We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous inner suburban accommodation”

Prahran Village Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Prahran Village Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Prahran B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“fabulous inner suburban accommodation”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed here with my boyfriend for one night. Very beautiful room with a spa, balcony, fridge and cable TV on a quiet leafy street. Short walk from shopping and cafes around Prahran, as well as the train station. Continental breakfast was included, but we didn't manage to get up early enough for it. Owners were lovely, easy going people. Definitely would return.

Room Tip: Go for the balcony room for afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katfight21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
22
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I have stayed at many other BBs in the UK and Australia and,, Prahran Village Guest House is Excellent,, really clean and lovely rooms. the service is warm and polite,,, I look foward to my night after a long day at Swinburne University.. If you want a nice, clean and lovely place to stay whilst in Melbourne, YOU GOTTA TRY THIS PLACE AND,, YOU WON'T REGRET IT!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Godwin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Having always stayed in the city when visiting Melbourne we opted to try the Prahran Village Guest House, in one of Melbourne's leafy suburbs about 4kms from the CBD. Presentation of the accommodation is stylish and immaculate with all the trimmings of a five star hotel. We found all the wonderful things Melbourne has to offer virtually on our doorstep. Great restaurants, vibrant shopping, amazing food markets and efficient public transport. Getting to the city required a very short trip on the train, with the station being a two minute walk up the road. I would recommend this place to anyone who likes to stay in upmarket accommodation but doesn't like paying the exorbitant prices some of the city hotels like to charge. Although a previous reviewer had commented on noise from the pub next door, we certainly did not find this the case.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TuraTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

...A GREAT LITTLE FIND....We had had a favourite B&B in East Melbourne for years but felt like a change and a search of TA with its silly locality systems (Prahran is in Melbourne -you make it sound like it's another city althogether- keep the suburbs as part of the cities and provide a map....of all people TA should have studied Geography 101)
Anyway on with the praise - fabulous little B&B tucked away in a great locality just around the corner from trendy Greville St.Very comfortable rooms- we stayed in two - our choice as we wanted to stay an extra night - loved both but the spa bath was brilliant.We will definitely return- the owners were brilliant , service brilliant, spotlessly clean and FREE WIFI. What more could you want....and you can get into the CBD pretty damn quickly too!
It wasn't noisy and we had plenty of parking available on the street.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heritage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Prahran is a neighborhood where we dined extremely well and were wowed by the 1,000+ shops. The Prahran Village Guest house is just 2 blocks from the train station, and then just a 20-minute ride to downtown. If you enjoy getting to know a vibrant neighborhood on your travels, it can't be beat. This small guest house is furnished in a luxury contemporary design, quiet rooms, and very accommodating, amiable hosts.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kab0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

What a wonderful place to stay. This B&B is definitelty a gem.

It is immaculately clean, the room (for a solo traveler) was spacious enough, and the en suite bathroom was very modern with an incredible shower.

The hosts are friendly, accomodatiing, and truly respect your privacy. At times I felt guilty knocking on their door to ask a question, not because I felt that they would be annoyed, but rather I felt like I was disrespecting their privacy while they were so considerate of mine!

Continental breakfast in the mornings with fresh fruit, breads, etc. A more substantial breakfast served on the weekends.

I will say the doors to the rooms are a bit thin, and you can hear other guests opening the doors to their rooms, but it REALLY was not a problem, as everyone was respectful of each other.

It is located just two blocks from the Prahran train station. Close to shopping, restaurants, etc. in the area.

Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a more personal, intimate accomodation outside of the city.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miamidancer_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2010

This place is home from home. We arrived at 2am and was warmly welcomed by Shane who showed us to our room straight away, just what we needed after a long journey from England.
This hotel is five star, from the entrance hall and stairs to the bedrooms everything is good quality. We had the Queen deluxe room at the front with a balcony that got the sun in the morning, very nice for a 10 minute relax after having breakfast, the bed was very comfortable, the room very quiet, with a lovely shower to wake you up in the morning.
We stayed here over the Christmas period and was delighted to have some chocolates left on our pillow by Shane on Christmas day, a lovely gesture.
There is a pub next door that does very good food with reasonable priced house specials or a short walk to Chapel Street with bars and restaurants.
The train station is a 2-3 minute walk away, the train runs frequently into Melbourne just a few stops away.
All in all the guest house is in a good area for easy access to the city centre or beach. It had a lovely relaxed atmosphere and Shane was very happy to help us out with anything we needed.
We would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to couples and families and certainly our friends.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merry008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Quest Windsor
#2 of 2 in Prahran
283 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 158 in Melbourne
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#27 of 158 in Melbourne
2,605 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#100 of 158 in Melbourne
376 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prahran Village Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prahran Village Guest House

Property: Prahran Village Guest House
Address: 39 Perth St, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Prahran
Hotel Class:4 star — Prahran Village Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prahran Village Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prahran Village Guest House Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing