We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just to be sure we went back a second time”

Seymour Emperor Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 37 Restaurants in Seymour
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Harrington, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just to be sure we went back a second time”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We were using Seymour as a base for a business trip to Melbourne so when we got back on the second day tired and hungry we thought the quickest and easiest feed would be Chinese so we made another visit to Seymour Emperor and we were not disappointed at all.
As I said in my first review there are fantastic Asian eateries in Sydney and Melbourne but for a small country town freshly cooked fresh ingredients with cheerful service is great

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chef010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    7
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrington, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ignore the Negative Reviews”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I read the poor reviews and was as a result expecting poor quality food.
It was absolutely the opposite the food was VERY GOOD !
Yes I agree there are now top notch Chinese eateries in Sydney and Melbourne but for a country town we found it excellent Fresh Ingredients and freshly prepared dishes made for tasty surprises.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chef010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mansfield
2 reviews
“loved it!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

had a lovely lunch and well looked after! great food and lovely service. :)had entrees to make up yum cha

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachemansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
231 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very ordinary - popular with locals”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I am a bit spoiled with fantastic Melbourne asian food. Food is ordered and delivered quickly but the quality is very poor. Would I go back .....no.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vic_Traveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

I'm still unsure why I went back a second time here. The service is well below what should be expected in a restaurant. It's slow and unwelcoming. The food on both occasions was just warm enough and barely edible. The temperature inside was cold despite asking for an increase in heat. Don't worry about getting a buffet as all the dishes taste the same. Head to the one of the pubs in town for a better meal.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thecityflyer_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seymour Emperor Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Seymour Emperor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing