We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well done Seymour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vietnam Veterans Commemorative Walk

Vietnam Veterans Commemorative Walk
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Seymour
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Well done Seymour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Visited this on a rare recent get together with some old mates from Seymour. I had no idea about it but I was blown away.

Well done to all who made it happen, a great memorial to those who served in Nam. Made me think about how brave you all were, and at the same time thinking back to the Greenback vrs local disputes back in the 70s. I wasn't one of them but proud Seymour did this a fantastic memorial!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruby_2893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    14
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Well deserved tribute to our Vets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

A beautifully considered photographic tribute to all who served in Vietnam - including 11 Tracker Dogs. Panel 73 (I think) shows a photo of "Justin" who was one of them. It honours not just those who lost their lives there but all who served.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank PollardHackett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent Tribute! Wonderful layout!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Visited the commemorative wall with mum & dad after dad's 45th army (class of 68) reunion at Portsea. Lovely lady at Seymour Visitor Centre who gave us a viewing map. Nice easy stroll through paved area that displays tributes. You can get personalised single, double or larger pavers ranging in price $50 upwards. Upon speaking with the wall staff, it can take several months before the personalised paver is laid (they need to send them in batches of 100's to engraver, not singularly). A really nice depiction of rubber trees & rice fields, gravel & paved walkways, memorial plaques, military memorabilia, viewing boards & best of all the spectacular wall itself. Each glass section cleverly designed with imagery & names engraved. Starts at A & weaves around to Z. Worth a visit to those connected on some way to the Vietnam War. Highly recommended!!!

Helpful?
5 Thank SarahT239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werribee, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Vietnam Veteran paver not done”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

My children paid for a double paver for their father - a Vietnam Vet. Paid for August 22nd 2012 - it was not done for the second stage opening in March 2013. My husband was shattered and children devastated. On following up I was told by Ross Gregson that he just didn't have time to get our pavers done. This is clearly not acceptable when other orders were placed and paid for much later than our order. I am still waiting to hear as my last email dated April 2013 was dismissed with a reply from Ross Gregson -' I will let you know when it's done' and we are still waiting. PTSD is a HUGE life long legacy that Vets and their families are living with on a daily basis. To have a Veteran and his family placed in this position - with a lack of regard for 1. paid order not fulfilled and 2. dismissive communication via email with no positive outcome to date - is just 'not right'. Please fix this situation and show some empathy and compassion for a fellow Vet and his family. Isn't this project supposed to be for the honour of service?

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Commemorative walk for Veterans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This walk has been done so well, and set in a lovely garden walk of native trees, and is dedicated to the 60,267 personnel who served in Vietnam, even the tracker dogs are mentioned, and the panels even give a pictorial story of the involvement of our guys.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank familyfour12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vietnam Veterans Commemorative Walk also viewed

 

Been to Vietnam Veterans Commemorative Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing