We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prahran Village Guest House

Prahran Village Guest House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Prahran Village Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Prahran B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will definitely be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We dont get away often so this was a real treat. Breakfast was AMAZING, so much lovely food. Close to everything i wanted to see in Melbourne by foot. Beautiful balcony, huge king sized bed and the shower...my god, dont get me started on the shower. I think i started making excuses so i could have as many showers as i could in there! On the saturday, the pub was noisy as i think there was a game on of some sort. But we flicked the tv on and couldnt hear a thing after that. We asked for special requests to do with tv and extra towels and they happily obliged. Only criticism was issues with the spa. Instructions state to fill above the jets which we did, but the top ones were too powerful and shot us in the face. We didnt end up using the spa after that which was a shame. Might need to change the instructions to include water well above jets before switching on! Would have loved more time with little Bobby too ;) wonderful weekend away, we will be coming back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gengen228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
22
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We chose the PVGH because of its convenient location to Chapel St and the High St and Commercial Road trams. Our room was very clean, comfortable and well equipped, and Shane provided excellent breakfasts.
Free WiFi is provided, and there is a pleasant guest lounge downstairs. We will certainly stay at PVGH next time we need accommodation in Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidHobart_Tasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MG
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

What a nice surprise this place is! Usually staying in hotels, my partner and I decided to give this place a go, and it was well worth it. Would highly recommend the PVGH to anyone. Very modern, clean, comfortable, quiet and very welcoming. Shane, the host welcomed us on arrival, and then reappeared the next morning to offer us tea or coffee with breakfast. The PVGH is a short walk to High St and Chapel St. Only the weather let us down!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rarablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

My hubby and I stayed here for a few days in March. The room we stayed in had very modern and stylish decor and a modern ensuite with shower. Couldn't fault the cleanliness.

Yes, it is right next to a pub and it can be a little noisy but it really didn't bother us and we slept very well.

A continental breakfast is provided in the mornings with more than enough food to set you up with for the day.

The location is fabulous. Walking distance to Chapel Street and all the fantastic bars and restaurants there. Also walking distance to Albert Park and a short tram ride to the city and St Kilda.

Would definitely stay here again if we return to Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaz08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed here with my boyfriend for one night. Very beautiful room with a spa, balcony, fridge and cable TV on a quiet leafy street. Short walk from shopping and cafes around Prahran, as well as the train station. Continental breakfast was included, but we didn't manage to get up early enough for it. Owners were lovely, easy going people. Definitely would return.

Room Tip: Go for the balcony room for afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katfight21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I have stayed at many other BBs in the UK and Australia and,, Prahran Village Guest House is Excellent,, really clean and lovely rooms. the service is warm and polite,,, I look foward to my night after a long day at Swinburne University.. If you want a nice, clean and lovely place to stay whilst in Melbourne, YOU GOTTA TRY THIS PLACE AND,, YOU WON'T REGRET IT!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Godwin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Having always stayed in the city when visiting Melbourne we opted to try the Prahran Village Guest House, in one of Melbourne's leafy suburbs about 4kms from the CBD. Presentation of the accommodation is stylish and immaculate with all the trimmings of a five star hotel. We found all the wonderful things Melbourne has to offer virtually on our doorstep. Great restaurants, vibrant shopping, amazing food markets and efficient public transport. Getting to the city required a very short trip on the train, with the station being a two minute walk up the road. I would recommend this place to anyone who likes to stay in upmarket accommodation but doesn't like paying the exorbitant prices some of the city hotels like to charge. Although a previous reviewer had commented on noise from the pub next door, we certainly did not find this the case.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TuraTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
0.3 mi away
Art Series - The Cullen
0.2 mi away
Quest Windsor
Quest Windsor
#2 of 2 in Prahran
3.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
0.9 mi away
Toorak Manor
Toorak Manor
#1 of 1 in Toorak
3.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#24 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,246 reviews
0.9 mi away
Art Series - The Blackman
Art Series - The Blackman
#19 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,798 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hiigh Apartments
Hiigh Apartments
#1 of 5 in Prahran
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prahran Village Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prahran Village Guest House

Property: Prahran Village Guest House
Address: 39 Perth St, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Prahran
Hotel Class:4 star — Prahran Village Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Prahran Village Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prahran Village Guest House Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing