We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet”

Aka Tombo Sushi Bar
Ranked #41 of 152 Restaurants in Prahran
Price range: $32 - $32
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice and quiet”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

liked the freshly made to order food and the fact it is of high quality and a little different from most Japanese restaurants.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Toby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Authentic tastes”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Food was perfect but serving sizes were small. Prices are expensive so We'd only return for a special occasion..

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not as good as before, but will come back for dinner”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I haven't been back for a while, so was surprised to see the new interior, looks better, although missing the kitchen action. So here we go for lunch.
Sushi & Sashimi you can't fault, fresh, well made and excellently presented.
Then our orders;
Sukiyaki Wagyu Beef, small serve but it was good.
Chicken Teriyaki, very nice
Tempura Combo, excellent
2 x Miso Salmon, ..... not quite, very mini small, dried, overcooked and taste a bit funny.
Additional steam rice and some Ocha, all up for $150 .... I think I will comeback for dinner, no more lunches although it was a pleasant experience as we were the only ones there.
Very good service, just slow kitchen.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great sushi and sashimi platter”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I lived in Japan for about 9 years and would rate the sushi and sashimi at mid/high Japanese quality standards. My wife and I go to this restaurant only on special occasions due to the higher prices. The restaurant has a definite cozy Japanese feel and we will definitely go back again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dkawa4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst restaurant I have ever been”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Took hours ate rubbish. Took us 50mins to have a simple dash soup. The eel rice even not warm enough, after those, unbelievable expensive price

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank diddyliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aka Tombo Sushi Bar also viewed

Prahran, Stonnington
Prahran, Stonnington
 
Prahran, Stonnington
Prahran, Stonnington
 

Been to Aka Tombo Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing