We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stick to the sushi and sashimi”

Aka Tombo Sushi Bar
Reserve with
Aka Tombo Sushi Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 150 Restaurants in Prahran
Price range: $32 - $32
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Melb
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Stick to the sushi and sashimi”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

As per its namesake, Sushi Bar Aka Tombo’s menu mostly comprises of sushi and sashimi and have less focus on cooked food. Seasonal specials do feature on their first page and there are some hot dishes like teriyaki chicken, eel rice etc.

I suggest that even on a cold night stick to the sushi, sashimi and also highly recommended to try their seasonal specials. Skip the hot dishes as it seemed to be prepared by unskilled waitress and it's not very good value for money.

For a more indepth review of the food in Aka Tombo Sushi Bar please visit my food blog:
http://pigouttravels.wordpress.com/2012/04/01/sushi-bar-aka-tombo/

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pigout_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cute little sushi bar”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Cute, cozy little sushi bar on Greville Street. We sat at the counter for a Sunday dinner. All very yummy, lovely friendly service. A little pricey, but delicious.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank SydneySider1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply magnificent”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Simply the most amazing Japanese food we've had in Melbourne. The owner and chef Akira Kageyama is brilliant - dishes not to be missed include the unforgettable chirashizushi - a bowl of sushi rise topped with an assortment of sashimi and garnishes, and the wagyu sukiyaki. The teriyaki chicken is the best we have tasted anywhere but in Japan.. the lunch sets are particularly of good value, but dinner is great also. Be informed that the restaurant is not open for Sunday lunchtime, but now opens for Sunday dinner. Fantastic!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CozyBeavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“i missed it's rice on green tea soup with salmon YUM!!!! small dishes but the flavor makes me full!!!”
Reviewed December 8, 2008

i missed it's rice on green tea soup with salmon YUM!!!! small dishes but the flavor makes me full!!!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“very close to my home,very small place but a hidden treasure indeed”
Reviewed December 4, 2007

very close to my home,very small place but a hidden treasure indeed

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aka Tombo Sushi Bar also viewed

Prahran, Stonnington
Prahran, Stonnington
 
Prahran, Stonnington
 

Been to Aka Tombo Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing