We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treasure!”
Review of Chez Olivier

Chez Olivier
Reserve with
Chez Olivier is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 152 Restaurants in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne
Level Contributor
123 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“What a treasure!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

It was an extra special birthday, so I decided to surprise my wife with dinner at Chez Olivier. And what a great decision that turned out to be.

I see several other writers have mentioned it as the best French restaurant in Melbourne, and I can only add our imprimatur to that list.

It was a wonderful experience with classic French food. The restaurant resembles a typical French cafe - you could otherwise be in France.

The service was prompt, efficient and timely, which allowed us to enjoy our meal at a leisurely pace without having to be rushed - so important for the enjoyment of great food.

Their wine and beverage list was extensive with plenty on offer from France.

It was great good to see families dining as well as young people on first dates and people like ourselves celebrating special days. Of course, then there are others who just called in for the atmosphere and pleasure of dining.

The Escargot and Salad Nicoise were served as entrees and they were absolutely delicious - both washed down with a Laurent Perrier champagne.

Our main courses were Duck à la Orange and Tornadoes Rossini, both of which were delicious and so typically French. An absolute delight to eat.

Unfortunately all good things must come to an end and whilst Carole had a trio of beautifully prepared ice creams, I enjoyed the classic crêpe Suzette which was flamed at the table - it produced a spectacular end to the night.

Is by no means a cheap eat, but it is worth every cent both for the atmosphere, the beautiful food and its intimacy.

Just delightful - we cannot wait to return to try the rest of the offerings on the menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    73
    16
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Authentic French food at its best”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We ate escargo and cobblin bay oysters for entree, bouillabaisse for main and asked ravioli dish to be modified with cheese sauce for my 5 year old boy. Everything was superb. Wait staff very helpful and wine was lovely. Highly recommend for lovers of unpretentious provencial french food. Will definitely come again. We had dessert as well, but not as phenomenal as other french places i've tried. Overall I'm finding Melbourne food prices a tad more expensive than the Sydney equivalent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christie-Big-Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Very authentic French food and atmosphere. We each had entrees, moules marinieres and a salad, mains, coq au vin and lamb rack, and desserts, profiteroles and crepes suzettes. Gluttony, but all so delicious we couldn't resist. Plus a good wine list. And the staff were delightful. I highly recommend this wonderful intimate restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Pippa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“French fare par excellence”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This little unpretentious French restaurant in Prahran, Melbourne offers some of the best traditional cuisine from that country. With your eyes closed, the feel of the place, the aroma from the kitchen and chatter in French by the waiters, one can easily imagine being in some Parisien bistro.

For entrée the scallops were good. The bouillabaisse was average just not comparable to those from Marseille. The top dish was the tournedos rossini which was cooked to perfection, the eye fillet was extremely delicious with the foie gras and truffle oil on top. The chocolate mousse was very well presented, a worthy dessert. Overall authentic French fare away from France.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OldSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Bon Apetit!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This little restaurant in Greville St was a wonderful find. The menu was very authentic and the staff were friendly & efficient. Our meal was delicious and we felt like we were back in Paris for the evening. Tres Bon!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Olivier also viewed

Toorak, Stonnington
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Windsor, Stonnington
 
Prahran, Stonnington
Prahran, Stonnington
 

Been to Chez Olivier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing