We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality n Authenticity”
Review of Chez Olivier

Chez Olivier
Ranked #1 of 152 Restaurants in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Quality n Authenticity”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice French Bistrot with a genuine French flair
Good selection of authentic traditional dishes home-made and professionaly served.
All in one a great small corner of France in Melbourne, the smile and genuine care of the waitress come as a pleasant bonus :-)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMG780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    74
    16
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great service but ordinary food”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

In Melbourne doing my regular business trip and always in search of something different so today was Chez Olivier.This is a very cute looking French wine bar/ Bistro in the back streets of Prahran.I ordered the pork terrine with pistachio and raisins - nice taste and texture.I ordered a Kronenburg beer followed by a glass of Chablis which was below par.I decided to order the Steak Tartare which was presented poorly - it honestly looked like the kitchen had just thrown a pile of mince on a plate and sat an egg yolk on top - the other annoying thing was that they served nice warm baguette with the entrée but the steak tartare came without any toast - not good and quite disappointing.I ordered a glass of Pinot Noir and the Waitress asked whether I wanted NZ or French - I opted for the French which tasted like it had been opened for a few days - $100 for this - I will not be going back here as there are too many great French restaurants in Melbourne.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roosterman2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sorry Bob, Olivier just came up in the world!!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Back at Chez Olivier for the first time in a number of years. Our usual 'go to..' is Chez Bob.
Service was outstanding, with waiting staff who know the menu, can recommend food matching and hints on the 'specials'.
food was exceptional, well presented and plentiful on the plates - Entrees of Assiettte de Charcuterie was absolutely superb, and the Gambas Pernod was delicate and delicious
Mains were Tournedos Rossini, and there was no problem with a 'mix and match' the menu a little to change the other main to Fillet Mignon, with bearnaise and frites.
Both steaks were cooked to perfection, 1 rare and the other medium rare, and the quality was excellent - good texture, flavoursome and beautiful aroma (if you like meat, of course).
Dining companions at the next table had the Boeuf Bourguinone En Croute and a Duck (special), and were enraptured....
Desserts - a light and delicate Creme Brulee was a joy to eat, but the wickedly indulgent 'Self Saucing, Self Indulgent Chocolate Fondant'.. maybe they serve these at the fork in the road leading to Heaven or Hell...This is one to aspire to if you like desserts..
Go there at once - If our experience is the 'normal' late-week evening dining experience, I don't think you will be disappointed. Chez Bob is still fantastic, but I think Olivier has just overtaken them...
Only downside is that the wine by the glass on the menu is a little limited, and parking is a bit scarce, but perseverance pays a dividend in this case..

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thehappyidiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent french cuisine!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had a wonderful experience celebrating our friends 25th wedding anniversary. The food was magnificent, all our dishes were of high standard. The service was exceptional & all staff were french speaking so it really felt like you were somewhere in beautiful Paris. A special thanks to Tiffany for adding those few extra touches i.e. rose petals & linen table cloth. I would highly recommend this restaurant, you will not be disappointed. Will definitely come back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gcsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ver good quality French fare”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The food here is very good as is the wine list. The menu has many French classics on it and covers everything you would want. It is cosy and ambience very good with very attentive service.

The French classics are cooked to perfection as you would expect and the cheese plate is superb to finish your meal.. It a very good venue for the long lunch/dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HigginsTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Olivier also viewed

Toorak, Stonnington
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 
Windsor, Stonnington
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Chez Olivier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing