a one night stop, and were made to feel very welcome.

Noise from the highway was a bit of an issue, as trucks pass through this town continuously.

Even though the furnishings were a bit outdated, it was a very clean, comfortable room.

The shower pressure was fantastic, and the beds very comfortable.

Heating could have been better.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temora
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

A group of nine of us were travelling to phillip island on our bikes for the moto gp. A mixture of professional people and one overseas executive officer. We booked the hi-way 8 motor in well in advance. On checking in Linda and brian were very attentive. We mentioned we needed dinner for the nine of us and they said they would organize it- no problems. The meal was great and felt more like a night at mums than eating at a motel restaurant! Brian overheard that one of the party had special dietary needs and bam! Gluten free breakfast was provided the next morning! I cannot thank Linda and brian enough for their service.
Some times it not just about the star rating and more about being made feel that we are important.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Blackma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
130 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed one night - an extremely cold night - but were warm and comfortable in our room. Not the most beautiful place but clean, comfortable bed, good heating and fridge with milk and tea and coffee making facilities.
We thought it was good value for the money and would stay there again. Just make sure you get a room away from the highway as it is busy and could be noisy. Free internet was also a bonus although it should be a standard offering.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patriciaoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camperdown, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2011

booked hotel on line and booked this motel because they had family rooms and especially for the pool!?? there was no pool under construction,could not even use spa because it was in construction zone. rooms very out dated,we lasted less than an hour 37degree heat went down the road to a very spacious 2bedroom family unit,with pool tennis golf beautiful meals.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mozzie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stawell hotels

dubbo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

Booked this hotel from work, but on arrival in Stawell, the room we were shown was very disappointing with numerous, large, dirty stains on the entrance carpet. This is a very poor first impression.
The room was crowded and not easy to get around. The furnishings looked worn and old. There was a nasty stale smell, in spite of the windows having been left wide open.
The bathroom looked filthy dirty - obvious grime all over the tiles.

Back to Reception we went, to ask the manager to see another room. Unfortunately this seemed to displease the manager greatly. He began acting rude and strange, it even seemed to us he was a bit nervous.

A large sign on the Reception desk confused us. It warned guests do not make the room excessively dirty, with dirty/greasy work boots etc, or a large cleaning fee would be charged ($60) to shampoo the carpet etc. But we could not understand this sign, the room we were shown was already stained, with old ingrained dirt/grease ? This was a worry, we did not know if we were to be blamed for the existing grime.

This motel is right on the main Western Hway, the massive trucks thunder past day and night, shaking the walls and windows. Bring your own ear plugs?

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natbme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stawell
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Goldfields
Comfort Inn Goldfields
#6 of 6 in Stawell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
14.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
1.3 mi away
London Motor Inn
London Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Stawell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Diamond House Heritage Restaurant and Motor Inn
0.8 mi away
Motel Stawell
Motel Stawell
#2 of 6 in Stawell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hi-Way 8 Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi-Way 8 Motor Inn

Property: Hi-Way 8 Motor Inn
Address: 28 Western Hwy, Stawell, Victoria 3380, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Stawell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Stawell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hi-Way 8 Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hi-Way 8 Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Way 8 Motor Inn Stawell, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing